We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's always money in the banana stand....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Random Sunshine Special
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“There's always money in the banana stand....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Traveled with 2 couples, and each couple had their own cabin for the "dive and sizzle" package, which had 10 boat dives and food included.

The cabin itself was nice. Nothing great, but I can't really say anything bad about it. Comfy bed, ceiling fan, A/C, a safe, and a fridge. The bathroom was decent-sized. There is a bucket filled with water outside of your cabin that they fill every day so you can rinse the sand off of your feet.

The bar/restaurant was good for breakfast, but had the same small menu for both lunch and dinner. As our package included food, it got tiresome eating the same thing twice a day every day. But breakfast was good, and the bar would have movie nights, trivia nights, etc to make the evening fun.

The diving was fantastic. Top rate dive shop. Although it was obnoxious that despite having 75 dives and a dive computer, the dive master would get mad if we would drop below 60 feet because we are only basic certified. Seriously?

One of the best things about this resort is the beach. Most dive resorts I have stayed at claim to have a "beach," which ends up being a small sandy patch in front of rocks. This is a beautiful beach, and as long as there isn't a cruise ship in port, you will only be sharing it with about a dozen other people. Cruise ship days, however, are quite hectic.


Overall, in our next trip to Roatan, we will definitely stay here again. Great diving, beautiful beach, although the food is only so-so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    185
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
170
334
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff and the dive masters were absolutely phenomenal, we could not have asked for anyone better. A big shout out to Zoey, Mark, Marco, Daniel, and Brian for masking the dive trips amazing. We stayed in the beachfront cabanas and they were very clean and very rustic/cozy but not gross rustic. The Thirsty Turtle and the Vintage Pearl had great food as well. Also a big shout out to our driver Steven who drove us around the island and his mom's fresh baked goods are to die for. Just one hint of advice is there are lots of cruise ship people that walk along the beach and may get a little crowded. Also if you plan on going during Semana Santa (Holy Week/ Spring Break) there are lots of locals and big party that go on until the early morning so just be aware. Otherwise the diving was divine, the island was beautiful, locals were always friendly, and we could have asked for anything better! P.S. Dont forget to bring your underwater cameras!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Firstly, the staff and security were outstanding and are deserving of praise!

Whatever your expectations are...just look forward to half of that but for the full price. Awesome.

We booked one of the villas (not the King house) on the Ocean Pearl side of the resort. Expecting that the place would be a bit rustic but not to this extent. The bathroom smelled disgusting (bad sewer/unclean tiles) and not all screens on the window shutters were screened which allowed mosquitos into the space. In a nutshell, it stunk, was dated and worn and were uncomfortable overall.

The refrigerator is sadly in need of replacement, externally: rust throughout, dirty seals that stick and its just simply worn out. No proper glassware...plastic cups for drinks.

A/C had dripped throughout the night onto my partner's pillow which soaked it thoroughly! No screens on the upper floor bedroom windows, so again, mosquitos can come in. The towels and bedsheets smelled of the foul water, as well.

Honestly, we aren't trying to be "high maintenance" but this place is for a particular clientele and we aren't in that group. If you like the cruise-ship vibe, tacky Mexico all-inclusives and don't need much to be content other than the very basics of sun/beach/drink...this place is for you. If you have a standard of cleanliness and comfort(not related to housekeeping, this place is run-down and up for sale which is probably why they aren't interested in upgrading any further) this place will be hugely disappointing. We didn't even complain, as there was no way they could make any of these issues right. We simply left, which they couldn't wait to know so they could double book it ASAP. No offering of a refund for the remaining days, just a tip that we aren't the only ones that have left for the exact same reasons....gross.

We left Bananarama after the third night and moved down to Infinity Bay Resort, where they were more than happy to accommodate us. At least we were able to have a fully operational kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms in a beautifully clean/modern suite with a 2 balconies suited with proper table/chairs. Awesome pool, the gorgeous reef is straight out in front of Infinity Bay and their dive shop is top shelf (valet service, all new equipment and wonderfully cheerful Italian staff).

I want other TripAdvisor people to know what they are getting into, not to trash this resort, just not a place we would ever want to stay at again. I've used TripAdvisor many times to plan my trips, but this time I booked a lemon....oh well can't win them all!

Room Tip: Morning breakfasts were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our extended family of 10 spent a week here in Mar, Having been to many different Dive Hotels over the years we weren't expecting 5Star food or accomodations which Bananarama isn't either of those,however it is clean comfortable and extremly casual. The people (as always) are what make this place special! Steven the driver was wonderful,we went several places all week with Steven who would intervene if he felt a local person was trying to take advantage of us.One of our party suffered a foot injury and Steven spent the whole afternoon shuffling her to different clinics and Drs until she was properly treated. Carolina the waitress would do special things like put candles on our table and tableclothes. Their great attitudes were very refreshing! The Dive masters were very helpful and professional again with great attitudes! We will definetly be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our third trip to Bananarama and the diving is always divine. The dive shop staff is always friendly, knowledgeable and safety conscious. The reef is incredible and the dive groups are small. Even during their busy Spring Break, we were able to dive every day and have a personal experience. The sea life variety is marvelous and the dive masters are always on the lookout to find hidden eels, crabs, lobsters, etc. The resort is rustic, so if it's tranquil luxury and pampering you are after, stay elsewhere. But if you want gorgeous beaches, rustic charm and a family feel, this is the place for you. Our room was small but had AC, was totally charming, got cleaned daily and came with all the free filtered water we cared to drink. It's eco-friendly and the owners are invested in not only the health of the reef, but also in the environment, their staff and the community which is important to me. This is not some huge, cold chain raking in the cash. Owners are on site everyday, making improvements and taking care of their folks. Consider the time of year you go and the type of trip you want. We have been there when it is very quiet and slow and when it's very bustling and busy. Do some research and it will help you have the experience you are looking for. I know 100% we will take a 4th trip there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Bananarama is a great little spot that fits well in between a hotel and a cute little house feel. The porch for each house was unforgettable, however, their was too much construction going on all the time. The activity center was a flop! If you want to do things around the island don't go through them. We got on a sketch boat and then should of turned around in the middle of like a storm, but we didn't. And it was just a crazy mess trying to get some of our money back after an experience. The place is such a great place to stay, but I just had to mark it down because of the activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were at Bananarama for the day. We had sailed in on the NCL Star. We had been to West bay 2 other times but both times it had been cloudy and rainy. This time the sun was shining bright. We arrived at 9:30 or so. We were taken to our lounge chairs on the beach. We had prearranged transportation and loungers reserved for the day. We were on the second row of the lounge chairs. This meant that the beach vendors could not come right up and try to sell you stuff. The vendors all tried at first but no thank you works well. Bananarama has security on both sides of their property. A guard is standing on both sides. We felt comfortable with leaving our stuff on the lounge chairs while we played in the water!

I had the BananaMama frozen drink which was very good. The punch was also tasty! The whole family loved the brick oven pizza. We were just saying when we were home how we really wished we were there eating another pizza!

The beach was so pretty! You could definitely see everything in the water! The next time we are in Roatan we will definitely be bath. Our server was great to. I believe his name was Al. He had a St. Louis Cards hat on and that is where we live!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.