We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The front porch was the best part of Barefoot Lower Level” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Bay Village
Save
You added West Bay Village to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, west Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The front porch was the best part of Barefoot Lower Level”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at Barefoot Dream lower level for two weeks (March 17-31). We booked this location as we had a large group of people staying in the village and we wanted to be close to them all. When we arrived a day late because of airline mishaps, we were dissapointed to find the playpen hadn't yet been delivered (requested at time of booking), and found the house really run-down. Brad was able to find me a playpen eventually, but it smelled horribly of cat urine and he non-chalantly advised me that there were no other playpens available for my 6month old son - not cool. Thankfully, we were able to get one from another couple that were staying in the vilage.
The bedding linens/pillows were worn & uncomfortable, none of the dishes/utensils matched, we only had 2 bowls, the ensuite bathroom had no plug for the drain, the main bath bathroom shower was worn & the shower curtain was ratty & didn't do much to protect water from escaping. The drain in the main bath sink was broken, so my husband put a brush in it so water would drain out.
They provided us with 4 beach towels, but maid service came twice while we were there so the towels got pretty gross (as well as our linens - that sand gets everywhere). We had to pay extra for A/C, laundry and we found if we didn't tip the gardner enough he didn't replenish our water.
The positives -
the deck was where we spent most of our time. The PVC chairs are all falling apart, but we made due & the hammock was very comfortable. The beach was beautiful and only a few steps away, it was nice to have a private area where we could hang out, and security was constantly around keeping the locals & others out of the village. Our maid Lordes was great, she was really sweet and worked around the baby which was awesome.
Our family wouldn't return to this location, we found the cost was high for the amenities & we would probably stay at one of the resorts nearby next time we head to Roatan.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
noosa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our family of four stayed for 2 weeks at Monkey La La, one of the smaller houses of the seven in West Bay village. There is no water view from the house but it is a very short (about 100m walk to the beach and water) where you have your own (named) sun lounges which you can set out for the day. Monkey La La was a very comfortable home - made even better by the speedy and incredibly helpful service from Brad and Ruth, of Island House Roatan, who manage this group of houses.
The first lovely surprise when arriving from the late La Ceiba ferry, was the welcome package of food, coffee, beer. We had done a very big grocery shop at La Ceiba before catching the ferry (and we recommend that - wider range and better prices than on the island), but it was still a really nice welcome and we loved the banana bread!

As we were there for two birthdays and Christmas we noticed a few pieces of kitchen equipment missing that we would need and within no time at all Ruth delivered new items to us. We also mentioned that there was only one towel rail in the bathroom, for four of us (no one had apparently mentioned that before) and the handyman was over within hours of saying that with a new rail that he installed.

The location of the West Bay Village is the best on Roatan in our opinion. It is best to bring your own snorkels (hire is expensive if you plan on doing it regularly) and you can snorkel directly off the beach in front. The large Infinity Resort is immediately to the left of the houses, but we did not really notice it. The only issue we had was the ongoing construction of the apartments next door to Monkey La La. I would expect this might be completed now - but they were working pretty non stop during our stay (mid to late Dec 2011). Brad and Ruth allowed us to run the airconditioner and close the windows at no extra cost, to compensate. But there is no airconditioner in the living room, and with the windows closed it was very dark in there. We just chose to not let it bother us - as the place was otherwise fantastic and we really loved it.

We walked to West End and back one day and were quite surprised that the cafes, shops there were very expensive and of course the beach is no where near as nice. It just reaffirmed our decison to stay here.

