We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we got open water certified here and loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Random Sunshine Special
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in West Bay
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“we got open water certified here and loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

my husband and i stayed at bananarama for the week of thanksgiving in november 2012. we had never tried diving before and wanted to get open water certified. i was a bit apprehensive about diving in general, but i got a good feeling from emailing w/ the dive shop manager, mal. he suggested we start with the "discover scuba" course to get a feel for diving and then decide whether to pursue the full open water course. this was a good suggestion in my opinion, the discover scuba class was a nice overall diving intro and it counted towards our open water certification.

our dive instructor was marc, and he was great. very patient and encouraging throughout the whole course. everyone we spoke to at bananarama (including both beginners and very experienced divers) were really enjoying the dives and had great things to say about all of the instructors/staff.

the bananarama resort is very casual and relaxing, which was exactly what we wanted. delicious food, friendly staff & bartenders, and a nice location on the island. the area can be a bit busy during the daytime but it definitely quiets down later at night. they had live music at the bar and fire dancers on the beach a few of the nights we were there, which was fun to watch.

we stayed in one of the garden rooms towards the back of the property (i think it was 11 or 12). the rooms are pretty basic and no-frills but we spent most of our time outside of the room anyway. our a/c unit worked fine but it rattled a bit which kept us up the first night, so we just turned it off & opened all the windows which kept us cool enough at night.

overall it was a great week and we really enjoyed our stay. whether you're looking for a place to try diving for the first time, or you have been diving for many years, i would highly recommend bananarama.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    187
    50
    18
    8
See reviews for
176
340
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Bananarama Dive Resort is a good place to go as long as you know exactly what to expect. We had their "Dive and Sizzle" package for 7 nights that included our room, 3 meals a day, and 10 dives...a great deal for $850 per person. The cabana we were in (#6) was at the back and very quiet. The room is small but clean and the bed is huge and comfortable. The shower head definately needs replacement. Some cabanas are near the compressor room or bar and can be noisy during the day or night. Food at the Happy Turtle, Vintage Pearl, and Pizzerama (all part of the resort) was very good and tasty. The dive shop is very organized and well run with plenty of equipment to rent if needed. The boats are not very comfortable...fiberglass with very little seating space but only take a maximum of 8 divers. Dive crew could be a little more helpful with assisting divers with their gear. Lots of dive sites within a 5-15 minute radius with beautiful corals (black, sponge, staghorn, brain, soft), very nice walls and swim throughs. Because of the cloud cover in the mornings the colors were washed out. We felt there were not a lot of fish and the water visibility was between 40-65 feet with a lot of particles in the water (perhaps because it rained every night.) Afternoons were sunny...maybe a better time to do 2 dives. NOTE: Cruise ships dock at Roatan 3-4 days a week and they are huge!! From 2,500 to 7,000 passengers!!! They bus the passengers to West Bay Beaches...and it is so crowded you can hardly find any room to sit (the beach is quite narrow.) The owners go out of their way to make sure you are happy and do whatever they can to accommodate you...a special thanks to Jeff. We chose to tip at the very end by leaving money in envelopes for our dive crew, restaurant staff, and maids. It was obvious that some of the staff thought they should be tipped after every meal/dive and we could sense a change in disposition when we didn't do this. Overall...you get a lot for your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my second stay at Bananarama within 3 months, and will certainly will not be my last.The office staff made up of Sarah,Denise,Victoria and Danery go out of their way to make sure your stay is a great experience.The bar tenders Sandra, Angela,Steven,Edison and Zebby will make sure you enjoy yourself at the Thristy Turtle along with the best servers Roatan has to offer. Louis and Jeff (the owners along with their wives) make sure every thing is running smoothly. When you arrive and enter the office look to your left and you will see a very handsome picture with the words guest of the year 2012/2013 that will be me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We didn't stay at Banamarama, but we did hang out at Banamarama quite a bit. Great drink specials. Jessica took great care of us! Great pizza and drink special at lunch. Beach area is excellent. Make sure to catch the crab races and fire dancers on Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Steven Raymond and Angela Rodenzo (aka. Baribie) took great care of us at the bar. The lunch we had was excellent!! time on the beach well spent and would love to go back!!!! The service was stellar and this is the place i have been raving about since being back home. find a nice spont under a palm tree and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've already raved about the dive operation in a separate review, but the rest of the resort rocks as well.

The food is awesome. Especially the coconut shrimp, but also the fish tacos, the smoked chicken wrap, the tortilla chips, the guacamole, the smoked fish dip, the pizza ... and that's just at the Thirsty Turtle. The dinner we had at the Vintage Pearl -- lobster for her, wahoo for me -- may have been the best dinner either one of us has ever had on vacation anywhere.

Owners Louis and Jeff are right there to take care of any problem. Denise at reception was terrific as well.

Bar staff are great -- fast, friendly, and mix a great cocktail. (I stuck to beer for the most part, but still.) Special thanks to Steven, Victor, Darwin and Eddison.

Same re the wait staff -- they've got the whole operation running so smoothly that if you've got an 8:30 dive booked, they'll make sure to get your breakfast out to you in plenty of time.

A whole week of diving in the morning and then relaxing on the beach with a beer (or two) in the afternoon. What's not to like? I'd recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Terrific bar terrific people! Looking for food, drinks and fun?! Stop in to this bar. Say hi to Sandra, Angela and Tim. You must try the drink Monkey La La! The best place in West Bay and they put on the hockey game! Manager Joannie and owner Jeff are terrific hosts and the place just makes you feel great ! Do not go somewhere else to party it's a waste of your time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.