We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bananarama... Beautiful beach, friendly faces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Bananarama... Beautiful beach, friendly faces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our 4th stay at Bananarama and we miss it already! Each time, we stay in a different room, to get a feel for the resort. We live the clean, comfortable rooms with the roomy porches! We had a small issue with hot water, but Jeff, the manager, and Louis, the owner, handled everything in a timely manner. Jeff continued to check with us during our 2 week stay to ensure we were happy.

Bananarama has the #1 beach on West Bay. Antonio and crew keep the beach pristine and the guests satisfied.

My favorite change on this stay was the enforced security. During our last visit, we contemplated not returning because some the numerous venders had become pushy and hands-on. So the increase security was a welcomed addition. They were also very nice and help with translations!

Another addition that I loved was the Standup Paddleboard with Bernard, the instructor. He was very patient with teaching me and I loved it!

As always, the snorkeling on West Bay is superb! Just turn left at the beach and walk to the end, Iron Shore, and the beauty awaits. From sea turtles to large and small rays. Masses of colorful fishes, corals, etc. it is magical.

The staff at Bananarama will always be their best quality. Alberto, Zebby, Antonio, Marco, Martin, Shanny, Carolina, Alex, Steven, Tim, Sandra, Danery, Derry, Edison, Victor, Dolly, Sheba, Joanie, and all the rest... The smiles, laughter and love are what bring us back repeatedly! Hugs!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    197
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
183
353
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Fourteen day stay on the beach and in the ocean. Room 11 had a king-sized bed and they accommodated us by increasing the size of the refrigerator. Shanny, Caroline, Alberto, Zebby, Tim, and Derry were great hostesses and hosts! Always attentive service and a friendly greeting. Antonio quickly provided the beach chairs and umbrella and maintained the beach in immaculate condition. We will be coming back!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This spot offers much beauty. The staff was excellent and were happy to accommodate our every need. I was part of a group day trip to the sight, and we arrived early after a bumpy little ride in from town. The roads are paved in most places, but there were a few pot holes on the way. This kind of added to rustic charm of our getaway. They coordinated our groups arrival with the bride and bridesmaids, being escorted first to have the most time to prepare for the morning wedding. The wedding was very simple, beautifully orchestrated with the only glitch our music was a bit softer than expected. All in all it was gorgeous setting, beautiful bride, and the bananarama treated us to a buffet luncheon that was preplanned to accommodate all diet lifestyles of our group. The staff following our wedding then took half of our group on excursions of zip lining, and tours, and others hung out at the beach and bar, until time for our departure. There are individual cabanas for rent at the resort, so I think this will be high on the possible choices for future vacations as the people and the resort were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After 35 years of diving, I finally made it to Roatan. What joy to find a reef system that is healthy and pristine with marine life far more prolific than nearly any other part of the Caribbean. We settled on Bananarama for lodging and diving based on recommendations from several friends. We were more than thrilled by the fact that the accommodations and diving greatly exceeded our expectations. From the first minute we arrived, the reception staff of Sarah, Victoria, Sylvia and Denise literally went out of their way to make certain we knew our way around the resort and that we knew where to find anything we could possibly need during our week. They made us feel special with their personal attention to our needs.

At any dive resort, the bar is the pulse of the operation. The Thirsty Turtle was everything it needed to be—a great variety of drinks and bartenders Tim and Derry were very personable and accommodating. The wait staff in the restaurant was fantastic. We especially loved Carolina, Victor and Shawny. They also greeted us by name and made sure we were served in plenty of time to go diving. And one thing we need to say right now—most pizzas in the islands are mediocre at best. Bananarama’s pizzas were as good as any we have had anywhere at home in the states. And, by all means, if you go there, you must have one of the bar specialties---a monkey-la-la! And when it comes to dining experiences, there are few restaurants in the Caribbean that compare to The Vintage Pearl. You will not find a more extensive wine list on the island and I doubt that many other restaurants deliver a more sumptuous dining experience.

But our purpose for traveling to Roatan was to dive. And I can say with honesty that it was some of the best diving we have ever done in the Caribbean. I completed my 500th dive on the second day and it was supreme. The current was running strong but since most of the diving is drift diving, our dive master simply raised a safety sausage and the boat captain was hovering over us in seconds. The reef was healthy and teeming with marine life. We saw our share of turtles, eagle rays, green and spotted morays and lobsters. But we also saw a profusion of the little guys---blennies, sea horses, lettuce slugs and flamingo tongues. But probably what made our diving experience extremely special was our young dive master from Iowa, Mark. I don’t know Mark’s last name, but if you dive at Bananarama, ask for him. He is extremely laid back but is totally competent and in control. Although he has only been with the Bananarama dive staff for seven months, he commands an excellent knowledge of the various dive sites around the island. And finally, I would be remiss not to mention Marco who manages the shop. He was helpful in every way and added to the enjoyment of the week.

Were there any complaints? How can one complain if the power goes out on an island in the Caribbean? That’s just part of the adventure. Will we return to Bananarama? You can count on it!

Room Tip: We shared a cabin with two cabanas -- units #15 & #16 which were perfect for our needs and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just got back from the Banarama- Roatan.( April 13-20, 2013) First and foremost, we didn't want to leave when our week was over. If you are looking for a laid back, get away from it all, fun, service filled vacation this is the place for you. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the resort where we were promptly checked in by Danery & Denise and given our Welcome drink ticket. We stayed in Room 14 which was a second story room near the back of the resort that had a great porch. The breeze was fantastic. I know that a few people had trouble with mosquitoes but our room had none. When we go back, I'll probably book that same room again. It's quiet and security is always walking by checking the grounds. The free breakfast is a real treat. It's different every day. (Hope they make Banana Pancakes...yum) Snorkeling is great just down the beach a few steps. If you want to know where exactly where is the best.... just ask anybody and they will all tell or show you! I went snorkeling several times a day. UNbeliveable. Thirsty Turtle - best bartenders and servers & food good!. Even Tiger Tim does a karaoke night and he can sing! Sondra & Steven both make the best Long Island Ice teas --- little lethal though! Jeff, one of the owners is a great guy, always there to answer any questions or point you in the right direction. The Security guys look so frightening but are so "teddy bear.". They made us feel quite protected.We made tons of friends while there. If you are looking for POSH & Concrete walkways this is not your resort. If you want to be REAL, shoes off & just plain kind - this is YOUR resort!

Room Tip: Ones in the back of the resort are quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Bananarama for five days in April 2013. We were in room 14 which is an upstairs room facing inland. There were wonderful breezes nearly every day. No bugs, not even sand fleas. Great food and drink specials every day and wonderful free breakfasts. Snorkeling is great off the beach, rent equipment and enjoy! Steve, one of the owners was always available and very friendly. Servers and security guards were awesome as well. Ladies, be sure to walk down the beach to the right, just past Henry Morgan resort to visit Karma Jewelry, for beautiful one of a kind jewelry. Karla is only there from 10 to 1 daily and if you have something in mind, ask and she will have it for you a couple days later.
Loved Bananarama Dive Resort, guests from other properties came here for dinner and drinks every day! No need for a pool, the sea was our pool. We spend a couple hours a day in the water and it was fun to meet other travelers from all over the world!

Room Tip: Room 14 Upper facing inland, quiet and great breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had dove before with Banarama in 2009 but this time I was coming in on a Western Carribean cruise. I contacted them directly and they picked us up at the cruise dock, took us to the resort, then we got a drink, got to snorkel and swim and had a really great day. They took care of everything and got us back to the ship on time. Next time I'll stay there instead of on the ship.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.