We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill

Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill
West Bay Beach | Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, West Bay, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Pleasant Grove, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We just returned from another dive trip to Roatan and stayed at Bananarama. We have stayed here many times and get the all inclusive package with food. I just wanted to give a shout out to the awesome waiters at the Thirsty Turtle. After so many stays we have become friends with these great people. Adolfo, Alberto, Freddy, Wilson, Alex and Carolina take great care of us and can read our minds by the end of the trip. We love you guys.

Our condolences again for the loss of our friend Zebby. He will be greatly missed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Raeannhurst,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and are very happy to have had you here with us during your stay. We deeply miss Zebby and remember him as an amazing friend, co-worker and father.

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    222
    73
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorne997.embarqmail.com
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Our waitress named Carolina is the best....We were in Roatan late March,we had been served by her 4years ago?We never forgot her friendlyness...The food is also very good...We can't wait to go back to see the best waitress on the island......this place also has great music....Right on the beach......Mr/Mrs Wood

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Sandee,

So glad you could enjoy our great music, food and of course Carolina our best waitress and perhaps on the whole island. She has been with us for 7 years now and we are very blessed to have her with us. She has a quick smile, laughs often and remembers all most all our guests names and favorite foods! Thank you so much for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Music and Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was your typical beach bar with live music. We were there on a Sunday night and there happened to be hermit crab races that benefit a local clinic. It was tons of fun. The service was actually quite good and I'm ashamed to admit I can't remember out waiters name. He was very quick on service and extremely friendly. The food was typical beach food, edible but nothing to write home about. The mint juleps were excellent. The atmosphere was great, even though they had a recent death of a co-worker/friend there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Edna,

We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us. We did recently loose one our friends, co-worker and family members here. Zebby was/is amazing and will be in our minds forever as his personality and friendship will never be forgotten. Thank you again for your feedback and recommendation. Sunday nights are always fun here and we thank you for joining us!
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed next door but ate most of our meals here. Loved the coconut shrimp, fish tacos, burgers, pizza and pulled pork. Didn't have a bad meal here! The food quality was very good and the Barena's were nice and cold. Service was good too! We also stopped in the icecream shop every night for a couple of scoops. The young lady who worked in there was very nice and served up a good cone! Great atmosphere at the Thirsty turtle. Live music, movies on the beach and more!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Csully214,

Those are some nice pics! Thank you for capturing some of the best parts of our restaurant including its location, food atmosphere:) We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
“Thirsty Turtle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Pizza is great, other food is average. Location and atmosphere is awesome! Dishon Caldevon was the nicest waiter there! Very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Ashley,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Our waiters are amazing and we are so blessed to have them. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Turtle Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.