None of us wanted to leave - and that includes our two teenage boys. We snorkelled for hours every day. Just fantastic and so easy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I have visited Roatan 4 or 5 times before and always stayed at Infinity Bay. This was our first time to stay at St Macs Upper Level. We love Roatan because our main activity is snorkeling and on West Bay we can snorkel from the beach whenever we want instead of having to book a trip with a boat snorkeling tour. Also, the snorkeling was so easy. No waves or current to fight. We had seen St Macs before because it is right next door to where we ususally stay. We stayed at St Macs because we had 6 people going and wanted something right on the beach. The deck was the most used area of the home for our family. We loved being able to see everyone walking the beach and know when the sun was about to set so we could run out to the beach with our cameras right at sunset. We loved early morning coffee/tea on deck looking out over the calm waters. The kitchen is fully equipped and the owner provided us with a few essentials to start out with. (coffee, butter, eggs, muffins). The air conditioning worked great but seemed like it always struggled to keep up in the afternoon when the sun was hottest. The water pressure was low in the second bathroom but didn't seem to bother anyone but me. A few days before we left I found an outdoor shower at the back of the house which was nice to rinse off the saltwater. The security guards were great at keeping watch over everything and keeping vendors from approaching. There is a vegetable/fish truck that comes weekly. There were lounge chairs we could pull out to the beach or to our back yard. It was a great location and the vacation and home fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed in the St. Mac's beach apartment from August 6th-13th with my boyfriend and couldn't have asked for a better place, he actually tried to figure out a way for us to not go back home for another week! House was very well maintained with a great kitchen that is fully equipped and excellent location on the beach. The grounds were raked and leaves were picked up every morning, security on site the entire time which was a nice feeling, even though I am sure it was not needed. Brad was extremely helpful and quick to respond to emails and my ever annoying questions before and during our stay!

Stayed at a resort my first trip to Roatan and wasn't too pleased with the traffic and noise.. St. Mac's was close enough to the busier part of the beach but far enough away to escape it which was perfect!

Snorkeling right off of the beach to the left of the dock is spectacular, definite must. Bite on the Beach and Foster's were are go to places for lunch or you can buy stuff for lunch to make since it sure is hard to leave that beach and house! Water taxi's into town are cheap and right outside, or you can walk up the road and catch a cab into town.

Also would recommend renting a car to explore the island one day, Brad set this up for us and it was delivered from the airport at a very good price. Camp Bay Beach Adventure Lodge which is at the other end of the Island was a great place to spend the day, have lunch, take a nap on the beach and a nice swim. Maybe 45 minutes from West Bay.

Bring bug spray if you are like me and get bit by anything that can possibly bite or sting you! But other than that sunscreen, camera, bathing suit and toothbrush are all you will need!!

.. tried to upload photos but site will not let me..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were lucky enough to rent the St. Mac's Beachfront Apartment the week after Easter 2011. We have stayed at a few places on Roatan over the years and St Mac's was definately the best for our style of travel. It has a lovely casual beachy feel and we wanted for nothing. The kitchen is well equipped and it was really wonderful to be able to prepare breakfast and enjoy it on our own little patio. The location can't be beat - close enough to the beach to be entertained by the comings and goings but private enough to not be bothered by any of it. Easy to walk the beach for dinner every night - great beach bar next door at Infinity Bay and the dock for water taxis to the West End right out front. Great access to Dive shop just along the beach. Mention must be made of the great staff - Ruth and Brad the property managers were very helpful - great transportation to and from the airport (additional fee) with a stop at a super market on our way to the house. Security made us feel very safe while being quite inobtrusive and the maid service was fantastic - everything kept so nice and clean - I love when a place smells clean! Our only complaint about St Mac's is that it isn't available for the week we wanted in 2012!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My family of five stayed in Casa Martin in West Bay Village. Wow. What an amazing location and fantastic accomodations. We had the beach to ourselves. The snorkeling off the beach was the best ever. Brad and Ruth are great and made sure we had eveything we needed to make this the best beach vacation ever. The location can not be beat. The individual properties are well kept and very clean. We will return to West Bay Village in the future.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Returned to Roatan for the 2nd year. West Bay Village, Barefoot Dream upper, probably the best place we have ever stayed. About 50 yards off the beach in serene privacy surrounded by palms, sea grapes, almond trees and flowers. Not being exact on the beach lends to the privacy and makes you feel as though you are walking in a well kept jungle when you go to the beach. Kitchen units was probably the single best stocked unit we have ever seen. Near by resturants include Infinity bar and grill and the Thirsty Turtle at Bananarama. For diving, Bananaram can not be beat, go see Sophia nad Martin.
Ruth and Brad will accomidate every need a guest may have and our only regret is we are not still there. Already planning to book for next year, can not wait to get back.
The Plunkett Family
Livingston, Texas

ps. We have traveled from Grenada to Costa Rica and every island in between, this is the island we come back to for a very good reason!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Village

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, west Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in West Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Bay Village is an oasis of privately owned homes directly on West Bay Beach on Roatan, Honduras. Each charming house was built in the traditional island style with wood constriction and spacious decks. All the houses are individually owned and therefore unique in their own charm and character. You will find each home fully furnished to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Whether you need one, two or three bedrooms, we have the perfect house or houses for your family and friends! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Bay Village Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.