We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fosters not so great!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's West Bay

Save Saved
You added Foster's West Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster's West Bay
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in West Bay
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fosters not so great!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and i spent 7 nights here and for $600 US couldn't expect a lot but, still feel we were over charged since it was the low season. At the very least expecting the sheets to be clean is not asking for much. There were a lot of hairs from the previous guests in the bed, on pillows and in the shower. The shower curtain smelled really bad and had mold as well as the shower it self. The room had a kitchenette in which only one burner worked properly and the fridge was not cold. Everyday housekeeping will enter your room to just make the bed (not change it) and change out towels but not to clean. So we asked them not to enter as we had valuables and there was no safe in the room but, they entered anyway. Don't see the need of changing towels everyday....we don't even do that at home. The day after we checked in the receptionist asked what time we were checking out because they had guests checking in on that day....that made us feel welcome. The internet only worked one day out of the seven. We chose to stay in West Bay because we were told it was a lot more relaxing than West End but, on local holidays and weekends the hotel allows the locals to use their grounds for celebrating. So, if you plan on peace and quite you wont find it here. We do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible choose a cabana type room so you don't hear everything your neighbor is doing and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    18
    19
    24
See reviews for
32
90
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived at Roatan on a Saturday during the "Semana Santa" without any reservations.
Someone took us to Foster's and it was great. The people are friendly, the beach is out of this world! the pricing was just right... and from there you can find your way to visit other beautiful sites like Anthony's key and have a dolphin encounter, and of course my favorite one.... Cayos Cochinos... the rooms are clean and secure.
Thank you Mr. Foster for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked a bungalow on the beach at Foster's West Bay after looking at the online pictures and comparing it with other locations. I had read mixed reviews about the resort, some not very good, but decided that the price and location were what we were looking for. We were in bungalow 1, and although we couldn't have asked for a better location, the accomodations and service at the hotel were awful. When we arrived, a window in our bungalow had been left open and it was filled with mosquitoes. Their was a broken window in the bathroom and so much open space around the air conditioner for bugs to get in, we tried to patch it up with toilet paper. The curtains were so sheer that people on the outside could see through them at night, and we had to turn on the closet light and close the door so we wouldn't feel like we were on display. I am not a picky person about accomodations and my general feeling is that as long as they are comfortable and clean, I am happy, since we usually only use the room for sleeping, however, the room did not look clean (it needed A LOT of cosmetic updates!), the bed was so hard I had back pain every morning and the pillows were so lumpy it was like sleeping on a bag of soft balls. What was described on the website as a "Kithchenette" was a some random silverware tossed in a desk drawer and a few plates and cups stacked on a desk, along with a coffee maker. Their was a microwave stacked on top of the refrigerataor.
We paid $25 for WIFI access on the first day and were unable to use it for the first 3 days. When we asked for our money back, they gave us a hard time and reluctantly refunded it. We then discovered that we could go to numerous other bars and hotels down the beach and a nearby deli and use their FREE WIFI!! When we scheduled our return trip to the airport at the office the night before our flight, not only were we told it would cost uf $25 for the return trip, but when we came back in the morning to leave, we were told that they had forgot to schedule it for us. After waiting 45 minutes in the restaurant, we were finally going to call a taxi, but luckily were offered a ride to the airport by another hotel guest with a car.
The second day we were there, we toured the island with a realor, and picked some groceries. We left one of the bags in the back of his car when he dropped us off. He returned the bag to the hotel office for us the following day, but no one ever gave us the bag of groceries or let us know that he had returned them. We found this out when we got home and got the realtor's email that he had dropped the bag off for us.
In our confusion to find a way to the airport on the last day, we left 3 hammocks we had purchased as gifts for our children in the office by mistake. We called as soon as we got to the airport and again 2 times since we have been home, along with sending 4 emails over the past few days, and no one has gotten back to us about them. We have friends on the island who will pick them up and mail them to us, but we don't even know if they are still at the hotel. So we are out the hammocks and groceries which totalled about $100.
We absolutely LOVED the location of our bungalow and are already planning our return to Roatan (which was one of the best vacations I have ever had!), but I will NEVER stay at Foster's again! Spend the extra money and rent a house or stay at another resort along West Bay!!!

Room Tip: Great location but the bungalows are awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 310 cities Reviews in 310 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The furniture has seen better times and it is a bit mismatched. There was a time when our room must have been really nice. It is in front of the dive shop. All things considered it had a great location and was comfortable. Refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster. Lots of clean towels. Terrace with table in front of the beach. We spent 2 days in this side and 2 days in west end. Two different experiences. Their restaurant was really really bad, specially the local crab was absolutely uneatable. We went to the bananrama pizza place the next day. Much better! We had our driver Alex (ask the waiter at halfmoon bay restaurant for his phone # tripadvisor doesn't let me put it in) make a stop at the supermarket for some cold beer and munchies before getting there. You can walk to all the hotels and bars through the beach and there is a small grocery store but very expensive. There is snorkeling gear for rent at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was our first trip to Honduras. We arrived via cruise ship (NCL) and took a taxi here. I have 3 kids (ages 2-6). They loved this beach. They have their own security guard so I was able to relax more. The beach is beautiful. When our cruise ship arrived on the other side, it was so windy, they were having problems tendering everyone to shore. I was worried we would spend a windy day at the beach and the waters would be too rough for snorkeling. I was amazed when we arrived here and found no wind. I was able to snorkel (my first time). My 6 year old also tried snorkeling for the 1st time since the waters are so inviting. He even saw an eel! We had nachos for lunch/snack. They were very tasty. If I ever return to Honduras, I am coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Foster for few days. Rooms are nothing fancy, but I wasn't planning on spending much time in it except for sleeping at night. The location is great, literally few steps away from the beach. Service was very good too. I'd definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My family (wife, daughter and son-in-law, and 3 grandkids ages 2-6) spent a wonderful day at Foster's West Bay Resort on our cruise stop with NCL Spirit. Beautiful beach with decent snorkeling close to shore. Great for kids and families. Food from the restaurant will very good. Friendly and helpful staff. Great security on site.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Foster's West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's West Bay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal , West Bay, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in West Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Foster's West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foster`s West Bay Hotel West Bay
Fosters Hotel West Bay
Fosters Resort West Bay
Foster's West Bay Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's West Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.