We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an awesome place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Random Sunshine Special
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in West Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just an awesome place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you like to dive , you gotta go here. The accomadations are lil rustic but how much time do you spend in your room with the ocean right there . . . The dive group is fun and know whats going on and where to dive. Marco our guide was informative n fun. The food is tastee n Carolina our waitress was awesome. Danery, Denis, Victoria, and Sarah behind the front desk always went out of their way to help with a smile. Lil bit of entertainment during evenins . . . fun place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    184
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
169
334
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were the first " semi inclusive guests" at the resort with sun wing.

The meal plan needed to be clarified and the owners, Jeff and Louis were very helpful and responsive to our concerns. The a la carte menu was nice option compared to buffet meals offered at most all inclusive resorts. The vintage pearl meal was exceptional!

Staff were fun and provided great service. Special recognition to Victor, Sheena and Jessica.

Our overall experience was very positive

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back away from the bar etc. as they are less noisy. Upper units have more natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bananarama. I liked that the resort was smaller, giving a very warm, relaxed and cozy atmosphere. The resort is located right on West Bay beach with stunning sunset views.

The rooms/cabanas are basic, but comfortable and clean. As they say on their website - they're rooms are for sleeping! Meliza was there everyday after breakfast to make sure our room was spic and span. The cabanas are rustic, really giving you that awesome caribbean vibe. We only used the AC the first night. We realized having the windows open was so much nicer with fresh breeze coming in.

The staff was AMAZING. Sarah from reception greeted us everyday with a warm and genuine smile, and always checked up on us. The owners and managers are always around to make sure the guests are happy. Louis was always there to answer questions and always gave sound advice. There was a good rapport between management and staff which resonates in the service they provide to the guests. The bar staff, especially Zebby and Steven, always guaranteed a fun time! Take the time to get to know the staff.. they are an amazing group of people!

The food at the Thirsty Turtle was awesome. I would highly recommend all the seafood items on the menu, especially the whole fried fish! Pizza at Pizzarama was pretty good. For the complimentary breakfast, you are given 2 options to choose from (which changes daily). Breakfast was good majority of the time, and there's always fresh fruit juice. The wait staff were efficient and always pleasant, especially Shanny and Carolina.

We are not divers, but have heard nothing but great things about the dive shop. If I ever do get certified, this is the first place I'm coming back to.

While in Roatan, do consider going on a tour to Cayos Cochinos. The fishing village at Cayo Chachahuete is a fascinating little community and made this trip that much more memorable.

November is still low season, so we didn't encounter too many cruise shippers. However, the weather at this time of the year is quite unpredictable, and the water might get a little choppy. It rained on and off during our stay, but we still managed to catch a lot of sun.

Sandflies. Do bring lots of bug spray. The sandflies aren't too bad around Bananarama, but avoid walking the end of West Bay (towards West End) at dusk. On our first afternoon, we walked towards West End (without bug spray), and got attacked from the waist down. NOT FUN.

If you are looking for jacuzzis and granite countertops, you might wanna consider another place. Or book a more luxurious cabana on the Island Pearl side. But if you're looking for something more homey and want to be treated like family, Bananarama is just right for you.

Room Tip: private cabanas are nice and cozy. 2nd level loft suites (13&14) were very spacious with lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First let me say that some of the staff at Bananarama made our stay wonderful.

Sarah on reception couldn't be more friendly, helpful and truly caring. Nothing was too much trouble and she checked on us each day to make sure we were all good. Thanks Sarah!

Louise the manager was great, responsive and heard our concerns genuinely, and fixed our worries shortly after.

In the bar Eddison, Zebby and Derry were so much fun and made awesome drinks! I only wish they had fresh fruit for their Daqueries.

The location is the BEST on the island and they often spray to take care of the sand flies (which are a pest everywhere so make sure you have sunscreen AND bug spray on the beach ).

Concerns:

Some of the rooms are particularly noisy early on because of the staff talking and music - those being near the kitchens, the bar and the dive shop (where they prep the dive equipment). I would take a garden hut away from the dive shop if i came again. It rained a lot when we were there so were in our room a lot - which probably made the noise more noticeable.

Hot water is sparse. It is promised, but we ran our shower for 10 minutes one morning (on advice from maintenance) and it still didn't work. The pressure is terrible in some rooms (ours) but reportedly ok in others.

Room towels are ratty and have holes in them, not a big deal, but then when you are MADE TO PAY for your BEACH TOWEL for the week, you would expect them to spend a little money on upgrading some linen. I was so shocked - even though it was $5 each, this is the only resort i have been to where your very own beach towel isn't included - or at least you only leave a deposit. Not pay.

On a more positive note, movie night and crab racing is fun, and the bar and restaurant have a great vibe (ok food, nothing amazing for the price).

SO i guess it depends what your expectations are to begin with - I wish someone had warned us about these things and then we'd be prepared for them, not expect something more.

It was a fun experience though and i'm glad we went :)

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are the back garden cabanas or upstairs garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a week's stay at Bananarama. Prior to going, we did all of the typical research and scoured the internet. We don't regret our decision to stay at Bananarama for a moment. It has the personalized one-on-one service you find in an all-inclusive resort -- but it's not an all-inclusive. The staff goes out of their way to get to know you. From the room attendants, restaurant servers, to the office staff, to the most amazing bartenders, and the hands-on management... it was a memorable experience. Bartenders like Zebby, Derry, Stephen, Eddison and Sandra made you feel like "everyone knows your name". This review wouldn't be complete without highlighting their amazing Dive Shop! The staff at the Bananarama Dive Shop is just as accomodating and professional with attention to detail and tevery diver's safety. They quickly tune in to your invidual dive needs and go out of their way to be helpful and encourage your love of the sport. They offered a wide range of dives with small groups. Our divemaster, Martin, was extremely professional and made you feel safe. The reefs in Roatan are some of the best in the world. Our only regret was that we didn't go on a shark dive -- which is the perfect excuse to return to this resort and their dive staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Bananarama is an awesome Eco-friendly resort that provides excellent customer service from the minute you arrive until the time you leave! Very friendly staff,clean rooms, and great food! The wait-staff is wonderful as well-especially Shawnee!! She heard it was my friend's birthday and made awesome cinnamon rolls and gave us some too! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We took a long shot and tried the west Bay Area of roatan. We usually go snorkeling in the west end area however the wind was too strong to go there so we decided to have a beach day at the bananarama resort. This place is cool. It's run by a group of Americans from Idaho, they keep this place safe for kids and adults alike. The food was great , prices were in line and we enjoyed it. We had our two young daughters with us. They enjoyed getting their hair braided by the resort approved vendor and the great beach. Leave your snorkel gear on the ship as there is really nothing to see off the beach except sand.
They need to work a little harder at controlling the outside locals trying to sell you everything, this makes the atmosphere a little un comfortable . Overall it well worth the ride to hang with these guys for the day. Darwin was our server for the afternoon and he was excellent, an asset to this establishment for sure. Thanks guys well be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.