We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
West Bay Beach Round-Trip Transportation from Roatan
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in West Bay
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay is what many consider the picture-perfect Caribbean destination: white sand, clear, calm waters and full service resorts. The variety of water activities include scuba diving, fishing charters, snorkeling and parasailing. Scuba diving and other outfitters leave directly from the beach so starting your water-based activities is easy and convenient.
Kenner, La.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This has to be one of the best beach areas I have ever seen. There are a fair amount of hotels/ resorts on the beach with numerous restaurants and watering holes. There are also scuba diving / para sailing / and glass bottom boats along this stretch of beach. Very nice place to relax and spend some time. Another must see on my list!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    232
    66
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,001 reviews
529 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,712 helpful votes
“so great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

it's such a picturesque place. we spent days only sunbathing and swimming in that marvellous sea that looked like a swimming pool.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My son and I went on a cruise for Christmas and we hired a private driver once we docked in Roatan, Honduras. He took us everywhere and this was one of places he took us to. It's a very beautiful place and I promise you will like it no matter what one likes to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, amazing snorkeling yet very touristy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved the snorkeling especially at the far left end of the beach by the big rock. It is also the best beach of the resort with the prettiest sands. I toured entire island and confirmed this fact and also stayed on the other end. Only major drawback is it is VERY TOURISTY and feels like being in Cancun. If you don't mind the party scene and masses of tourists, then it is a great place to stay. But I wouldn't want to spend it here for a romantic couples getaway. Go somewhere more secluded like the Barefoot Cay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Easy snorkeling. Great people-watching.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I were a couple of the cruise-people other reviewers have been complaining about. We took a day-trip to Mayan Princess All Inclusive. Seems like a very nice place. The buffet meal they served was tasty, the bar service was fast, and there were waitstaff that came to the beach to take orders.
The beach had quite a few chairs on it, some in reserved areas, but we never felt the beach was crowded. The population was far less dense than a weekend at Miami Beach, Waikiki, or Huntington Beach. The vendors took a polite "no" for an answer and moved on. We were not bothered.
The water was clear while we were snorkeling, and the reef was easy to swim or walk out to. All the beach areas we walked to were well-maintained, and clean.
The drive from the airport was not untypical of an island in the caribbean. We expect to see people living differently than we do when we travel. If we wanted wide, smooth highways through subdivisions with a fast-food restaurant on every corner, then we would stay home.
We would consider a more extended vacation on Roatan, maybe on West Bay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.