We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
33135731
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in West Bay
Type: Beaches
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction Details
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Sand is white and water crystal clear and calm. You do have beach vendors here and at times can be bothersome. We just say no thank you and they are on there way. You can walk for a fairly long time on this beach. I find certain times of the week are busier due to cruise ships coming which will ruin this beach eventually. I know I like a quiet beach myself. Nice to see.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    130
    34
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keosauqua, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach...great Snorkeling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

White sandy beach, the reef comes right into shore...bars and restaurants for drinks and snacks...a good afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selah, wa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“So crowded and sooo many peddlers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This beach is definently the tourist beach. And you have to pay for virtually everything. We got a $10 wristband when we came into the beach which supposedly gave you access to the particular resort's beach, use of thier restrooms, and either a beach chair or a free drink...not worth it, you can just walk onto the beach, lay out a towel and they cant do anything. Also they let anyone use the bathroom so we basically paid $10 for a beach chair. Also the peddlers and salespeople are just plain awful. They walk up and down the beach for hours so the same person will bug you every 5 minutes along with the 30 others. Most of them are children. Then when we tried to go snorkeling on the reef, securtiy guys on kayaks would blow a whistle at you saying the reef was only for excursion people and if you passed the invisible line, you would be removed from the beach. We walked down to the southern end of the beach which was much less crowded, not too many peddlers, and some snorkeling. If you stay along the rock cliff, theres alot of really pretty fish. There were some really big ones that wouldnt leave me (or my camera) alone which was cool. But honestly, im sure theres some better beaches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise,AZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful sand and water, plenty of places to eat, good snorkeling too. Water taxis are plentiful to take a ride to West End.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caslano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Penelope's Island Emporium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Penelope's Island Emporium is a professionally managed and attractively arranged store for jeweleries. Ms Penny Leigh displays a great deal of good taste and knowledge on the jewels she offers. There are many in every price range. She also actively supports artists on Roatán Island, among them a collector of plastic garbage on the beaches. After cleaning his finds, he weaves very colorful and original purses from these raw materials. You will not regret a visit of her store.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.