We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Bananarama for a great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
“Thanks Bananarama for a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thanks to Bananrama for making our first vacation to Roatan such a great experience!

We were greeted at the airport by Steve who was waiting for us and gave us a ride to the resort and answered all of our questions about Roatan. At Bananarama we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk and Danery gave us a great tour of the resort, Sara and Denise answered all of questions during our stay. The two security guards, serving staff at the restaurants and everyone at the dive shop all worked very hard to make our stay so memorable.

Thanks Bananrama for a great vacation and we're looking forward to our next visit.

Sincerely,
Rob Riley and Dave Hassell
SLC Utah

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    202
    54
    20
    9
See reviews for
188
360
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Roatan and we were looking for something laid back that was not too commercialized for our vacation. Roatan seemed to be a perfect fit and Bananarama is definitely the place to stay. The rooms are cozy and we stayed in a cabana which gave us a lot of privacy. The hammock out of our front door was used frequently and provided some great pics. The security at the hotel is Exceptional!!! They monitor the rooms and the beach and the beach gets crowded! Security is constantly, but quietly, monitoring all the patrons and vendors walking along the beautiful beach! The staff goes out of their way to respond to any needs or concerns. Marco at the dive shop is very helpful and accommodating and all the dive masters are very professional. There are scheduled activities every night at the bar so you never have to leave for entertainment. Don't miss the crab race on Sunday night!!
The only thing that was did not get a 5 star rating was the food. The pizza was ok, which is great compared to other pizza on the island. The other food is just ok, as well. Nothing bad but nothing great. The drinks, on the other hand, were made to perfection. If you ask Edmund or Sandra for a strong drink, they will not disappoint. If you ask for a not-so-strong drink they will make it just as you ordered.
A/C worked well in the room and the water pressure was decent most of the time.
This is not Cancun or Miami Beach! If your looking for the giant 5-star resorts Roatan is not for you. If you want one of the most memorable vacations that will unwind you from the grind and reconnect you with your better half this is the place for you! Roatan is a must and Bananarama is hands down, the best place to stay on the island!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my wife just returned from a one week vacation at bananarama and we had a blast!
Just to be clear, resorts in Roatan are at a much smaller scale than other Caribbean destinations so if you’re after luxury rooms, a big entertainment team and huge swimming pools, this might not be the place for you. What you can expect at Bananaram is:
An amazing friendly service, you’ll feel right at home.
Rooms are basic yet clean (water supply is sometimes interrupted but that’s the case in other hotels on the island and usually happens for brief periods of time).
Food is great! We had the Sunwing almost all inclusive package and with that we had access to the 3 restaurants on the resort; thirsty turtle (thanks alberto, shani and alex for the great service), pizzarama where we enjoyed the best pizza I’ve ever tasted and Vintage pearl, a fine dining restaurant where you get to relax and take your shoes off “literally” the food there is out of this world!
The Beach! Beautiful and immaculately clean, crystal clear waters and is a nice stretch for running or enjoying a nice sunset walk. Don’t worry too much about cruise ship passengers ruining your experience ,cruise ships are there usually 3 days per week and it doesn’t get that busy anyway plus half the beach is always reserved for resort guests.
Most of our activity was diving and the dive shop there is the best and lives up to all expectations, I shall review it separately though.
We would definetly go back, great diving ,great people and an overall wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bananarama is a completely laid back "resort." This is a great place to hang out and have a great time. The staff are all quite helpful. The reception team, Silvi,Denise and Sarah will be pleased to show you around. Victoria in the office is quick to respond to your requests. Adolfo one of the waiters at the Thirsty Turtle is always a ray of sunshine with his smiling face no matter how busy it gets. The food at the Vintage Pearl was exceptional and the offerings at the Thirsty Turtle quite generous. My only two issues would be that there should be no fee for beach towels and I do not particularly like the system of suggested gratuity. Pricing on the meals are already at North American prices and I feel that tipping should be left to the discretion of the guest. Given that we were told that a monthly typical salary is $350 per month I find an expectation of a 18% a bit much. We ate at a variety of restaurants outside the hotel and the prices were significantly less.

