We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foster's West Bay Roatan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's West Bay

Save Saved
You added Foster's West Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster's West Bay
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
GP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Foster's West Bay Roatan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Foster's in Roatan for the first 10 days of Feb 2013. Here are the issues we had with Foster's:
1. Airport pick up did not happen and we had to find and pay for our own way to Foster's even though they promised pick up and we had paid for it before our arrival.

2. Lady checking us in did not know what we had and had not paid for so did not want to reimburse us for our airport transfer upon our arrival. It took us 5 days of constantly asking for the refund before we finally got it from Foster himself.

3. We had a hole in our outside door to our suite that was large and so mosquitoes could get in and we asked for it to be fixed as we were being let in to our room at check in. This too took 5 days to repair. In the mean time we had to keep stuffing papers into the hole to make sure the bugs were kept out. It did get fixed but not until 5 days into our 10 day stay.

4. Light bulbs were out and needed to be replaced. They did replace some but they did not replace them all so the bathroom was a bit dark.

5. Foster charges the local vendors who sell nic nacs $20 per day no matter what the tourist season is (high or low). This means that they must sell for example a minimum of 7 t-shirts just to cover the cost of the space they set up their tiny stalls on on his stretch of the beach. They start 8 a.m. and go to around 6 p.m. each day 7 days a week. They provide their own booth and even when there are no tourists around they still have to pay regardless if they sell anything. The same is true for the dive shop that is associated with Foster's resort. There is no high or low season and the commission he charges means that no matter what they must pay. He runs the resort and has high and low season rates so we are not sure why he does not do this with the vendors or dive shop. He owns a lot of land on the island and is a big developer and is out for number one. He does not seem to have any sense of community for the local island people who must try and eek out a living selling "souveniers" on the beach. We have found that if you stay with people who are community minded that all people benefit in the end and the place is a nicer one to stay as a whole. So if you are thinking of staying at Foster's and do not mind that he is taking advantage of other people then this might be the place for you to stay.

6. We were also very concerned that whenever Foster met us he was asking us not to make any comments that were negative regarding his resort. He was very worried that we would write something that did not reflect 100% positive in his favor. We have never been to a place before where that was ever a concern. If there are things that need improving then they should be noted. If there are positive things that too should be noted. The place was clean, quiet, morning and lunch serving staff at the restaurant were wonderful, food was very good, the beach and dive shop were very convenient and we did enjoy our stay overall at Foster's. We just wanted people to know that all was not perfect but when are things ever perfect. We wanted people to know that Foster's is getting a bit run down and that it does require some TLC which if it does not happen soon will mean that if you stay at Foster's you will be staying in a fairly run down place when you could stay at others that are not for the same price or less.

Over all Foster's was fine, convenient but Foster's concern for only positive reviews makes us think that he knows that things are not running the way they should be.

7. Take lots and lots of bug spray as the sand flies are terrible!!!! We knew about this before we went and were glad we had brought lots of spray with us but by the end of a week we had to buy more. If you do not constantly reapply they will eat you alive! They love the salt so going into the water to enjoy it means that when you come out you better run for the shower and/or spray yourself with the bug spay so you do not end up looking like you have a bad case of the measles which we saw a fair number of people had.

8. Would we go back? Not to Foster's because of his business practices with the locals and the fact that we were not picked up as promised and had to keep asking for our refund. The resort is o.k. but we did find other places that were equally as nice and did have more ethical business practices and worked more to help all people in the community.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor suite as then you have no noise from your partners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    69
    18
    19
    24
See reviews for
33
94
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We thought that finishing our 3 1/2 weeks on Roatan in a treehouse on the beach would be cool. When we saw it we changed our minds. Foster's is indeed located on a beautiful beach with crystal clear water, the treehouse is not. The treehouse is on a traffic circle in the parking lot. Add to this the construction that was going on, we decided to cancel. Even though we cancelled 3 weeks before our stay we did not get all of our deposit back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friends and I came in on a cruise ship and picked Foster's as the place to spend the day. We had an amazing time, totally laid back. The service was very good and the food was delicious. What a beautiful beah!. I like it so much that I am consdiering going back to Roatan and staying there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Loved the rustic flavor of the cabins, but on Tuesday, wednesday & Thursday they sell out to profit from Cruisers. We had no pre reserved chairs or space & got NO respect from the passengers who just took over the beach like it was a public beach. We had to go to another resort to get chairs or space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Foster's is a jewel if you are looking for the perfect location on West Bay Beach!

If you are looking for a fancy schmancy resort this is not for you. Some things like furniture and fixtures are a bit dated, but boy, the location sure makes up for this big time.

We stayed in one of the cabanas directly on the beach. A million-dollar view right from you deck! Falling asleep with the sound of gentle waves is priceless. Because Foster's is at the east end of West Bay Beach, it's not crowded at all, in fact we even had the beach to ourselves sometimes.

Occasionally cruise ship travelers come to Foster's for a beach chair and lunch. They arrive by 10:00 am ish and a gone by 3 pm ish or earlier.

Ground keepers are up by the crack of dawn to keep the beach and property clean. Rooms are cleaned every day - no complains. Mr. Foster gives you a warm welcome and he is very approachable with any issues or just to chat.

The restaurant is very good as well. The hot chicken wings are the best I have ever had. They have great specials on every day of the week. Very reasonably priced and tasty. Pay in Lempira at the restaurant you get a bit better deal. The bill shows both US$ and Lempira amounts.

Mattresses and pillows are top-notch. We slept very well. Warm water takes a while to get to your bathroom, since it is coming from a tank in the back of the property. But it is sun heated and plenty full.

The property is full of trees, very green and a natural, park like setting. Plenty of birds and bats (at night) around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the treehouse at Fosters from feb 22-march 2. The treehouse, while a bit overpriced ($50ish is a lot for backpackers on a budget), is really awesome. The treehouse sways with the wind, but is very sturdy. We were there for a couple of stormy days when the wind really picked up. There is a deck up top with an amazing view, and a lower deck in the mango tree branches with a hammock for relaxing. The shower is on the porch, so be prepared to hang a couple towels to create some privacy. A big plus is the purified water cooler in the room. There is a coffee maker and a small fridge/freezer as well. If the treehouse only had a small 1or 2 burner electric hot plate it would have been perfect, as dinner in west bay (priced in dollars, more for cruise shippers & resorters than backpackers) is a bit pricy for Central America.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived at this place because it was the only one that had room for us, If I were to know I would have chosen some other place. The owners are some kind of uninterested for the people that stay at there hotel, very serious and not offering solutions for the people that arrive at there hotel. We were moved from one room to another in our two night stay because of availability but I couldn't find this hotel in any booking site in order to get to know it before arriving to the islands. The rooms have all the accommodations, but the first night we were in a room with no air conditioning, It was brooken and it was a awful night with the heat of the shore, make sure that your AC works when arriving at Foster's. They didn't show us around the hotel in order to get to know the bathrooms, the showers o local attractions, that was missing and necessary. One sunday afternoon a "DJ" was trying to mix some music but he keept playing the same songs over and over all afternoon long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's West Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.