We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just dont do it!!! go elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Oceanic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paradise Oceanic Hotel to your Saves list
Paradise Oceanic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just dont do it!!! go elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I travelled there for the week of Feb 21-28/13. The resort/hotel is not a 4-star-far cry from that destinction-SunWing's online profile should be updated to the correct information and amenities that are actually available. The resort does not have 5 restaurants, a spa, or a shop. The resort has one kitchen which supplies the different locations that you can get food--all at an additional cost $. They have a buffet-yes that is where you get to eat every single disgusting meal--breakie 0700-0900, lunch 1200-0200, dinner 1900-2100 only. You can have one a la carte meal but if you want to have the lobster at the Aqua Lounge bring $(even though they say it is included-lol) Oh and the a la carte areas are only available at 1900-2100hrs, make a reservation-if you want anything to eat outside of the buffet hours-bring $ and you can eat at the Cayuco Bar at the beach-oh yeah did I mention we had booked/payed for the all inclusive package?????!! There is no longer a Buffalo Steak House and if you are a wine drinker at your meal you are limited to two glasses???? what, I thought this was all inclusive. The people who work there are for the most part very friendly but they are held to what the general Manager deems fit. The rooms are clean but do lack the suitcase holder, no alarm clock /radio, no hairdryer, and they have no peep hole or security chain-makes it hard to check who is knocking at your door securely. The online SunWing profile also mentions that there is daily activties at the resort-nope-none. In the lobby of the hotel I picked up a small magazine, which lists the Paradise Oceanic that patrons would be able to partake of the La Mouette -French Fine dining, Angelos's Gelateria, and the Buffalo Steak House dated December 2012-May 2013-none of these areas exist.
In the mini-fridge you recieve two bottles of water and are expected to re-fill the bottle the whole week long--I mentioned to the General manager that this not acceptable for more than one day, as the sun and the re-filling of bottles generates more bacteria-he told me to wash it out? with what I didn't bring dish soap and you are not to use the tap water? so he was not very helpful.
So for the amount of $ to stay here you can stay at a better established resort elsewhere and feel that you actually get your money's worth.
The snorkelling is ok off the beach area, and the scuba diving is ok--but some of the reef is dying off.
We have travelled all over the world and this experience was worst vacation area we have attended-and to top it off we have been ill for 13 days after coming back home--the vacation that keeps on giving....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
36
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an All-Inclusive Sunwing Vacation to Roatan. We stayed at the Paradise Oceanic Hotel in West Bay, which, according to the Sunwing Brochure is a 4 Star Resort.

Having travelled to the Caribbean every year for the past 10 years or so to many different all-inclusive resorts, I thought I was aware of what a 4 star resort should include. Paradise Oceanic Hotel did have some of the criteria that would make it a 4 star like comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, and it was clean. However, it was lacking in other things that I feel should be included in a 4 star resort.

The room didn’t have a clock, hairdryer, facecloths, or suitcase stands. Had I known about the hairdryer and facecloth issue, I would have brought my own. The minibar had 2 bottles of water only. Normally pop and beer are included in the fridge and are replenished daily. If we wanted more water, we had to walk to the bar and refill our bottles as we could not get more.

Lunch was from 12 -2 and dinner was from 7 -9. If you have lunch at 12, it is a long time to wait until 7 p.m. They did bring a few snacks to the bar but they were gobbled up very quickly and not replenished. I am not a beer drinker but do like a glass of wine. However, wine is not served until 7 p.m. Not sure why. The food was OK, but did get boring by the end of the week. Many of the people in our group did end up with diarrhea, probably as the food was not warm and sat out for the 2 hours.

The staff were lovely and very accommodating, but seemed to live in fear of the manager who was not particularly friendly or willing to listen. Had we known it was in fact, a 2 ½ star or 3 at best, I would not have travelled to this spot.

Room Tip: No view unless on the fourth floor. End rooms have bigger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Go to Roatan but DO NOT GO to this resort. Although almost a week of rain did not help, this hotel is at best a joke. Cold, horrible food, rooms with no chairs or much else for that matter, a limited drink list. Everything is at a premium - need beach towels, they will be available in 2o minutes. Need a blanket, they don't have any. If you want a glass of wine, wait til 7 pm.
This is not an all inclusive. They make up the rules every day, depending on how hard they got yelled at by the manager. Staff are nice but shrug at everything.
There is a children's size fridge in the room that has 2 water bottles. You must refill these bottles yourself but God forbid, don't lose one.
Had to beg for extra toilet paper, Kleenex, drink glasses. Horrible spot.,

Room Tip: There is no view except 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have just come back from Roaton on Monday.
My Husband and I had a Great time at this resort.
We have travelled every year to the Carribean, to 4-6 Star Resorts.
I will rate this resort as a 4 star.
Rooms: The rooms are very basic , but very nice. The maid service was the best we have ever had. Yes, the Fridge has only water on arrival, but they will give you pop or beer at the bar for your fridge if you ask.
Bars: Great Service at all bars, very friendly. The Specialy Drinks are Great, Beer fantastic, and they actually give you the bottle, and not a plastice glass. The wine was the worst, you can purchase your own wine and they will keep it at the bar for you. The bars do close at 10:00 every night.
Food: We had no issues with the food. The buffett is small, but the food was good. I do think they could improve on the breakfast menue. We had a wonderful dinner on our last day on the Beach. Food was fantastic as was the entertainment.
There is alot to do in Roatan, it is a very safe island to go around on your own.
This resort does not cater to children, as there are no activites going on. I found that most people who visit Roatan are either snorklers of divers. The snorkiling is Wonderful. The best I have ever experienced.
Pools: They have(3) pools at this resort. (1) roof top which was really nice, great bar service from Hechter. (1) pool at the buffet restaurant which was very nice, and a small pool on the way to the beach.
I would also like to mention that the ground at this resort were absolutely beautiful.
For those who have written reviews that are negative, I feel must be very hard to please.
I would go back to this resort agian, and would tell others to go too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You might wonder why i have given this Hotel a "very good" rating after you read my story. We chose this spot because it had been built in 2011 and the alternative properties looked tired. It was very nice: tile, granite, tasteful decorations, flat screen T.V. The top level with a fresh water pool, bar and nice lounge chairs is a favourite gathering spot to view the sunset.