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique so take a tour of the website to see which best suits you. The housekeepers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the first time we had ever been to Roatan. We chose it on advice from good friends, but chose Bananarama from reading reviews on tripadvisor. So glad we stayed at this resort! We love the true "Island" feel of this resort and prefer the smaller, caribbean-type accomodations to the larger "hotel-type". Our private garden cabana was perfect for the two of us as we were celebrating our first anniversary. It felt as if we were tucked away in a lush caribbean jungle. As stated in previous reviews, this is not a luxurious 5-star resort but that is not what we want when we travel to a caribbean island. This is a very clean, caribbean- style,fun, laid back, island beach resort. It was perfect for us. But what really adds to the total experience of this awesome place is the entire staff at Bananarama. From the moment we arrived, the ladies at the reception office greeted us on a first-name basis and remembered our names for the rest of the week! We would like to thank Danery, Sarah, Denise, and Victoria for taking such good care of us and treating us like family! The staff at the Thirsty Turtle also gets a big thumbs up. Caroline served breakfast with a smile each morning and Alex and Jessica were happy to serve us throughout the rest of the day. We enjoyed conversation with Alex every day and were always happy to see him! We want to give a big shout out to Zebbie at the bar who made wonderful drinks with a strong pour and kept us happy!! Even the maid service was the best we had seen. We had a new towel art on our bed each day and appreciated the attention to detail. The beds were comfortable after our request for extra pillows was met immediately. We have no complaints whatsoever about the resort itself. On Sunday evenings this place is the most popular on West Bay Beach with the crab races, live music, and fire dancers. I cannot imagine that any other resort on this beach could be as much fun as Bananarama! Thanks to everyone from Dean and Jan!! Hope to see you all again!

Room Tip: rooms away from the restaurant are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for one week on the Island Pearl side of the resort, with the expectation (and as led to believe by their website) these were the higher end units on the property. Well, here's our take:

The Pro Side: Location location location. You can't fault it. The beachfront units also have great patios. The master bedroom is a good size and there is lots of storage in there.The staff are very good, right from the women who clean the rooms to the fellows who haul out your beach chairs. Always cheerful and friendly. The pizza place behind the bar is really handy, good to take back to the room and eat on the patio. The dive shop- they were great as well. The owners are on site and visible, but not always effective.

The negative side: The room itself was in dire need of serious maintenance. We went without a hot shower for 4 days until the owners finally changed out the hot water heating system to the unit. To their credit, they did try to fix it repeatedly, and then finally gave in and changed it out. Although they apologized, there was no offer of compensation, they didn't even buy us a drink to say "sorry". Also- the kitchen in the units is about the most awkward design I've ever seen. There is virtually NO countertop. We rented the unit specifically so we would have a full kitchen. The fridge was completely rusty and the lower shelves were full of water so nothing could be put there. This was mentioned to one of the owners on the first day we were there and never repaired. There is not even a plug for the kitchen sink- we asked for one and although the maintenance man came by and looked, he never did come back. A little difficult to do dishes- and I am still unsure how the chambermaids did the dishes which may have been left behind undone by other guests? The timing of breakfast service is unfortunate. Those who sign on for the first dive of the day are supposed to be able to get breakfast from 7:45 am which still makes it a tight squeeze to try and eat, get organized and on the boat in time for the 8:30 departure. Why not move it to 7:30, and ensure the staff has it ready to go? The dive shop cautioned us it was not always ready to go at 7:45 and not to count on it. We just made our own on those days. Another comment is there is a screen of trees between the units and the beach, which does provide shade but also impedes the view from the beachfront units. If you want to watch the sunset, you can't do it from your porch, you need to go down to the beach. Also- the second day we were there, we came back from diving to find one of the mattresses off one of the beds in the second bedroom had been removed. We walked in to the unit to find sandy footprints all through the ground floor (we thought the unit had been broken into!) and the bed gone! When we questioned this at the front desk, we were told "Oh, they must have needed it". It then reappeared the next day. Now- we were not using that bedroom, but we were certainly paying for it, and the whole episode was just strange. The upstairs porch screens were torn and the area itself seems like a waste of space. The louvered windows (the louvers won't open) block the view so the area is just a dark unfortunate space. Perhaps if the weather was bad and the outside porch couldn't be used you might use it, as there is no inside sitting area on the main floor of the unit apart from the dining table. We just kept the door to it closed to keep the bugs out. When we arrived there were stacks of beach chairs in front of the porch, very high, so when you were sitting on the porch you could not see the beach! We asked the attendant not to stack them so high and he happily complied, but this is something the management should notice. The trees in front of the hotel are the "roost" for a huge flock of grackle type birds, which arrive around sunset and overnight in the trees along the beachfront. Their droppings and noise (incredible- you can barely have a conversation on the porch when they are there) are a serious problem. They quiet down after dark (unless disturbed, which causes a whole flurry of squawking) and then start up again around 4:30 am. This is why we are rating the sleep quality as "poor". Nature is one thing, but this crosses the line to nuisance. The staff were very frustrated trying to keep up with cleaning all the droppings on sun chairs and on the dining area of the restaurant. Not pretty. There are things the owners could be doing to discourage the birds. My husband also got really tired of being hit up every time he walked past by the tour operators who hang out between the bar and the Island Pearl side of the complex.

