We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foster's Glorius West Bay... Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's West Bay

Save Saved
You added Foster's West Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster's West Bay
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in West Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Foster's Glorius West Bay... Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Foster's West Bay was an amazing find in Roatan. I valued the small quiet, peaceful, resort on the less cluttered section of the the prettiest beach on the island. Everything I needed to enjoy my stay was within a few steps. A full Restraunt, water taxi, snorkeling gear and the prettiest sunset EVER just a few steps from my room. Mr. Foster was born and raised on the island and built his resort so the man knew the history of the island and was always available to make sure I was having a great time. The staff took great care of me. A great change of pace from the big corporation hotels being operated further down the beach. I plan to stay there on all of my future trips as the price was right, the location was right and they took great care of me.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    18
    19
    24
See reviews for
32
90
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Myself and ten friends stayed at Fosters West Bay the first week of March of this year (2012). Two of us stayed for ten days, while the others stayed for shorter periods of time. I loved Roatan and especially Foster's West Bay Hotel. If you want to just relax, recharge your batteries, and forget the world at reasonable prices, this is the place for you. If you want a five star hotel with all the ameneties (and prices) stay somewhere else. If fact don't go to Roatan. Leave the place for those of us who enjoy our islands unspoiled. Mr. Foster, the owner, greeted us with open arms on our arrival and made our stay at his hotel a memorable one. We had a room on stilts which over looked the entire length of West Bay beach. I highly recommend this hotel for total relaxation and a great affordable vacation.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have to say- you really get more bang for your buck here! We went to Foster's on a Thursday night, where the special is 2 lobster tail dinner for $12.99! Although the lobster tails weren't the biggest, they were very tasty- and met local size requirements. Foster's provided live music, which added to the lively beach front atmosphere. They even had a rum and coke drink special- 2 for $4.....we should've went here for dinner more often than we did! The service, food, value and atmosphere were worth it- not to mention it was a nice walk along the beach! If you're going to go here- go on a Thursday night! You can't beat 2 lobster tails for $12.99 anywhere in the States!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Best part of our Honduras vacation was Roatan island. Also really enjoyed out stay at Fosters Cabanas. We like the more laid back, rustic island feel of the property. Our cabana had a a great deck overlooking the beach and my husband and I argued about hammock time, till we decided just to share it! Very romantic. We went diving with their dive shop, who were great, and also the snorkeling is really good, especially if you walk down the beach just a bit where the reef is just a bit closer. Fosters restaurant has great food and great drink pricing and the sunset views are fantastic. Just one word of advice is to not bring any traveler checks as no one on the island wants to accept them for some reason, but credit cards and cash worked out fine for us. We rented a car one day from the office and drove all around the island which can be pretty much done in a day and easy to get around. Afterwards. we felt we stayed at the best place on the island. Very island friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at Fosters West Bay with some friends and had the vacation of a lifetime. Our group was several couples and a family and the accommodations were perfect. My husband and I stayed in the Sky Cabana #3, and our other couple friends stayed in the two Deluxe Duplex Cabanas. These all were very nice, very clean, king bed, and each had a small eating area inside with larger refrigerator and microwave. Our cabana had a large front deck with hammock, wonderful, wonderful views, and there was also a second observation deck. The other family group stayed in the larger 3 bedroom, which is also beachfront and perfect for families. We had excellent maid service, no complaints. The rooms were very clean and if we ever needed anything, we just asked Vicky or Gladys and they were very helpful. The beach at Fosters is amazing, white, white sand , blue, blue water and the snorkeling is right off shore. They have a great little restaurant and bar with specials daily and very good prices. We ended up eating there at least one meal every day and never missed their 2 for 1 happy hours! Check out their lobster special on thursday for $12.00 A lot of fun! Foster is sweet and wants to adopt everyone and very accommodating. He has one of several docks off West Bay beach where you can always get a water taxi to West End, which is busier at night with more bars and some other restaurants, however, we just loved the peace and beauty of West Bay. You can safely walk the beach at night and there were several nights we all swam under the stars and the moon. Fosters was lots of fun, relaxing and just a great place to feel very comfortable. We cannot wait until we can come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalispell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Several things going for this hotel-location, our room had a comfortable bed, small 2 burner stove, coffee maker, sink, refrigerator

Needs improvement-Our room needs a thorough cleaning, shower disgusting, I am tall-on top of the shower was hundreds of mouse droppings, large spider webs, bed sheets do not get changed. If we are going to pay US rates, we expect US cleanliness-bottom line. Manager looking for every cent she can squeeze out of you.
Would not recommend staying here. Will not return to Roatan-Many places in the world with great beaches, much better prices. We stayed in Utila for 7 nights Mango Inn-dove with UDC-highly recommend them

Room Tip: Don't stay at Fosters
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My Wife and I ate here and took advantage of their 2 for 1 lobster dinner special. This particular night they had 2 for 1 deals and live music the Kultura band. Music was great and the food was just the same. They do have a variety of seating options a little tucked back from the ocean front. We chose to sit and the swing set tables which were closest to the band. The service was great and the Monkey La Las were too. We both had 2 lobster tails, rice and beans and plantains for only $12. Keep an eye out for these specials and don't pass it up. I think we ate there on a Saturday night and I know the specials do change a bit. This restaurant is down toward the end of the west bay area near the Foster's rentals. It is typically quiieter down there and if you are staying at the other end the walk is safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's West Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.