We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 19 attractions in West Bay
Type: Beaches
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction Details
Kenner, La.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BEST BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This has to be one of the best beach areas I have ever seen. There are a fair amount of hotels/ resorts on the beach with numerous restaurants and watering holes. There are also scuba diving / para sailing / and glass bottom boats along this stretch of beach. Very nice place to relax and spend some time. Another must see on my list!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    112
    33
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
303 attraction reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
1,400 helpful votes 1,400 helpful votes
“so great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

it's such a picturesque place. we spent days only sunbathing and swimming in that marvellous sea that looked like a swimming pool.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My son and I went on a cruise for Christmas and we hired a private driver once we docked in Roatan, Honduras. He took us everywhere and this was one of places he took us to. It's a very beautiful place and I promise you will like it no matter what one likes to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, amazing snorkeling yet very touristy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved the snorkeling especially at the far left end of the beach by the big rock. It is also the best beach of the resort with the prettiest sands. I toured entire island and confirmed this fact and also stayed on the other end. Only major drawback is it is VERY TOURISTY and feels like being in Cancun. If you don't mind the party scene and masses of tourists, then it is a great place to stay. But I wouldn't want to spend it here for a romantic couples getaway. Go somewhere more secluded like the Barefoot Cay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Easy snorkeling. Great people-watching.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I were a couple of the cruise-people other reviewers have been complaining about. We took a day-trip to Mayan Princess All Inclusive. Seems like a very nice place. The buffet meal they served was tasty, the bar service was fast, and there were waitstaff that came to the beach to take orders.
The beach had quite a few chairs on it, some in reserved areas, but we never felt the beach was crowded. The population was far less dense than a weekend at Miami Beach, Waikiki, or Huntington Beach. The vendors took a polite "no" for an answer and moved on. We were not bothered.
The water was clear while we were snorkeling, and the reef was easy to swim or walk out to. All the beach areas we walked to were well-maintained, and clean.
The drive from the airport was not untypical of an island in the caribbean. We expect to see people living differently than we do when we travel. If we wanted wide, smooth highways through subdivisions with a fast-food restaurant on every corner, then we would stay home.
We would consider a more extended vacation on Roatan, maybe on West Bay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Bay Beach to your Saves list