We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken over by cruise passengers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's West Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Foster's West Bay to your Saves list
Foster's West Bay
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Bay
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Taken over by cruise passengers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Loved the rustic flavor of the cabins, but on Tuesday, wednesday & Thursday they sell out to profit from Cruisers. We had no pre reserved chairs or space & got NO respect from the passengers who just took over the beach like it was a public beach. We had to go to another resort to get chairs or space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    69
    19
    19
    24
See reviews for
33
94
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Foster's is a jewel if you are looking for the perfect location on West Bay Beach!

If you are looking for a fancy schmancy resort this is not for you. Some things like furniture and fixtures are a bit dated, but boy, the location sure makes up for this big time.

We stayed in one of the cabanas directly on the beach. A million-dollar view right from you deck! Falling asleep with the sound of gentle waves is priceless. Because Foster's is at the east end of West Bay Beach, it's not crowded at all, in fact we even had the beach to ourselves sometimes.

Occasionally cruise ship travelers come to Foster's for a beach chair and lunch. They arrive by 10:00 am ish and a gone by 3 pm ish or earlier.

Ground keepers are up by the crack of dawn to keep the beach and property clean. Rooms are cleaned every day - no complains. Mr. Foster gives you a warm welcome and he is very approachable with any issues or just to chat.

The restaurant is very good as well. The hot chicken wings are the best I have ever had. They have great specials on every day of the week. Very reasonably priced and tasty. Pay in Lempira at the restaurant you get a bit better deal. The bill shows both US$ and Lempira amounts.

Mattresses and pillows are top-notch. We slept very well. Warm water takes a while to get to your bathroom, since it is coming from a tank in the back of the property. But it is sun heated and plenty full.

The property is full of trees, very green and a natural, park like setting. Plenty of birds and bats (at night) around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the treehouse at Fosters from feb 22-march 2. The treehouse, while a bit overpriced ($50ish is a lot for backpackers on a budget), is really awesome. The treehouse sways with the wind, but is very sturdy. We were there for a couple of stormy days when the wind really picked up. There is a deck up top with an amazing view, and a lower deck in the mango tree branches with a hammock for relaxing. The shower is on the porch, so be prepared to hang a couple towels to create some privacy. A big plus is the purified water cooler in the room. There is a coffee maker and a small fridge/freezer as well. If the treehouse only had a small 1or 2 burner electric hot plate it would have been perfect, as dinner in west bay (priced in dollars, more for cruise shippers & resorters than backpackers) is a bit pricy for Central America.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived at this place because it was the only one that had room for us, If I were to know I would have chosen some other place. The owners are some kind of uninterested for the people that stay at there hotel, very serious and not offering solutions for the people that arrive at there hotel. We were moved from one room to another in our two night stay because of availability but I couldn't find this hotel in any booking site in order to get to know it before arriving to the islands. The rooms have all the accommodations, but the first night we were in a room with no air conditioning, It was brooken and it was a awful night with the heat of the shore, make sure that your AC works when arriving at Foster's. They didn't show us around the hotel in order to get to know the bathrooms, the showers o local attractions, that was missing and necessary. One sunday afternoon a "DJ" was trying to mix some music but he keept playing the same songs over and over all afternoon long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had some distorted views on TripAdvisor about staying at the Fosters West Bay cabana #1 turns out the women that sent the reviews just wanted a free upgrade. I have a bad back and had brought extra foam to put on our bed , been here 10 days and it’s still in the suitcase. If you are not form the 5th Ave.district in NYC and want first class service in a simple but quite atmosphere at the best price Fosters is for you. We have traveled all over the Latin American countries and we feel very safe and well taken care of here Mr. Foster will make sure you are doing well himself by stopping by to see if everything is fine. Stay at west Bay on Roatan you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review may be a bit out dated, happening 3 years ago, but I felt I needed to write it so others may understand the amazing feeling of waking up and looking out of the window to paradise!

We had been volunteering in Honduras for 2 weeks and decided to head to Roatan and relax in the crystal clear beaches. We were taken to Foster's by a keen taxi driver, and 4 of us got a cabin there.

This is not a high class hotel service- this is a home like cabin. It's quite basic, although it has a TV, and hopefully it also has a mosquito net now, as this was a problem before. But it felt rustic, and real- not made up and tarted! The shower worked, but the hot water was limited. Although after 40 degrees centigrade weather, the last think you want is a hot shower!

We woke up to what can only be described as paradise. Never have I seen anything like it befopre in my life. Palm trees surrounding you, with coconuts and mangoes hanging off the trees...and 20m in front of you is a white sand beach with crystal clear water...and then the second largest coral reef in the world in front of that. This was worth the money- it was incredible.

The owners are friendly and helped us out immensely. Overall, one of the greatest few days I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If they had newer more comfortable beds I would consider a 4th star for this place. The staff was great and helped us out with some logistical issues that required local expertise. The restaurant and bar was very good. No internet in the room but wifi was available in the office and restaurant. A/C worked. Cleanliness was a bit of a concern when we first inspected the room but on Caribbean standards it was close to par. We showed up with no reservation because we were stuck in Roatan for the night on the way to Guanaja. It was $80 total wich isn't too bad but did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#7 Family Hotel in West Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's West Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.