We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Relaxed and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, Relaxed and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a week's stay at Bananarama. Prior to going, we did all of the typical research and scoured the internet. We don't regret our decision to stay at Bananarama for a moment. It has the personalized one-on-one service you find in an all-inclusive resort -- but it's not an all-inclusive. The staff goes out of their way to get to know you. From the room attendants, restaurant servers, to the office staff, to the most amazing bartenders, and the hands-on management... it was a memorable experience. Bartenders like Zebby, Derry, Stephen, Eddison and Sandra made you feel like "everyone knows your name". This review wouldn't be complete without highlighting their amazing Dive Shop! The staff at the Bananarama Dive Shop is just as accomodating and professional with attention to detail and tevery diver's safety. They quickly tune in to your invidual dive needs and go out of their way to be helpful and encourage your love of the sport. They offered a wide range of dives with small groups. Our divemaster, Martin, was extremely professional and made you feel safe. The reefs in Roatan are some of the best in the world. Our only regret was that we didn't go on a shark dive -- which is the perfect excuse to return to this resort and their dive staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    205
    54
    20
    9
See reviews for
190
361
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Bananarama is an awesome Eco-friendly resort that provides excellent customer service from the minute you arrive until the time you leave! Very friendly staff,clean rooms, and great food! The wait-staff is wonderful as well-especially Shawnee!! She heard it was my friend's birthday and made awesome cinnamon rolls and gave us some too! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We took a long shot and tried the west Bay Area of roatan. We usually go snorkeling in the west end area however the wind was too strong to go there so we decided to have a beach day at the bananarama resort. This place is cool. It's run by a group of Americans from Idaho, they keep this place safe for kids and adults alike. The food was great , prices were in line and we enjoyed it. We had our two young daughters with us. They enjoyed getting their hair braided by the resort approved vendor and the great beach. Leave your snorkel gear on the ship as there is really nothing to see off the beach except sand.
They need to work a little harder at controlling the outside locals trying to sell you everything, this makes the atmosphere a little un comfortable . Overall it well worth the ride to hang with these guys for the day. Darwin was our server for the afternoon and he was excellent, an asset to this establishment for sure. Thanks guys well be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and can honestly say it was some of the best service I have experienced. Everyone went out of their way to accomodate us and the management were "hands on" in ensuring that the staff did the best they could. This is not a high end hotel but a great property with a lot of charm that provides great value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have to say that this was the most relaxing vacation my husband and I have ever experienced. The people at this resort make the experience so great. This is not an all inclusive resort, but they sure treat you like it is. As soon as you step foot on the beach there is someone there to get you a beach chair and make sure you are comfortable. Jeff, Robin and Louis always made sure that our expectations were met; anything we needed they made it happen. The beach is awsome (no water shoes necessary) the sand is clean and soft, the water is warm and crystal clear...we actually were standing in knee deep water and could see the fish swimming at our feet. We were so impressed with the wait staff, bartenders, houskeeping, grounds crew and reception staff...these people are fabulous. Many special thanks to Jessica, Caroline, Victor, Wilson, Shawney, Steven, Leilha, Derry, Edison, Zebby, Eduardo, and Sahndra; they are the reason we will definetly be going back. I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in beach side villa #27...great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bananarama is amazing. We have stayed there 9 times now and it keeps gettting better and better...Louis the owner continues to reinvest in the property. The service and food has become just great. Alberto Escobar and Carolina are people we seek out to wait on us for food and drink. They are friendly and attentive. The new pizzeria is the bomb!

Dave Riley and Amigos of Honduras

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just finished another visit at Bananarama, and once again I had a wonderful time. I was there from November 3rd to the 10th. With Denise and the rest of the crew from reception i got checked in and was in my room in less than 5 minutes. Owner Louis St. Louis personnally carried my bag to my room. I stayed in room # 15 which is a duplex Beach Side Room. This room gives you a view of the ocean and beach but you are far enough away from the public areas that it remains quiet and peaceful. Owners Louis and Jamie were joined by new managers Jeff and Robin. Having 2 owners and 2 managers at the resort at the same time meant that their normally good service was even better. When I mentioned to Jeff that the door lock to my room was getting a bit sticky he was back in less than 2 minutes with some oil to fix the problem. It was also wonderful news to hear that resort partner Phil is feeling better and hopes to be back at the Bananarama in the spring. The free breakfast is different each morning and is delicious. Each morning either Shanny, Alfonso or Carolina would have my meal in front of me almost as soon as I sat down. I enjoy taking my dinners at the Thirsty Turtle which is the resort's open air beach bar and restaurant. In addition to the normal bar food last year they added a wood-fired, brick pizza oven which makes a great thin crust pizza. I would not normally expect to find pizza this good in this part of the world. I was surprised when the Thirsty Turtle offered lobster tails on the menu one night. Previously I had only seen this type of item offered at the resort's more upscale restaurant the Vintage Pearl. While at the Thirsty Turtle, vetern bartenders Steven, Derry and Edison along with new bartenders Layla, Angelina and Sandra are all very entertaining while tempting you with an array of tropical drinks many of which I had never heard of before. When you stay at a beach resort it can at times be almost impossible not to track sand or water into your room, but head maid Marleny and her crew had the wood fllors in my room looking great every day. This is a great resort on a great island at a very resonalbe price or this would not be my 9th stay at the Bananarama.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#3 Family Hotel in West Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on West Bay Beach, our Roatan Eco Friendly Dive and Beach Front Resort is blessed with the turquoise waters of the Caribbean shaded under an amazing tropical canopy. We offer an island dream vacation for those who want to escape the stress of everyday life and relax Roatan Island style. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms with a hammock on every porch and offer free breakfast, wifi, beach chairs, kayaks and smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananarama Beach And Dive Hotel West Bay
Bananarama Dive Hotel
Hotel Bananarama Dive
Bananarama Beach And Dive Resort Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.