We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JavaVine Cafe & Wine Bar

JavaVine Cafe & Wine Bar
West Bay Beach Mall (KM 1 West Bay Road), West Bay, Honduras
504-2445-5048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Pizza, Bagels, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Serving some of the best coffee and the coldest beer on Roatan, Honduras. Pastries, sandwiches, pizza, and tapas in a relaxed, chill atmosphere with soothing tunes. Fully licensed, with a large selection of wine and spirits. Free WiFi for all customers. Only a 2 minute walk from beautiful West Bay Beach.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Really great place for a coffee and snack, most of the coffee I had on the island wasnt up to par so this was a nice change.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    59
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, welcome change from typical island fare.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We typically travel to Roatan in the off season so finding a place that's open and affordable in West Bay can be tough. A rare find and a nice change from the typical restaurant on the island, Java Vine has a comfortable, modern coffeehouse/wine bar atmosphere, away from the mosquitoes and flys. We had a pizza here (totally homemade so it takes a while, but delicious) and a bottle of wine. They have a fantastic wine selection (I believe the owner used to be a wine rep)! We unfortunately didn't get to have coffee or breakfast, but I'm sure it is great. Located in the West Bay mall, it's just a hop skip and jump from where we stayed at The West Bay Lodge. Owners were so friendly. We look forward to our next visit to the island and will definitely stop by!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tapas & Chai Tea Latte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A few days ago my husband and I visited this great little internet coffee/lounge, cafe and gathering place for locals, visitors and expats in Roatan, West Bay Mall. It is no wonder that it is so popular, the owners are expats themselves, having relocated from Edmonton, Alberta eighteen months ago. I chatted to Wyona and Quinn, who say it was the best thing they ever did. They love Roatan and have put all their dedication and effort into providing a top notch place for its residents to socialize, meet new friends and enjoy the home-made goodies and great coffee. Our tapas were delicious. I recommend this little shop - they are great hosts. Congrats guys!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy, great service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here twice during our 1 week stay at Roatan. The owners are very friendly, and its a nice lounge/cafe to just hang out and have some good local coffee. The banana bread here is home made and delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roatan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, great food, great coffee & wine, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a place you surely do not want to miss when in West Bay! The staff is wonderful, the atmosphere is divine, the menu assorted and just lovely. quaint and refreshing for west bay. be sure to check them out for coffee, wine, beer or delicious snacks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JavaVine Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to JavaVine Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JavaVine Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.