We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Visit West Bay Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in West Bay
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay is what many consider the picture-perfect Caribbean destination: white sand, clear, calm waters and full service resorts. The variety of water activities include scuba diving, fishing charters, snorkeling and parasailing. Scuba diving and other outfitters leave directly from the beach so starting your water-based activities is easy and convenient.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Sand is white and water crystal clear and calm. You do have beach vendors here and at times can be bothersome. We just say no thank you and they are on there way. You can walk for a fairly long time on this beach. I find certain times of the week are busier due to cruise ships coming which will ruin this beach eventually. I know I like a quiet beach myself. Nice to see.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    208
    59
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keosauqua, Iowa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach...great Snorkeling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

White sandy beach, the reef comes right into shore...bars and restaurants for drinks and snacks...a good afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selah, wa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“So crowded and sooo many peddlers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This beach is definently the tourist beach. And you have to pay for virtually everything. We got a $10 wristband when we came into the beach which supposedly gave you access to the particular resort's beach, use of thier restrooms, and either a beach chair or a free drink...not worth it, you can just walk onto the beach, lay out a towel and they cant do anything. Also they let anyone use the bathroom so we basically paid $10 for a beach chair. Also the peddlers and salespeople are just plain awful. They walk up and down the beach for hours so the same person will bug you every 5 minutes along with the 30 others. Most of them are children. Then when we tried to go snorkeling on the reef, securtiy guys on kayaks would blow a whistle at you saying the reef was only for excursion people and if you passed the invisible line, you would be removed from the beach. We walked down to the southern end of the beach which was much less crowded, not too many peddlers, and some snorkeling. If you stay along the rock cliff, theres alot of really pretty fish. There were some really big ones that wouldnt leave me (or my camera) alone which was cool. But honestly, im sure theres some better beaches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise,AZ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful sand and water, plenty of places to eat, good snorkeling too. Water taxis are plentiful to take a ride to West End.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caslano, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Penelope's Island Emporium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Penelope's Island Emporium is a professionally managed and attractively arranged store for jeweleries. Ms Penny Leigh displays a great deal of good taste and knowledge on the jewels she offers. There are many in every price range. She also actively supports artists on Roatán Island, among them a collector of plastic garbage on the beaches. After cleaning his finds, he weaves very colorful and original purses from these raw materials. You will not regret a visit of her store.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.