We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“area was too busy and commerical” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
33135731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Roatan Shore Excursion: West Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in West Bay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction details
Plainfield, Ontario Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“area was too busy and commerical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

too busy with cruise ship visitors'; to many armed guards everywhere; boats anchor right on beach; drinks not good...beer warm; water was nice though

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    143
    36
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect White Sand Beach and Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only got to spend about 2 hours at West Bay Beach and wish we had more time. We entered the beach through Bananarama Resort. We then rented a chair for $10 at the resort and went swimming. The sandy beach is perfect and the sand continues out 100+' into the crystal clear water. Our family would love go back and spend some time at the beach. The only negative is the people that come up and try and sell you things on the beach. If you tell them no right away before they come up to you they leave.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Lima, Cortes, Honduras
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful white sand beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful white sand beach, with all the big hotels and places to eat. What i love about it is the coral reef being just steps off. If you are scared of to snorkel or dive like me this is a great start, you will be surprise of all the species and coral you will get to see just a few steps off.
Love it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia,canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“West Bay Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just returned home from the better part of a month long stay here. Our flights, the weather, the food, people,airport customs and activities etc. all were good with one or two exceptions which I will touch on later. I would call this trip close to perfect. This beach in my opinion is world class. Yes, we have been to a few very nice beaches. They have the fabulous warm blue waters and the soft white sand (that you picture in your mind when you are due for a holiday) but what sets this beach apart is the CORAL REEF at your finger tips (don't touch). Amazing! We are snorkelers (not divers yet) and a few steps into the water at the north end of the beach and the reef comes into view. My first encounter was breath-taking (not a plugged snorkel). From knee deep water you can set off, weaving in and around through a maze of coral rising around you. Visibility was excellent being able to see for 30 meters (100 feet) in all directions. We saw a large variety of sea life, from different colours and sizes to huge schools of salt water species. With no current to fight flippers are not required, We could hover in place and enjoy the view. My short description would be like being in a large salt water aquarium. This is exactly how I felt, no kidding!
We had our beach spot at the Mayan Princess Resort. West Bay beach is maybe a kilometer in length so all food and entertainment is easily accessed. We ate mostly at Beachers and the Argentinian Grill Restaurants with Beachers being a slight favorite. The Monday night special at Beachers is 3 large lobster tails with potatoes and veggies for $15.00us or 300 Limps(20-1 exchange rate). Enough for two. A BLT with french fries was $5.00. The Lobster and Shrimp salad at Argentinian Grill was very good and cost around $15.00. We made the mistake of exchanging U.S.dollars to Limps in the Houston,Texas airport which gave us an 18.5-1 rate. They said it would be less on the Roatan Island which was not true. As it turns out you would not even need to exchange your U.S. dollars as they are almost the preferred currency accepted everywhere we went. We also ate at Bite on the Beach which is a short walk to the north point of the beach.They were good as well and the view from their deck is very nice. For good pizza I would recommend(forgot the name) a short 2 min. walk from the walkway beside Bananarama up to a the small mall on the main street. Quality American ingredients. We avoided Bananarama on advice from people which is a restaurant/bar that looks dumpy. We also heard the food is 2nd rate. They had live music at Beachers Saturday nights. The band was called The West Bay Players. A tight trio with great rock covers. Yes we purchased their CD. They played until 11:30pm which is late here. Very quiet most nights on this beach after about 8pm but after most of our days spent sunning,swimming etc. we were ready to relax in our room. We also went up island to Frenchies 77 where you can take a short ferry ride over to a small island for dining(5 min ride). We chose to dine at their dock side area which was very nice. The food was good but pricier. For four with two appys, seven cocktails, two conch specials, one sea bass and one shrimp sandwich with a 15% tip came to about $150.00us. The drive, scenery and view were worth it.
The roads are pot holed and made for some dicey driving as on coming traffic will come over into your lane to avoid the holes.Yikes!
We felt relatively safe at this beach but were warned about walking at night in the West End which is a neat little village(beach street mallacon) about a 3 kilometer walk on the beach, south of West Bay Beach. We only visited here during the day for dining, shopping and site seeing. Lots of small shops restaurants and bars. I would describe the place as "seedy". Sorry for that. The beach walk to West End is beautiful but dangerous as two couples were robbed in broad daylight on this walk during our time on the island. They hide in the bush and come on to you from behind to quickly grab your bag or purse. We heard of no injuries but very traumatic to be sure. So a word of caution would be to take a water taxi($2.50 each), street taxi which are white cars with numbers on their doors($10.00us) or to not carry any bags or purses if walking this beach to the West End and don't go at night.
We did eat three times at The Lobster Pot restaurant which was our main reason for coming to the West End. A short walk north down the beach from the West End center or a 10 min. water taxi ride ($2.50us each) from West Bay Beach. Some people we met suggested we try their Lobster Omelette. Simply delicious. I have never had a breakfast so good! We returned to The Lobster Pot for the next two days for lunch. The Shrimp and Snapper appy platter was excellent.The lunch Lobster,Shrimp and Snapper plate was superb and the lime pie...mmm. Thank-you to Maudie and her girls for that! Probably the best food on the Island. A little out of the way but worth every morsel.
Now for the few exceptions to our near perfect trip. We hired a boat to go fishing for a morning. He parks on the dock where the Glass Bottom boat parks at the south end of West Bay Beach. I think they are all part of the same company which owns this dock. We agreed on a price.We fished(didn't catch anything) and returned. They demanded a higher price than what we originally agreed on. We reluctantly paid and chalked this up to another travel lesson. So don't hire any water taxis, fishing boats or the Glass Bottomed Boat from this dock! The mosquitoes and sand fleas are annoying so do not go out without spraying especially at dusk.
The question you ask is "Would you go back?" and my answer would be..."YES"
Safe Travels!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The snorkeling right off the beach, the lava cliffs, the black iguanas, and the choice of restaurants on the beach was amazing. It was also nice that the beach was not very crowded with either buildings or people in November. I've read it's bad when cruise ships are in port and then I would not want to be there, but in November it was perfect. The water is clean and beautiful. The beach is well maintained and it's a nice long walk from one end to the next. Not too many vendors or people bothering you for things either.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.