We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter ski trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles to your Saves list
Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   ZAC de l'Obelisque, 5100 Montgenevre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easter ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Me and my family, a party of ten, visited this resort in the first week of April. The hotel was perfect for our trip, clean tidy and near to all of the amenities. The pool area was an extra bonus, with the snow on the lower slopes getting slightly mushy in the afternoon due to the time of the season, it doesn't get much better than having a relaxing swim after a hard days sking over looking a mountian scene!
Would happily stay in this hotel again and revisit this resort, it was great value for money and a great range of skiing which helped as we had a variety of levels on our trip, excellent skiing, even at the end of the season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
107
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The location of these apartments are a big plus point. You can ski in and out within 50m.
The buildings itself are very clean. We arrived at around midday but could not get our keys until 3pm. This was despite being told that our room was ready (we could have our keys, but only if we paid extra). We decided against it and instead went for a walk into town to get some lunch. There was a luggage room for storage.
When we went back the girl behind the desk could not speak English and gave us our key without being able to tell us how to get to our room. However, I am glad to say that apart from this I cannot fault the accommodation.
Like I said location is brilliant. It is up one far end of town, but Montgenevre is so small that you are never far from anything, and the ski in and out is a big bonus.
Our apartment was on the ground floor right next to a little supermarket. This was very handy and much cheaper than the Spa supermarket further into town. They also cook fresh pizza after 6pm and this cost around £6 for a plain cheese and tomato. It was delicious. The staff were very friendly in the supermarket too, and spoke reasonable English.
The pool was too cold for me but it did not seem to bother the kids. The hot tub is too small and could only get around 6 people in max. The steam room and sauna however, were very welcoming after a hard day of skiing.
We were extremely lucky when we were there. We had a massive amount of fresh snow which made for an amazing few days of skiing. Lot of runs were still closed but there was still enough open to keep us occupied for the week. The one downfall was the fact that the link over to Italy was closed. When the snow came we thought that it would open up. It did'nt. Eventually our rep told us that it was because the resort had closed, and this was normal. But no-one thought to tell us this before, despite the fact that we had paid for the whole area. Neilson did not provide the information and the rep was not bothered as this was her last week and openly admitted that she could no longer be bothered because she just wanted to go home.
All in all, I would recommend this accommodation and Montgenvre as a resort. Would I go with Neilson again? Probably, as we don't tend to have much to do with the rep. However, I did find it very annoying that Neilson charged us for the full lift pass when they would have known that not all the resort would have been open at that time of year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Montgenevre in 2010 and hesitated to go back thinking it couldn't possibly be as good again but it was!
The apartments at Le Hameau des Airelles are very pleasantly furnished, with comfy beds and have well equipped kitchens. This time we had a 3 bed apartment which was huge with a large balcony.
The outdoor pool is lovely and warm but does get quite crowded around 5pm. There is a small jacuzzi, steam room and sauna near the outdoor pool but these get quite busy. Whilst it is good that you no longer need to book to use these, the result was that some people brought their children in when it was supposed to be an area for adults only. It would be good if MMV could supply a member of staff to supervise the pool and mini spa area.
There is also a new spa in the Ancolie building which is worth a visit.
We used the ski set shop, cocci supermarket and bakery all of which were only a few minutes walk away.
There are a few minor drawbacks we found with the residence:
- I only called in at reception once during the week and the staff were slightly abrupt.
- MMV residences seem to give out information at a session on the first evening. However really it would be better to have the information in writing on arrival.
- The pillows are stuffed with a very cheap looking filling. A pity they don't match the quality of the rest of the fittings furnishings.
- the new ancolie building is like a labyrinth and whilst it is easy to find your way round by lift it seemed impossible to find ones way around via stairs/passages as there were no signs, telling you how to find the boot room etc.
Apart from that we loved the residence and it was good value.

