We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
2 reviews
“Great place to stay !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the place to stay in West Bay!! Great location, there's a Reef right off the hotel Beach, just a short walk away! It's beautiful ! The Rooms are very nice and you can't beat the free breakfast everyday. The Hotel Staff was excellent, so friendly ! I will definitely recommend the Bananarama Resort !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    197
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
183
353
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed only 2 nights in this hotel - fortunately. The location of the hotel is good, just next to West Bay beach, the ground is well kept. We had the cabana no 13, very avarage, not really clean, hot and noisy. Altough this is a beach hotel in a remote island, for this price I expected a bit more.
The breakfast was awful, I really questioned the hygenic conditions of the kitchen. Lunch and dinner we always had at the next door hotel, cheaper and better quality.
The staff was so unfriendly, rude, bored and unpolite, horrible service, except the dive centre. If I stay longer in Roatan, for sure change hotel.
I chose Banarama based on the reviews and I was really surprised having this bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Reviews are by definition, highly subjective and are strongly influenced by what your expectations are and where you have been before.

My wife and I are in our early 30s and have traveled to AI locations over 20 times, rarely in extremely luxurious but never in less than a 4 stars. We've stayed at some places I'd qualify as excellent.

The Bananarama and Roatan itself however score 11 on a scale of 10! Never have we come back from a trip and felt that way - We needed to visit this place again, and ASAP.

Roatan is a beautiful island and the beach in West Bay certainly ranks high among the most beautiful I've had a chance to visit. The Bananarama sits directly on this beach.

There are tons of excellent reviews out there so here are the outstanding points that, to us, made the Bananarama our new home away from home:

The staff:

Never have we cared much for this aspect on our trips, in fact it ranked pretty low on our list of important stuff to look for. Our trip in Roatan changed that - Having genuinely friendly and efficient staff makes a world of difference. In many upper scale resorts you'll have great service but rarely will you experience that true sense of "We're being nice because we want to, not because we are forced to". At the Bananarama, people are themselves, they work hard and yet manage to make you feel welcome like a friend, not royalty. They can be proud of having such a consistent and authentic bunch of people!

The food:

Until then, we had never eaten a good pizza down south. We've also had very few meals that were worth remembering on our previous trips. To put things in perspective, the wood oven cooked pizza was excellent and the meals we shared at the Vintage Pearl are now sitting on my "Top 5 best meals I've ever had, anywhere in the world" - that is a huge statement! I'd easily qualify the food over at the Thirsty Turtle as great Pub fare food. Lunches at the Vintage Pearl were also ridiculously outstanding (salmon panini, blackened gator tacos.. finger lickin good!)

The Hotel:

Rustic is an appropriate description, clean, charming and convenient are also. From our room we never were more than a minute away from either the reception, dive shop, restaurants or the beach. How amazing is that !? The themed nightly animation is sincerely fun making the Bananarama a great place just to hang out at.

Diving an the beach:

As mentioned earlier on, the beach is gorgeous. Besides being a few seconds from your door step, it also happens to be one of the nicest snorkeling spot we've ever visited. Soft sand, no rocks or obstacle of any kinds, from shallow to deep and deeper it is the perfect beach for everyone. A bit crowded on busy days, yes, but that never was a problem. The Dive center is second to none, having once again an amazing team (got certified and Advance with Marc, awesome guy) and well organised operation. This is THE place to dive, period.

We visited the Bananarama for the first time in February 2013, we are booking our second upcoming visit for August 2013! Not even 6 months apart, that should say something.

Enjoy your visit and thanks to the owners and staff for managing such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at this resort, but was a short walk from mine. Great lunch specials! Loved their pizza!! They also have yummy ice cream in their dive shop. Friendly staff. Numerous activities you can book! We did an dolphin encounter. It was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose Bananarama Resort and Dive center after doing extensive research and we couldn't have been more pleased with our decision and experience. The location of Bananarama is in the heart of West Bay beach - a spectacular palm tree lined sandy beach full of restaurants, bars, and activities. There wasn't a need to go anywhere else on the island, with the exception of a scooter excursion just to see different parts of the island and a water taxi to West End to shop, grab a bite to eat, and enjoy drinks along the ocean.

Emily, Sara, and Britney at the reception office took great care of us and made sure our entire week went smooth. The arrival started with a friendly and welcoming orientation with a walk around the resort and within the first half hour we were in full vacation mode. We stayed in the private condo offered at Bananarama located just a few minutes walk from the beach. The condo was nice - and the few minor issues we had when we first arrived were resolved immediately by the reception office.

The Banarama Dive center was outstanding. Marco did a great job getting us set up for the week of diving, and Martin and Zoe were fabulous to dive with as they took us to some of the best diving spots and helped us get the maximum out of each dive. Roatan has some outstanding reef structure and marinelife and we did some of the best diving I've experienced. They did a great job balancing safety with the fun factor so the overall experience was outstanding! Martin was a great instructor with a passion for teaching as he helped us with a couple of new advanced courses. The bioluminescent night dive ("String of Pearls") was spectacular - a must do if you happen to be in Roatan during completely dark nights - usually within 5 days of a full moon.

This is a definite repeat trip for us!

Room Tip: The two bedroom private condo offered at Bananarama is a good alternative if you want a place just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Everything my daughter told me about Bananarama Resort was so true. We had such a good time there with our family. There was something to do for everyone or just relax. The resort was well maintained and the rooms clean. We enjoyed our meals and the friendliness of the waiters, Carolina, Alec, Shanny, to name a few. The entire staff made sure we were well taken care of. Just a great place to go and relax. This is on my list for a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'm not really sure where to start since everything about this holiday was great.
The island is really beautiful with a lot of relief and quite lush with vegetation.
The welcome was fabulous (far better than we got at Sandals in Exuma in November !!!).
A drink and a quick walk around the property and our room for orientation.
We stayed in Cabana #1 right across from the Dive Shop. It was clean, a bit funky and a lot of fun.
Food and drink throughout the entire week were great. Our main man, Alex, showed us amazing service and true friendliness. He, and the rest of the staff, couldn't have been better.
Jeff and Louis introduced themselves to us as owners and insisted that if there was anything we needed, to just ask. How many places do you get that kind of treatment from?
The Dive Shop was great. Marco runs a great operation. Very well organized and everything ready to go.
We dove mostly with Marc and Zoe for the week and they were great. My wife has had some (?) issues with buoyancy and these were sorted out this week. She now has a deep dive under her belt having done the wreck dive on the Aguila at the end of the week. That is thanks to Marc's patience and Zoe's teaching during the PPB course.
The diving is amazing. We have not dove that long (40 dives), but we now know what a healthy reef is supposed ot look like! It actually looks like we see on some of the dive shows on TV. It was fantastic. I won't go over the dives, but we did 15 dives each through the week and only went back the same place twice because we wanted to.
We did the Ahark Dive and if you haven't done one before this is great. It is very well organized and you feel absolutely safe. Did I mention that you dive with about 15 - ten to twelve foot Caribbean Reef Sharks!! My wife came too and was blown away.
The nightly entertainment is a lot of fun. There isn't much else to do, and we were tired from the diving, but this gave us some really fun entertainment that was different each night.
Overall the place is a bit quirky, a lot of fun and absolutely worth visiting more than once.
When you look at the value for money for a room, food and diving, it is exceptional.
If you want a great, really relaxing vacation, with great diving and great staff, come here.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.