We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can't wait to go again. Staff definitely make the place, a great bunch of people that make you feel very welcome. Special thanks to Denise at reception, Steven Raymond, Victor Palacios and Darwin at the Thirsty Turtle.

Great location, Dive shop is top notch, food is great, still dreaming about the coconut shrimp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    218
    58
    20
    14
See reviews for
200
382
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

For 10 dollars we got chairs on the beach. (just make sure you get there early) Or make reservations online

We ate lunch there and had some drinks. Food was good and everyone was friendly

Some of the best snorkeling is right in front of infinity bay resort. Go out about 300 yards and you will be surrounded by fish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms were small but everything was in great condition and staff was more than friendly. This is the place to stay, it is in the perfect location and has great food and drinks right on the property. If i came back to roatan, I would stay with Bananarama, no questions asked

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This review was based on a day trip from Rony's excursions (1/23/13). We did not stay over night although the resort is within yards to the beautiful beach, tiki bar, and restaurant. The little bungalows seemed nice from the outside. The overall atmosphere was great. This was a family friendly beach/resort area. The bartenders at the Bananarama hut were extremely nice and provided great customer service. The drinks and food were great and reasonably priced. Another plus was that there were multiple security guards on the beach, so that made us feel safe.

The only con I have is that when you get on the beach, you are bombarded by people trying to sell you something, braid your hair, or give you a massage. So much so that we had to tell people no multiple times through out our time there. However, I think this may be out of Bananarama's control.

Overall, we had a great experience with the family. The food was great, customer service was great, atmosphere was great, reasonably priced food and drinks, beach was great, and there were security guards visible. We all had fun. I would definitely consider staying there a few nights in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful sandy beach, snorkeling and diving, yummy rum drinks. Loved it!! Resort is no frills, but a perfect place to relax and forget your troubles. Trees and hammocks give you a place to relax away from the intense Caribbean sun. Kakaks and rafts enable you to enjoy to crystal blue water. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bananarama gave us a great first experience in Roatan. The staff was great, the food was good, and the drinks were STRONG!! We did a smaller dive package, and had a wonderful experience with our guide. My only complaint here was that our dives were often scheduled around the ppl who went diving every day... not necessarily when we wanted to go. The accommodations aren't 5 star, but they are definitely nice with a local feel. I did miss having a pool, however I would definitely recommend this beautiful bay to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bananrama through a Groupon purchased for a 4 night stay. It was really fantastic! The staff is excellent ( Danery and Denise were very helpful at the front desk) and the bartenders at the Thirsty Turtle are so much fun. Tim was unforgettable, but they were all great! The food at the Thirsty Turtle served us just fine for the 4 Days we were there...The lobster on Thursday is incredible! The breakfasts are delicious- My boyfriend LOVED the breakfast pizza. We ate at the Vintage Pearl one night, and it was good, but a bit pricey for us. We walked along the beach another night and had a similar quality meal at "Argentinian Grill" for a better price. The beach is stunning! Crystal clear water, clean white sand, and plenty of beach chairs! If you rent some snorkel gear you can swim out to the reef in minutes and see a huge variety of fish and coral. We had an amazing experience and I definitely want to come back so we can take advantage of more of the things they have to offer- like trips to other islands, taking a boat out to see some more of the reef, and maybe some fishing and diving. The bugs were never problem for us because it was nice and breezy while we were there. I definitely recommend staying here! Thanks Bananarama! --- Megan & Javier

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
9.3 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.