We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you are looking for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach

West Bay Beach
West Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
West Bay Beach Round-Trip Transportation from Roatan
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in West Bay
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Bay is what many consider the picture-perfect Caribbean destination: white sand, clear, calm waters and full service resorts. The variety of water activities include scuba diving, fishing charters, snorkeling and parasailing. Scuba diving and other outfitters leave directly from the beach so starting your water-based activities is easy and convenient.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

West Bay beach is by far the most beautifully groomed beach we have found on the island. However, it is also packed with high end resorts. It is a wonderful place to be if you are looking for the resort feel with tons of restaurants and bars. If you are looking for a more non-commercialized original Honduran feel it may not be the place for you. Out of a week, we only spent a couple hours here. Nevertheless, still a very nice place to be.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    232
    66
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great beach, you can walk from one end to the other and see lots of hotels and restaurants and everyday life.
Snorkelling is very good at the south end where the rocks are.
Water Taxis are available at two piers to take you to West End, a small town with tourist shops.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My new computer screen saver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We got off the cruise ship and grabbed a cab for West Bay Beach. It is a great off the beaten track place. The water was wonderful. The scene was great - I use a picture I took that day as my screen saver. My wife and daughter got a massage on the beach from a local woman. The only caution I give it that it is remote. Our cabbie stayed with us the entire day for a nominal fee. We took our own food and beverages. There is some shopping and food, but it's minimal. If you are looking for a quiet day on a beautiful beach, this it the place!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Too many vendors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Though we were there on a non-cruise-ship day, you could imagine how annoying it would be with the crowds and all the vendors (tshirts, jewelry, massages, etc). I can enjoy the water without the beach and this felt incredibly touristy. I'm glad to have seen it, but it was not worth the visit from Sandy Bay.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the nicest beach i have ever been to.We were lucky too...when we went it was so uncrowded.I fell in love with this beach!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bay Beach also viewed

 

Been to West Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.