We love the Montgenevre ski area. It has a great variety of runs and we have been lucky to have fresh snow falls on both our visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for a weeks Ski holiday March 12 . There were 7 of us, in a 3 bedroom duplex appartment. The size was very spacious and had everything we needed for a self catering holiday. The pool was a nice way to relax after a days Skiing! The location is good right at the end of the village, but local supermarket and patiserie within a 3 minuite walk for lovely fresh croisants and bread each morning. You can Ski to the accomadation, and set off from there each morning just by crossing the road! There is a bus service (free!) which runs every 20 minuites from outside the Apartments to the centre of the village which is handy when you need to get to the village ski school meeting point with a toddler!!! Overall i really enjoyed this Apartment complex, would be nice if it had had a bar/restraunt but to be honest only a 5-10 minuite walk to a good selection! ---- AS for the Resort, Its a lovely resort for Intermediate/beginners, with a few good Blacks for the more experienced- you can ski into Italy (Clavier-the first resort) then on to lots more if you have time (we had to get back to collect our little one from Ski School!)... Overall a great great Holiday!!!--- i quite fancy going in the summer to mountain bike!! ps you must try the Monty Express ( luge) its great fun! (be carefull of arrival time reception open weird times! 8am-12.30pm the 3pm- 6pm!)
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool! views of the mountians - perfect! and full on sunny hot balconys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroomed apartment which is advertised as suitable for 6 adults. Please keep in mind 6 adults would possibly be slightly on the small side, but more suitable for a family of 3/4.
The kitchen/ dining area is combined with the living room and very tradtional and rustic in style. We had a ground floor apartment over looking the front of mountains.
The apartments are kept in very good condition and are very clean, plus they have to be left clean (mainly the kitchen area) otherwise you will be charged a cleaning fee at the end of your stay. You also have to strip the beds when you leave.
There was a 400 euro security deposit charged to your credit card when you check in, I think this must be standard practice in France as I have had to do this on my last ski holiday in Flaine.
When we arrived there was an option to pay to have your apartment early, we ended up storing our luggage and walking into the village as it is only a short distance away, it was about a 2 hour wait for the apartment when the reception opened at 3pm.
You can order and pay the night before to have freshly baked baguettes and crossiants delivered and collected from the reception area which was handy in the mornings. However there is a bakery that opens at 07.30 each morning very close by and a lovely little supermarket which is very well stocked apart from fresh milk which sells out very quickly.
We ordered a cooked chicken for our evening meal one night as long as you order by 13.00 hours you can collect at 18.30. Be prepared to pay though, they charge 16 euros.
Cooked pizzas were around 8 euros and good value for money.
Skiing here is good for beginners and intermediates with lots of long runs and opportunities to ski in Italy.
It is handy to know that if you pre book your lift passes in the UK you are entitled to a complimentary half day pass to use on your arrival day. We were not made aware of this and missed out, so this is worth bearing in mind.
I found the location of the apartments excellent and I enjoyed the friendly village atmosphere, I think it is ideal for families and couples looking for something that is quiet and traditional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead , Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

During the first week of April we had a fantastic time at Le Hameau Des Airelles in Montgenevre. We had stayed here last year and were so impressed with the Residence and the ski area that we had to come back again. This time we were in the L'Arbousier block of apartments with our balcony facing the front slopes. The apartment was exactly the same set up as last year with good size kitchen/living area, bedroom with double bed and bunk room for our two boys. There was a seperate toilet and bathroom with overhead shower.
Next door was a great little supermarket which baked fresh pizza in the evening and almost next door to that was a small bakery where we got our fresh bread in the morning.
The ski area was in excellent condition up at the top of the mountain with L'Aigle , Le Rhodos, and Le Sources being our favourite runs. Closer to the village it started to turn mushy around half past two in the afternoon. Our two boys had private lessons with the ESF every day and they became very confident skiers by the end of the week, so much so that they and my wife and I had a race down the skiercross track . Needless to say our boys who are aged ten and seven were a lot more agile than us and they reached the finish line before us.
Along the village front there are plenty cafe's to watch the world go by and also the 'Montge bus 'service which was a free mini bus service for those needing a lift back to their apartment or hotel after a hards days skiing.
We had our lunch up in the mountain restaurant a few times during the week and I can not praise the quality of the food , both crepe/panini and ready prepared quiche' highly enough . You don't get that standard of food in our ski centres. .
Only problem we had was on returning home and going through Turin Airport. The middle aged woman on desk D2 ( TOM 2703) who threw our skis down the conveyor belt could do with some lessons in manners and it really did not come as a surprise that our skis ( and a great many other peoples ) did not arrive at Manchester airport the same time as the rest of our luggage . Thankfully they have now turned up .
Will we go back again even after the farce at Turin ? You bet , but maybe not next year as we have been here two years now. What I can say is that Montgenevre has many varied runs , is family friendly and the people in general are very good to get on with.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We recently went to Montegenevre (16th -24th March 2012) and stayed in one of the 3 Bedroom appartments in the complex.
It was by far the best accomodation we have stayed in over many years of skiing in France.
We had 3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Lounge/Kitchen and Balcony.
Very well equiped with everything you could ask for.
Ski to just outside the appartments across the road.
Good free bus service to the centre of the resort for ski school etc.
There is a wonderful little supermarket called "cocci market" just a few yards away with fabulous staff which love to show off their local produce.
The small baker also close by was great and had a wide selection of bread and pastries.
We took our 5 year old daughter for her first ever ski holiday and we all had a great time.
The ESF school was a great start to learn to ski for our daughter and we all got some good skiing in during the week.
We would recommend it to all as there is plenty of varied runs to try and skiing to Italy was great in the fresh snow we had during our week.
The appartment had no defects and everything was clean, tidy and we really did not want for anything.
Transfers from Turin Airport took about 90 Minutes and we paid the extra to have check in on arrival. About £40.00
everyone got on the slopes on the first afternoon after a spot of lunch so it really made a great start to the week.
The whole resort is very family friendly and full of like minded people.

We loved it and have looked to book for next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles

Address: ZAC de l'Obelisque, 5100 Montgenevre, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Montgenevre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Montgenevre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter : 110km of ski pistes - all levels - connection between France and Italy + 400km of ski pistes with the via Lattea connectionSUMMER : charming village and exceptioanl environment New SUMMER 13 !> 2 x 1/2 days for free at the mini club> Animation, activities, leisure for free and for the entire family. (only during summer)A new residence made out of wood and stones, with outdoor heated swimming pool. Spacious and comfortable appartments. Ô pure Spa area (150m2) dedicated to wellness and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Des Airelles Mmv Residence Hotel Montgenevre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Club mmv Le Hameau des Airelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.