We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing roatan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Pearl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Pearl
Save
You added Island Pearl to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“relaxing roatan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Island pearl is in a great location on a very nice beach. There is a lovely courtyard surrounded by the accommodations which is really great when the beach gets crowded by cruise ship people. We stayed in units 29 and 26. The owners villa (29) is really spacious and comfortable. Only negative was a cabbage smell which seemed to be coming from the restaurant below. Never had any problems with noise.

Do be advised that Roatan's infrastructure is non existent! Roads were awful and electricity went out several times although the resorts generator always kicked in after several minutes.

Never felt unsafe or uncomfortable will on the Island. Diving was awesome.

Room Tip: I think the best location would be the beach front villa farthest from Bananarama. I think it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your time to write such a great detailed review. I am not aware of any cabbage or sourkraut that is being made at the Vintage Pearl, but I will check into in and figure out what it is! Room 25 and 27 are the quietest of the 4 Villas. Unit number 29 is my favorite for my family when we are all the island together! Thank you again for your time and sharing your experience with us and others.
Sincerely
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from Banarama/Island Pearl. We stayed in villa #27 which is one of the beachfront houses. Not directly on the beach but we still had a good view of the beach on the porch. We were next to the Island Pearl restaurant but that was never a problem.

The whole time Denise and Bianca took great care of us. They explained all the restaurants, activities and features of the resort as well as arranged taxis as we needed. Checkout was a breeze.

The grounds were well kept - they ranked the sand a few times a day to keep the sand fleas at bay. That is the only problem are sand fleas and mosquitos which the resort obviously has no control over so be prepared for them. We brought Cactus Juice which worked well when used frequently.

We were a family of 4 and it worked perfectly. We took the queen bed upstairs in what felt like a loft and the kids had the two twin beds downstairs. The kitchen has everything you need to cook in and not have to go out. You can arrange s top at the grocery store on the way from the airport. There is a $10 charge - just make sure you remind the driver.

The activity center was very helpful in arranging activities when we were not diving and had full use of the chairs and kayaks. The beach was very clean and security kept the beach sales people to a minimum.

We are already planning to go back.

Room Tip: #27 was great - good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Island Pearl, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We have tried to keep Island Pearl as rustic as possible while increasing a number of our guests requests such as chilled water dispensers, quiet AC's and ceiling fans on the decks overlooking the ocean. The best part most guests enjoy is that all our Villas have a great beach view and are only steps away from the beach.

We do our very best to minimize the chance of sand flies or mosquitos by raking twice each day, spraying the property once per week and spraying rooms once per week or upon each check out. One trip outside of West Bay and most guests can tell the difference:)

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Island Pearl is a smaller, quieter part of Bananarama, that is authentic while still having modern conveniences of wireless service, purified water in your room and air conditioned rooms. Jeff and Robin made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and made everything from taking the kayaks out to pointing out the most beautiful spots to snorkel, so relaxing and EASY. Our room was amazing... very clean, spacious, amazing views (I highly recommend Villa #25), and the stunning ocean was our front yard. Hammocks, swings and chairs are everywhere, and the floating dock was a special treat.

When you read that breakfast is included, don't expect the typical bagels and muffins. We enjoyed a delicious Roatan breakfast (french toast, breakfast burritos, fresh fruit, etc...) each morning along with a daily chosen juice (my son's favorite part of breakfast). Prices for food and drinks were extremely fair and the options were amazing to us, given that the resort is more intimate rather than a big commercial resort. We could grab a pizza (made in a brick oven... yum!), eat at The Vintage Pearl (our favorite meal of the week) or just grab something off the menu and eat on our porch.

I LOVED the location! Beautiful coral and fish, yet still a swimmable gorgeous beach and sand part of the water. During cruise day, the resort roped off our part of the resort, so we could still get the privacy and peace we came for.

Our trip was to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and we couldn't have picked a better place. I am already checking the calendar to see when we can go back. The sooner the better! We almost stayed at the West End, and I'm truly glad we didn't. At Bananarama, you could participate in activities and have a lively atmosphere if you wanted, but you could also have much more privacy and peace and quiet than we would have gotten in West End.

Room Tip: We spent one night in the one room suite that is next to the restaurant, and loved it as well. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First trip to Roatan and we had much debate on where to stay based on all the TripAdvisor reviews. We ended up picking Island Pearl/Banarama, and couldnt have been more satisfied. It's right in the middle of the best beach, and has the best bar scene on this island by far. We ate several meals there, and the food was always very good. Vintage Pearl is just as good as the reviews say. The staff were super friendly and always willing to help or lend advice. We booked a couple activities with the onsite activities center and had no issue, though probably paid a bit more for the convienience.

We stayed in the studio #28 and found it fine for just 2 people. Make no mistake, it is a small space as others have commented, so if you are the type that spends any amount of time inside your room, you may find this room a bit cramped. Really just a bed and a very, very large shower. Another table or shelf in the room would be a nice addition as there was no place to set anything down. We had no issue with noise inside the room, but there was noise outside on the porch primarily from hotel and restaurant staff who liked to hang out in the hallway between the room and the Vintage Pearl. If you like to sit out on the deck, dont expect much privacy. We really liked the other larger Island Pearl rooms and plan to stay in one of the others on our next trip with family.

While on Roatan, we looked at all the other places we had considered staying, and feel we definitley made the right choice by staying here and are already making plans to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Lima, Cortes, Honduras
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the studio apartment and it was perfect. We arraived early and even thought our check in was until 2:00pm they had our room ready and let us stay without paying extra. we really like our room. was perfect for our 5 day stay. just the 2 of us. Yes, the Vintage Pearl Restaurant is at the side... but other than smelling the delicious food they cook, we didnt have any problems with noise or anything else. The beach is just steps away... but the place is secluded enough to not feel overexposed. i will love to go back and yes will love to stay at the same room. The maid did an excellent job, clean and smelling wonderfull, she made us towels animals.. we are really happy with our stay overall... :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just got back from our second stay at Island Pearl. We stayed in number 29 right above the restaurant. It was just as wonderful as the last time. Marco and Marc in the dive shop are outstanding. If you want a chill vacation with amazing diving, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hico, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we stayed a week in the studio right next to the Vintage pearl resturant- it was the best, the Pearl is connected to the Bannarama resort and dive center, you can have drinks at the bar(thanks Alex and Tim) and a wonderful dinner at the pearl- Stephen raymond was a fabulous person and took really good care of us as dis Antonio and Victor with setting up beach chair and umbrellas daily so we could watch and giggle at the crazy cruise ship people trying to cram the "beach vibe" into a paltry 4 hours. We could not have picked a better place to stay even with a rainy friday afternoon, chess, pizza in our room and dinner at the Pearl! We also did a dive experience- bian was a fabulous instructor for a couple of old crusty souls who had lost their dive vibe! he had us back in the swing in no time. This is a casual laid back place, no shoes, no shirts no problem! Just our style!

Room Tip: studio at the Pearl, perfect for couples who love each other and like to shower together
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pearl

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
#5 Family Hotel in West Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little known wonder in the Caribbean, where you can bask in near perfect weather steps from the silken sand. With intimate villas and a spacious owners villa, Island Pearl provides a serenity undiscovered in Roatan. Canopied by swaying palms, the beauty and intrigue of an Island Pearl visit has always drawn guests who are looking for something more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Pearl West Bay
Island Pearl Hotel West Bay
Island Pearl Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.