We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach...great Snorkeling!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
33135731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Roatan Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in West Bay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction details
Keosauqua, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach...great Snorkeling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

White sandy beach, the reef comes right into shore...bars and restaurants for drinks and snacks...a good afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    140
    34
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
selah, wa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“So crowded and sooo many peddlers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This beach is definently the tourist beach. And you have to pay for virtually everything. We got a $10 wristband when we came into the beach which supposedly gave you access to the particular resort's beach, use of thier restrooms, and either a beach chair or a free drink...not worth it, you can just walk onto the beach, lay out a towel and they cant do anything. Also they let anyone use the bathroom so we basically paid $10 for a beach chair. Also the peddlers and salespeople are just plain awful. They walk up and down the beach for hours so the same person will bug you every 5 minutes along with the 30 others. Most of them are children. Then when we tried to go snorkeling on the reef, securtiy guys on kayaks would blow a whistle at you saying the reef was only for excursion people and if you passed the invisible line, you would be removed from the beach. We walked down to the southern end of the beach which was much less crowded, not too many peddlers, and some snorkeling. If you stay along the rock cliff, theres alot of really pretty fish. There were some really big ones that wouldnt leave me (or my camera) alone which was cool. But honestly, im sure theres some better beaches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise,AZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful sand and water, plenty of places to eat, good snorkeling too. Water taxis are plentiful to take a ride to West End.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caslano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Penelope's Island Emporium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Penelope's Island Emporium is a professionally managed and attractively arranged store for jeweleries. Ms Penny Leigh displays a great deal of good taste and knowledge on the jewels she offers. There are many in every price range. She also actively supports artists on Roatán Island, among them a collector of plastic garbage on the beaches. After cleaning his finds, he weaves very colorful and original purses from these raw materials. You will not regret a visit of her store.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice beach but very busy and commercialized with a lot of street vendors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This beach is beautiful and nice to visit but I definitely would not want to stay at one of the many resorts located on the beach. There are street vendors, bars and restaurants lining the entire beach which is fun, but there would be little or no quiet time to enjoy the scenery. Unfortunately the weather was not great so we did not get to experience the snorkeling, but we did hear that the snorkeling was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.