We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Thirsty Turtle at Bananarama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Random Sunshine Special
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“The Thirsty Turtle at Bananarama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great food, good times, especially on St. Patrick's Day. Carolina Walter, one of the wait staff at the Thirsty Turtle was the friendliest person in Roatan. We will definitely visit when we go back and enjoy the festivities again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    185
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
170
334
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arboles, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Bananrama Dive and Beach Resort was "taken over" by the Naughty Nine dive group and I don't think they will forget us for a while!! Look for the dollar bill initialed by all and stapled to the beach shutter at the bar. We managed to score the Green Sizzle Special which gave us a weeks accommodation, transportation to and from the airport, 10 boat dives with Marco who led us on the best dives EVER, all meals directly off the Thirsty Turtle menu including the wood fired pizza,and Sunday brunch at the Vintage Pearl along with one Dinner! Cabana 2 was just right for my husband and myself and we always enjoyed returning from our morning dives to see what towel critter was going to grace our bed. The resort is well run and you never get tired of the smiling faces of the management and staff. A big hug to Carolina at the Thirsty Turtle who had found a place In our hearts from the very first night. She went out of her way to make our stay happy and even helped us celebrate one of our groups birthday. What I will never forget is the shore interval we spent at the Thirsty Turtle and there she was meeting us with a tray of ice water for everyone getting off the dive boat. We had so much fun...hope you had fun with us as well. From doing the twist to the live music on Saturday night, to the crab races and fire dancers on Sunday night to Monday Night football at the bar with Steven and Zebby, Derry and Edison, to Quiz night (which by the way the girls team won and subsequently donated the cash prize to the milk for infants program- check this out on their facts page) on Wednesday to the Jenga Tournament among our guys, played in the rain with no shirts, we had a great time!!! If you're going to Roatan go to Bananarama. Love you all!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My cousin and I were here for T-Giving and had a great time

1st off - the staff is amazing...
They are all uber friendly (specifically Louis, Joanie, Darwin, on and on) and will go above and beyond to help out.
The bartenders have a HEAVY pour - nothing wrong w/ that
The food at the turtle (or whatever they call the bar outside) is legit
The food in the Pearl restaurant (again I forget the exact name) is really really good... a bit pricey but if you want to do a nice night out - its good

great location
the resort, is not surprisingly, right on the beach
and an easy cab ride to the west end (cabbies are crazy drivers though) for a night out...


highly rec this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I visited Bananarama for the day. We were on a cruise and for our port day a friend of ours had recommended the resort. It was a nice place to spend our day relaxing. The service we received was excellent. Steven,our bartender, made excellent drinks and catered to us like royalty. The guys with dive shop were informative and told us of the best spots to snorkle along the beach. The resort also provided excellent security so you can sunbath peacefully, without being bombarded by solicitors. Wish I spent more time there, but definetly will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you like to dive , you gotta go here. The accomadations are lil rustic but how much time do you spend in your room with the ocean right there . . . The dive group is fun and know whats going on and where to dive. Marco our guide was informative n fun. The food is tastee n Carolina our waitress was awesome. Danery, Denis, Victoria, and Sarah behind the front desk always went out of their way to help with a smile. Lil bit of entertainment during evenins . . . fun place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were the first " semi inclusive guests" at the resort with sun wing.

The meal plan needed to be clarified and the owners, Jeff and Louis were very helpful and responsive to our concerns. The a la carte menu was nice option compared to buffet meals offered at most all inclusive resorts. The vintage pearl meal was exceptional!

Staff were fun and provided great service. Special recognition to Victor, Sheena and Jessica.

Our overall experience was very positive

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back away from the bar etc. as they are less noisy. Upper units have more natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bananarama. I liked that the resort was smaller, giving a very warm, relaxed and cozy atmosphere. The resort is located right on West Bay beach with stunning sunset views.

The rooms/cabanas are basic, but comfortable and clean. As they say on their website - they're rooms are for sleeping! Meliza was there everyday after breakfast to make sure our room was spic and span. The cabanas are rustic, really giving you that awesome caribbean vibe. We only used the AC the first night. We realized having the windows open was so much nicer with fresh breeze coming in.

The staff was AMAZING. Sarah from reception greeted us everyday with a warm and genuine smile, and always checked up on us. The owners and managers are always around to make sure the guests are happy. Louis was always there to answer questions and always gave sound advice. There was a good rapport between management and staff which resonates in the service they provide to the guests. The bar staff, especially Zebby and Steven, always guaranteed a fun time! Take the time to get to know the staff.. they are an amazing group of people!

The food at the Thirsty Turtle was awesome. I would highly recommend all the seafood items on the menu, especially the whole fried fish! Pizza at Pizzarama was pretty good. For the complimentary breakfast, you are given 2 options to choose from (which changes daily). Breakfast was good majority of the time, and there's always fresh fruit juice. The wait staff were efficient and always pleasant, especially Shanny and Carolina.

We are not divers, but have heard nothing but great things about the dive shop. If I ever do get certified, this is the first place I'm coming back to.

While in Roatan, do consider going on a tour to Cayos Cochinos. The fishing village at Cayo Chachahuete is a fascinating little community and made this trip that much more memorable.

November is still low season, so we didn't encounter too many cruise shippers. However, the weather at this time of the year is quite unpredictable, and the water might get a little choppy. It rained on and off during our stay, but we still managed to catch a lot of sun.

Sandflies. Do bring lots of bug spray. The sandflies aren't too bad around Bananarama, but avoid walking the end of West Bay (towards West End) at dusk. On our first afternoon, we walked towards West End (without bug spray), and got attacked from the waist down. NOT FUN.

If you are looking for jacuzzis and granite countertops, you might wanna consider another place. Or book a more luxurious cabana on the Island Pearl side. But if you're looking for something more homey and want to be treated like family, Bananarama is just right for you.

Room Tip: private cabanas are nice and cozy. 2nd level loft suites (13&14) were very spacious with lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.