We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Notch Dive Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Divers

Mayan Divers
West Bay Beach, West Bay 34101, Honduras
+504 9730-6019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 attractions in West Bay
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Resort on the premises of Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort. High standard operation committed to personal service, safety and fun. Small groups diving, snorkel tours, day trips. Nice boats never crowded. All programs and courses from Discover Scuba Diving to Divemaster internships and Instructor ratings! Rental cameras and photo services available. Dive packages and specials through out the year.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Top Notch Dive Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was in Roatan between Christmas and New year’s eve . This was my first trip there. I am very pleased to have chosen Mayan Divers and the Mayan princess hotel. The diving was superb. This is a great dive operation. The staff is excellent and all runs smoothly. The guides are a pleasure to dive with. I did 10 dives in five days including a wreck dive and a night dive. The coral is impressive and very diversified. We saw turtles on every dive. There were schools of fish everywhere. The dive sites are numerous and diversified. This is top notch diving in a relaxed environment. The staff is attentive and makes sure every detail of the trip is taken care of. They dive in small groups and you can tell that they are also enjoying the dives which makes for relaxing and fun trips on the boat. I am already thinking of going back to dive again with Julie, Sara, Jeannot, Anja who run a very high standards dive operation.

Jean-François Fortin
Ottawa, Canada

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic Dive Operation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our second trip to the Mayan Princess in Roatan and diving with the Mayan Divers. Anja runs a terrific operation. The staff are amazing, and I especially want to thank Jeannot and Sara for being so helpful, and being wonderful guides. The captain and crew are so helpful. Our 13 year old is a junior diver and they ensured her diving limits were accommodated. What impressed me the most is that when we came back this year, they remembered us from the previous year! - considering how many people they see over the year, It made us feel really good. Thanks to all and see you next year!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing way to start our diving hobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just got back from our first trip to Roatan. We went there specifically for the snorkeling and intended to 'check out' the diving. We had completed our PADI e-learning part before leaving and were ready to do the open water part if we felt comfortable with the operator. Anja's operation, and Jeannot's stories made us feel comfortable right away. We signed up and started that afternoon. Our instructor Sara, took us through the PADI open water course with confidence. Her straight-forward and direct instruction was easy to understand and effective. Her confidence and passion for the sport was contagious. Never was there a moment that we felt we were under-prepared or in danger with Sara. She has wonderful patience, even when we (reluctantly) had to take our masks off and clear them or drop our regulators at 40' feet down.

We are definitely hooked!! We went out again for dives #5 & 6 with Jeannot as our leader.

This is definitely a 5-star PADI operation. The equipment was in good shape, the air 'tasted' good our suits were in good shape (no signs of being ripped or worn out), boats weren't overloaded and there were enough tanks for a two-tank outing.

Don't mistake their laid-back approach at the shop for 'don't really care'. They are all passionate about their sport and equally passionate about ensuring a good safe enjoyable dive.

Sara, Anja, Jeannot and Julie: thank you for introducing us to this wonderful underwater world!

as Sara says... "Happy Bubbles"! :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The week went too fast! 6/30-7/7”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my first trip to Roatan and it will definitely not be my last. Mayan Divers was a top notch dive center. The staff made everything easy. The shop is set up so it is very convenient to rinse your gear, hang it and leave it at the shop. There is no lugging equipment to your room or stuffing it into a locker. It is just a short walk through the Mayan Princess hotel pool area from the shop to the beach where you wade out and load the boat. You can carry your gear or ask them to do it.
I dove on the small boat with Jeannot all week. There were 4-7 others on the boat depending on the day. The boat was easily accessible, you could have shade or sun. All the dive sites were close. I did not have one bad dive. The water is clear, the coral is abundant, lots of fish and turtles. There is not a lot of current so dives are easy and relaxed.
I am already planning my next trip to Roatan and will be diving with Mayan Divers again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We will always dive with Mayan Divers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our second trip to dive with Mayan Divers. Just like before, they are safe, helpful and fun. Another great diving trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Divers also viewed

 

Been to Mayan Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.