We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Thursdsy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's West Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Foster's West Bay to your Saves list
Foster's West Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lobster Thursdsy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There are a number of Lobster dinner specials offered by various Roatan restaurants throughout the week. It was Thursday, and Foster's has their version; two tails plus two sides for less then $14. Also, as a bonus, The Kultur Band was entertaining.

The sun was setting at beautiful West Bay, as two PERFECTLY cooked lobster tails were presented accompanied by the suggested choice of plantains and rice along with a small stainless steel container of herbed melted butter and a squeezable slice of lemon. As I was in a banana mood, a banana colada stood cold, and tall next to my well portioned entree.

The lobster was firm, flavorful and tender, and these comments are coming from a guy who grew up where fresh cold water U.S. Maine lobster could be found just around the corner.

My suggestion, don't pass up this opportunity. The serving staff is attentive, the tunes added significantly to the ambience, and as I departed, the manager thanked me for coming. Nice to fell welcome.



Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    21
    25
    28
See reviews for
46
107
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Fosters is a good hotel located in the best beach in Roatan. We stayed on the Beachfront Cabana, the room has the basic ammenities for the price, cable tv, ac, microwave and refrigerator. The only "problem" is that they have a little pond (riito) with dirty water and a lot lot lot of mosquitos, you will be eaten alive so we recommend have repellent. There is a bar called boho that is really good (2$ beer). Regarding the food, it is good but not the best option. Another important situation is the access to the hotel, it is not in good condition. Overall it is a good hotel for the price.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We first visited Foster's West Bay while on a cruise ship in February. We immediately fell in love with the place and vowed to return. While we were there we relaxed on the beautiful white sand beach, swam in the crystal clear Caribbean water, and were given a tour of one of the cabanas at Foster's, Sky cabana #4. After returning home, we decided to book that beautiful cabana for one week in June, and returned to this unspoiled paradise on June 11 for one week.
We have traveled to the Caribbean several times on cruise ships and we are used to Hilton Hotels, and all inclusive resorts, so a trip to Foster's was a little bit out of the ordinary for us. We quickly learned that Foster's is the Caribbean, the way it was meant to be enjoyed: a step back in time to a place where the natural beauty and charm of the area and more importantly the people take center stage.
Let's start with the main man himself, Mr. Foster. Foster is actually his first name but he is so respected by the locals, workers, and tourists, that everyone calls him Mister. This soft spoken man takes great pride in his business and his land, but takes even greater pride in making sure everyone who visits is treated with respect, and that their stay is unforgettable. You unofficially become a member of his family the minute you walk on to the grounds. When we left, he was not available but he called his son who was driving us to the airport to be sure he said goodbye.
Foster's son Gerrilee provided the transportation to and from the airport. He took us to a local grocery store when we arrived to get anything we might need for our cabana . He is a wealth of information about the island of Roatan, and will gladly show you around that beautiful paradise. He has great pride in his home, and is excited about the future of the Island in which he will undoubtedly play a major role.
Samuel provides security for the resort and the grounds and does a wonderful job. There was never a time when we were afraid to leave our belongings on our beach chairs and go for a walk or a swim because Samuel was on duty. He also is instrumental in getting anything you might need. We had met him on our first visit and were so glad to see him again.
Daniel is the resident snorkeling expert as well as another helpful do everything person. He will gladly set up snorkeling trips or rent you the equipment you need for snorkeling from the beach.
Leslie runs the restaurant and also took care of our reservation. She and her husband Marty quickly became like lifelong friends, and her lobster tails, shrimp and steak kabobs, and all of her food is unbelievably delicious, and a great value. We also had lunch and breakfast there on a few occasions, and were never disappointed. While we cannot name all of her staff individually, we always had great service and we were always greeted with a smile. All of the bartenders, waitresses, and waiters were great. Being from Cleveland we had a great time watching the Cavaliers playoff games with Leslie, Marty and the staff. We even had a fun filled rivalry with Billy, a local who works nearby and cheered for our opponent. He was a friendly and wonderful guy, and we had fun.
Jackie kept our cabana sparkling clean, making sure we had plenty of towels and all of our needs were met. We always looked forward to returning to our room after she was done to see what towel animal she left there to greet us. Her beautiful smile was infectious and brightened our day.
The girls in the main office worked behind the seen but where available to answer any questions and provide printing and other computer services if needed.
Harris, is a do everything young man who we loved sitting with at the restaurant when he would get off work. He was eager to help us with our luggage, and tend to our every need. He was a good friend and we are thrilled to be staying in touch with him on Facebook.
Also on the property is the Boho Beach Club run by Sylvia, a transplanted Canadian who has made Roatan her home. Her breakfasts were excellent and the short ribs we had there for dinner were outstanding. Her cocktails are cold, delicious, and welcoming on a hot Roatan day, and we could just sit and chat with her for hours, and sometimes did.
As we said earlier, we stayed in sky cabana #4. The gorgeous cabana sits on concrete pillars and overlooks the ocean. Sitting on the front balcony you are literally right in the trees. The king bed is extremely comfortable, and the cabana includes a small refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster oven, microwave, large water cooler, and television. The bathroom is spacious, with a walk in shower. There is plenty of closet and drawer space, and there is a ceiling fan above the bed and on the balcony. The air conditioning works great.
If we can give any tips to future vacationers, pack light, bring flash lights for walking the beach at night, leave your cares behind, and let Foster's West Bay do rest. When you see Mr. Foster, tell him we said hello, and we will definitely see him again........soon.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The locations is unbeatable, and the service very good. The rooms are comfortable and the staff was helpful. The views from the rooms are great! This is definitely a good place to stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayIslandsAdventures, Propietario at Foster's West Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2015
Dear crstudy,

Thank you very much for choosing Fosters, West Bay. We appreciate your good rating and look forward to welcoming you back in paradise, it was a pleasure to have you.

Yours truly,
Foster Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

This place is not a fancy hotel but it has great deal of rustic charm. The rate was very reasonable and we were almost right on the beach. We food was pretty good but ther are many places to choose from right on west bay beach!! We found Fosters to be comfortable, laid back and relaxing!!!! It was a great get away!!

Room Tip: the ones up front are the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayIslandsAdventures, Propietario at Foster's West Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2015
Dear Jackson m,

Thankl you for taking the time to post your review. we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours truly,
Foster Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Ouyr experience was a wonderful one. Everyone was helpful and kind to us. we throughly enjoyed our visit to West Bay Hole. That will be a wonderful place to visit wheen completed. My grandson who loves sea animal life feel he has had the ball of his life and wants more.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

My family had dinner at Foster's last week. Our service was excellent. Our waiter couldn't have been any better. All of our meals were good and exactly what we expected. Good cocktails too. Can't beat the location right on the beach at West End.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#12 of 13 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foster's West Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's West Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.