We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beach, great drinks and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Random Sunshine Special
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful beach, great drinks and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Steven Raymond and Angela Rodenzo (aka. Baribie) took great care of us at the bar. The lunch we had was excellent!! time on the beach well spent and would love to go back!!!! The service was stellar and this is the place i have been raving about since being back home. find a nice spont under a palm tree and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    189
    51
    19
    8
See reviews for
177
341
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've already raved about the dive operation in a separate review, but the rest of the resort rocks as well.

The food is awesome. Especially the coconut shrimp, but also the fish tacos, the smoked chicken wrap, the tortilla chips, the guacamole, the smoked fish dip, the pizza ... and that's just at the Thirsty Turtle. The dinner we had at the Vintage Pearl -- lobster for her, wahoo for me -- may have been the best dinner either one of us has ever had on vacation anywhere.

Owners Louis and Jeff are right there to take care of any problem. Denise at reception was terrific as well.

Bar staff are great -- fast, friendly, and mix a great cocktail. (I stuck to beer for the most part, but still.) Special thanks to Steven, Victor, Darwin and Eddison.

Same re the wait staff -- they've got the whole operation running so smoothly that if you've got an 8:30 dive booked, they'll make sure to get your breakfast out to you in plenty of time.

A whole week of diving in the morning and then relaxing on the beach with a beer (or two) in the afternoon. What's not to like? I'd recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Terrific bar terrific people! Looking for food, drinks and fun?! Stop in to this bar. Say hi to Sandra, Angela and Tim. You must try the drink Monkey La La! The best place in West Bay and they put on the hockey game! Manager Joannie and owner Jeff are terrific hosts and the place just makes you feel great ! Do not go somewhere else to party it's a waste of your time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can't wait to go again. Staff definitely make the place, a great bunch of people that make you feel very welcome. Special thanks to Denise at reception, Steven Raymond, Victor Palacios and Darwin at the Thirsty Turtle.

Great location, Dive shop is top notch, food is great, still dreaming about the coconut shrimp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

For 10 dollars we got chairs on the beach. (just make sure you get there early) Or make reservations online

We ate lunch there and had some drinks. Food was good and everyone was friendly

Some of the best snorkeling is right in front of infinity bay resort. Go out about 300 yards and you will be surrounded by fish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms were small but everything was in great condition and staff was more than friendly. This is the place to stay, it is in the perfect location and has great food and drinks right on the property. If i came back to roatan, I would stay with Bananarama, no questions asked

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This review was based on a day trip from Rony's excursions (1/23/13). We did not stay over night although the resort is within yards to the beautiful beach, tiki bar, and restaurant. The little bungalows seemed nice from the outside. The overall atmosphere was great. This was a family friendly beach/resort area. The bartenders at the Bananarama hut were extremely nice and provided great customer service. The drinks and food were great and reasonably priced. Another plus was that there were multiple security guards on the beach, so that made us feel safe.

The only con I have is that when you get on the beach, you are bombarded by people trying to sell you something, braid your hair, or give you a massage. So much so that we had to tell people no multiple times through out our time there. However, I think this may be out of Bananarama's control.

Overall, we had a great experience with the family. The food was great, customer service was great, atmosphere was great, reasonably priced food and drinks, beach was great, and there were security guards visible. We all had fun. I would definitely consider staying there a few nights in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.