We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Island Ambiance and Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celeste's Island Cuisine

Celeste's Island Cuisine
West Bay Lodge & Spa, West Bay 00000, Honduras
+504 3344-9153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Island Ambiance and Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food and staff at Celeste’s are wonderful. They will work with you and go the extra mile to make sure you have a wonderful time. The really smart thing to do is to visit them for dinner the night they have their lobster special – a great price for a couple of nice size lobster tails with all the fixings. And I might add you should try their special drinks – they are the only operation that I can find that can actually improve on a traditional Piña Colada type of drink. You must try their caramelized bananas over ice cream. In fact, I think that was the highpoint of my trip to Roatan.
One of the things that hooked me is that the couple that owns, manages and runs this place, Celeste and her husband, are B & B proprietors in the true spirit of the profession. They have an interesting story and truly want to make sure you have a wonderful experience. They also seem to have found a terrific chef and assembled personable and friendly wait staff.
We found ourselves visiting Celeste’s for lunch and dinner to give us an opportunity to explore their menu that includes local Honduran options as well.
If you are looking for Gluten Free (GF) options…they can do that too. They were more than willing to work with us to make substitutions and menu adjustments to work out some terrific GF meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    69
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

While staying at Infinity Bay, we decided to try a dinner at Celestes's as other guests had recommended it. We were pleasantly pleased to be taken through the restaurant out back to a table surrounded by fairy lights and lush gardens. It was very romantic and delightful. We had the lobster special which was very reasonable and the waiters, Danny and Nicky, were very attentive. We were surprised that this dinner experience was so nice, we had expected to be sitting in the small, primitive restaurant seen from the street. For $20 per person, you can't beat this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went for dinner last week. We sat on the outside patio which was lovely. Cocktails were excellent! Especially the mojitos! We all enjoyed dinner and the banana dessert was out of this world!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to come across this place while staynig at Infinity Bay. Lovely atmosphere and great prices. Would definitly go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tasty and strong rum punch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Celeste's was conveniently located close to our rental in West Bay Village and we ate three meals there during our stay. Our first experience was lunch. We met up with our new Trip Advisor forum friends, KnK and NomadicbyNature. We had the lobster and shrimp baladas (sp?). YUM I got a bit tipsy from the rum punch before I even realized it. That's a good drink right there. We went back later that week for breakfast. It is a cheap breakfast and not that good. We went back again for lobster one night and it was very good. I think the lobster was cooked perfectly. Enjoyed the delicious rum punch again. I even went back there one night to get another rum punch when we were cooking at home. The atmosphere is fun too with the beautiful parrots hanging around. I would go back again for lunch or dinner, but I'd choose another spot for breakfast.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celeste's Island Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Celeste's Island Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celeste's Island Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.