We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best on West Bay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar

Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar
West Bay Beach | Next to Bananarama Dive Resort, West Bay, Honduras
+504 9610-8734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Caribbean, Seafood, International, Dessert, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar is located at the heart of West Bay Beach just steps from the turquoise sea of the Caribbean, on Roatan Island in the Bay of Honduras. Nestled in amidst the sea grape trees and white sand, you will find an intimate and romantic dining refuge at the Vintage Pearl. The wine cellar at the Vintage Pearl boasts of the largest wine collection on Roatan Island featuring selections from around the world.The chefs have more than twenty years of cooking experience in the Caribbean and offer a menu that changes daily as they prepare such delicacies as filet mignon, veal, duck, fresh fish, shrimp and lobster, creating a true pleasure to your palate.
Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best on West Bay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Wish we would have skipped a few in our trip and only ate here. They were a little more pricey than some of the others however made up for it 100% in food quality and service.

They offer a smaller menu 6 entrees but they are wonderful! We had a fish special with a fruit salsa that was out of this world. All meals were multi course so you had a dining experience. My salad choice was awesome. The soup my son got was really tasty and dessert did not disappoint. Plus this is about the only place to get good wine. We even bought a bottle to take with us to the resort.

Do yourself a favor and eat here at least once on your trip. I would have had that fish dish EVERY night it was that good. You won't be sorry even if it is not on the beach you will appreciate the A/C and I liked the barefoot aspect. The staff was superb!

Great job!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
The AC is always a nice touch and very few restaurants on West Bay or Roatan offer AC due to its expense here on the island:) Some suggestions to keep the price down... come for lunch its not as romantic, but its more than 1/2 the price and the food is great... brunch is also amazing and it comes with unlimited mimosas for an incredible price! The majority of our meats are imported from the US with the exception of Lobster, shrimp and some local fish... our taxes are included in the prices and in a true comparison for soup/salad, entree, sides and desert you definitely get your moneys worth... if you are only coming for just the entree and sides it may seem more expensive. We are working on our al acarte menu for this next season which I do believe will help.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    88
    33
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Afton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Food Is very high quality, fresh ingredients, excellent service. You will pay for it but for a special night out its worth it. Also have a hard cider from South Africa that is really tasty and nice wine selection.

Shrimp Bisque
Snapper with mango chutney
Cherry cheesecake

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Travis,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future guests. Not everyone on a small caribbean island serves beer from South Africa and we are pleased you enjoyed our large selections of both beer and wine. Our staff does everything they can to make each guests experience special and I am happy to hear you enjoyed our service and atmosphere. We look forward to having you come visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The absolute best restaurant in West Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Best wine list - best fine dining experience. Service was excellent. Food was excellent - the lobster was huge and very generous. Steak was also excellent. But the most expensive dinner we ate during the entire trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are really happy to have met and it sounds like exceeded your expectations! Lobster is very hard to find right now and it is something that we have a limited supply of. Lobster season officially ended the 1st of March... we literally have about one ton of lobster right now and when it runs out we are done until it comes back into season:( We are happy you were able to enjoy it and hope what we have lasts through the off season. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spring break 2014 March 8-15th”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our 4th time dining at the vintage pearl. It's a little pricey compared to other places on the beach, but worth every penny of it. The food is great the staff is friendly and they also have good wine which is hard to find on the island!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Cooper,

Thank you for coming 4 times to our restaurant! We look forward to your 5th:) Our wine is imported and we do over a very large selection of both wine, liquor and beer! We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't wast your time or money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had dinner there one night and it was terrible. The soup and desert were good but the main course was sent back. We never send food back we could not even pretend to eat it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bananarama03, Owner at Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Alicia,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We deeply regret you did not enjoy your experience with us and are thankful you sent your food back. If at any time in the future you do visit and our food does not meet your expectations please let us know immediately. Our staff strives extremely hard to make sure each guests experience meets their expectations. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our soup and desserts and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar also viewed

 
West Bay, Roatan
 

Been to Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Pearl Restaurant and Wine Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.