When we arrived there were no hangers, soap dish, drinking glasses, blow dryer or iron in the room. They were quickly provided. We were experiencing difficulty with the hot water (it was luke warm or cold). At first we thought it was just a matter of extreme use at peak times, but then called in the maintenance crew. They came twice and claimed that they had fixed it. On the third visit, we found out what was wrong. There is a thermostat under the bathroom sink. When the thermostat was set properly for hot water, the circuit breaker would flip and cut off the heat. The maintenance man merely turned the thermostat down to prevent it from flipping the breaker. This resulted in luke warm then cold water. Thanks buddy. He eventually admitted that the whole unit had to be replaced but could not be done before we were to leave. We had 4 days of nothing but cold water.

This hotel is an add-on to the Paradise Resort and Hotel. Essentially, you utilize all the restaurants and facilities of the lesser property. The food was, at times inedible. I never thought i would lose weight on the trip. Still, the weather was perfect, the beach beautiful and the ocean pristine. Plus our diving with West Bay Divers was great which is why we went to Roatan.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room, 308. Good location. Avoid 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Let's clarify something first: if you like large resort, with lots of animation and activities, big pools and endless buffet, this place is not for you. For the others, if you like an intimate place (32 rooms in the Oceanic hotel mixed with 45 room at the Paradise Beach), with charming staff, good food and drinks in a lush site, then you will be satisfied! The rooms are large, clean with large balcony and a comfortable bed. If you want a view though, you need to be on the last floor (4th) because of the building in front. The terrace on the roof is gorgeous, with a little pool, and a terrific view, especially for sunset. It's habitually quiet, and Hector, the bartender is so sweet. The only thing to complain about the hotel is the hot water on the 4th floor. I thing the all inclusive concept is new to Roatan and this hotel so the working hard on getting it better every day. The food: no, there is not a 100 choices but what you have is very good. You have seafood mostly everyday. They have a special seafood night with a huge paella in the lounge once a week (don't worry there is meat also if like me you don't like seafood) and a beach BBQ on Sunday that is very appreciated. One thing that is missing at breakfast is toasts! You have one a la carte lunch per week included: pizzeria, seafood and steakhouse restaurant (the pizza is awesome!). If you have the lobster at the seafood restaurant, it's an extra 5$. You have a list of drinks included and two glass of wine for dinner (they are generous though about the two glasses of wine. The wine is ok and they ran out of red one often so bring your own!). You have breakfast from 7 am to 9 am, lunch from 12h to 2h pm and dinner from 7h to 9h pm. They bring snacks at the beach bar at 11h am and 4 pm that are very good (house made French fries, pizza, tortillas, etc..). The staff is amazing there. Always smilling, work hard, very effective and charming.
The beach is nice with crystal turquoise water. When cruise ships are on the island you can feel the difference on the beach. This destination is truly a paradise for snorkelling and diving and accessible directly from the beach. The visibility, the variety of fish, the beauty of the coral is really something not to be missed. We got our first dive with Nick (that is from Quebec so we could speak French!!) from the West bay dive shop at the hotel and we really enjoy the experience. We did the island tour that is nice but if you are 4 people, just hire a taxi driver and you will be able to do the tour for less at your own pace. We also visited the Gumbalimba park that is nice especially the monkeys! And finally we went to Cayos Cochinos. To be honest, this is not worth it especially from Roatan because the ride is to long (2 hours to get there by boat - if you are on the continent (La Ceiba or Tela) is will take only 30 minutes). I have done a lot of catamaran ride but this one was the worst one. Huge waves of 10-12 feet at least, strong wind, wet all the time. Everyone was feeling bad on the boat and it was dangerous just to move. The sea is always rough out there so unless to be sure to have a calm sea (that probably happens a few days during the year only), don't go.
At the hotel, is very quiet but if you want to party a little bit, you can go on Friday and Saturday at West end (approx.10 minutes by taxi).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent two weeks in this hotel and I have no complaints. Big comfortable bed, mini fridge, hot water, tv and quiet A/C. Only thing is that if your after a more in the nature kind of room this isn't for you. But if your like me and only need a place to crash for the night I recommend this hotel. Staff is very nice manager is always there and willing to help. There's a bar and a pool on the roof, nice hiding spot to get some rays when the beaches get a bit crowded.
The food is average at best, but the A la carte restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#12 of 13 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Oceanic Hotel

Address: West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in West Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Oceanic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Oceanic Hotel: Sandy white beaches; relaxing on sun-loungers under cooling parasols, served by Cayuco Beach Bar & Restaurant. Inviting, cobalt Caribbean; gentle sea breezes, tropical gardens. Plunge pool; sipping chilled Champagne at The View, Roatan’s only rooftop bar, overlooking the glorious West Bay Beach. Refreshing Mojitos; seafood platters, fine dining. Snorkelling and scuba-diving right from the beach. Doing nothing at all: Your Freedom to Choose at the Hidden Jewel of the Caribbean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Paradise Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Oceanic Hotel Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Oceanic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.