In summary: We had high expectations, some of which may have been our mistake. But- if you look at the website and the Island Pearl section, you will probably agree they have branded these units as something special. They certainly didn't meet our expectations, and we are not unreasonable. We have travelled through Central America and Mexico and stayed in various types of accommodation, and we aren't looking for super luxury. However; If we had known about the things I've listed here, we probably would have made a different decision about where to stay. I certainly don't want someone else to go into this resort expecting a high end room, other reviewers have used the term "rustic", and that pretty much sums it up. I heard the comment from some other guests the resort is for sale, and if that is true may be why the lack of maintenance.
We would return to Roatan, but stay somewhere else- there are lots to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I am really happy you enjoyed our stay, location and staff.

As we explained during your stay your room was recently upgraded with a new propane tankless hot water heater. We did have issues on the first two days of your arrival where the water either came out cold or too hot. We went through the adjustment process with the manufacture and found the unit to be faulty. We offered to make it right with you and all you wanted was the hot water tank fixed which we put back in the old tank and you said you were happy with. We put the original one back in after the second day which you said was sufficent.

We have a great staff and it can be stressful when you look at the dive schedule realizing the first boat leaves at 8:30 if you get breakfast at 7:45. Fortunately breakfast usually starts around 730 with coffee ready by 7. When you show up at the dive shop your gear is always ready for you and laid out by the Diveshop. We are not in such a hurry here that we have ever left anyone eating breakfast while they watch the boat drive way and more often than not leave a couple minutes late to make sure we offer. To any future guests I would suggest to relax... your on the island now... leave the appointment book in your car at the airport and just enjoy your time here.

Yes we have coconut trees that block 10% of the view from the porches. I am not willing to take them down and the birds come and go... its part of mother nature. These type of problems usually lead me to believe that perhaps a concrete resort with a big pool, no trees, wildlife and huge kitchen should have been a factor when you originally booked your room. We like the birds, iguanas, butterflies, geckos, sandcrabs, orchids, coconuts, etc...The room you choose has a kitchenette (small kitchen) and we try to maintain the natural beach/jungle feel without it over growing here. Definetely not your style and I appologize our resort can not provide what you were looking for. I believe our website pictures do clearly outline what the room you chose has to offer and we have a reservation staff to assist guests with any questions, comments or concerns regarding room selection.

As I stated during your stay... I am happy to make it right with you as I felt and feel horrible about the hot water problem in your unit and you can contact me at any time to discuss.

Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a week at the beginning of March and I have to say, it really is a cute little resort. The rooms are a bit run down however, ours was ultra clean and the air conditioning was awesome (my husband is an a/c fanatic lol). We sat on our porch most nights and enjoyed a drink and the breeze either in our chairs or the hammock. Being steps away from the dive shop was ultra convenient as well, although our experience at the shop wasn't great. Victor at the Thirsty Turtle was an awesome waiter and always took care of us! We never had a problem with the hotel/restaurant staff, they were always super friendly. Watch out for the birds at the thirsty turtle, we got pooped on numerous times! On cruise ship days, it's a bit of a bummer that things get so busy/loud but its only for a few hours. Although I wouldn't dive with the dive shop again, I would stay at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.