We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Tree II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Tree II
Save
You added Coconut Tree II to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Affordable Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We started in the older Coconut Tree resort at half moon bay and moved up to the west end. It was a beautiful view and a fabulous beach. The room was clean and reasonably well maintained. Mr. Bush was a fabulous host and we loved our time in the resort. Plenty of nearby restaurants and an easy cheap water taxi to get you around quickly. Although not a 5 star result, the place was great for the price. Some notes to consider, bring your own blow dryer if you use one. Book the upstairs rooms, the balconies are worth it! Rooms have small cooking facilities and fridge - great for smaller meals. No elevators so plan to climb a flight of stairs. ENJOY!

Room Tip: If you can do stairs., take the upper balcony rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We probably just had a bad experience, as in one of our bungalows the AC didn't work and no hot water. All of that is fine if we were paying for a place with no AC and no hot water. I will say the customer service was excellent as they went to work on the AC right away. Too noisy for us though as its right on the main street, and the restaurant played very loud music all night... which is great, until you go to bed... the bungalows didn't shut the noise out very well. Overall it was OK... and we did enjoy the food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Loved this place but most of all i had the best customer service!!!! the rooms arent luxurious but who goes on vacations to stay in a room?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We just came back and had a fantastic in Roatan Island. Carreful tough as the main road is in the middle of the "resort" so it can be noisy at 6am. The main road, across the beach is full of shops which is really nice.
Also you better rent a car rather than take a taxi as it will cost you less to travel around (25$/per day (at the airport) - taxi:20$/per trip). West end does not have a great beach as there are boats all over the place. Best beach is at West Bay, which is a few minutes by car but an hour by foot. The population on the main land are so much nicer than on the Island, mainly because they use to see many tourists, expecially Americans. Great place to go......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O2rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The best of all are the people who work there....big hugs to Vincent, Melida and Mark...we sure had a great time!
The cabanas need some update...but it totally worths it...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Prior to my arrival I had great communication with this dive shop regarding arriving from the airport to West Bay. They gave great taxi advice. The dorm rooms were decent. The cleaning people did not come that often, but when we asked for a broom to sweep up dirt, the cleaning women came the next morning and cleaned the bathroom. The dorms lacked hot water. A worker said that was the only cabin that they could not "figure out". Dorms cost $5/night and you really cannot beat that especially when traveling alone. There were 6 beds to dorm too. The location of this place is FANTASTIC too! Its literally across the street from the beach. Just be careful on the beach because there are a lot of nasty sand flies. Overall, I would stay there again if was on the island and I would definitely dive with them again too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

No it's not a luxury resort. We stayed in the dorms which are some of the cheapest on the island. We were there to dive and hang out in the beach, not spend time in the room. The dorm was just fine.
You should be on Roatan to dive and if you are this is the place to be. We had so much fun hanging out with the gang and Jose our instructor could not have been better! He has the passion and the skill to teach you everything you need to know about diving.
Gay is a riot, so funny she helped us with everything we needed. Oh and you can't beat 25 limp ice cold beers. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remingtonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#2 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#14 of 14 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#8 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Tree II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Tree II

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in West Bay
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Coconut Tree Ii Hotel West Bay
Coconut Tree II Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing