We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it 6 stars if I could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estreito da Calheta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atrio
Save
You added Atrio to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lombo dos Moinhos Acima, Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-217, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I'd give it 6 stars if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We hit the jackpot with this hotel. We traveled to Madeira in July 2012 with our two young children. We wanted to be out of the hustle and bustle of Funchal and experience some R&R and some more relaxing experiences. Atrio has it all . . . top-notch service, a great restaurant, a pool, nearby hiking trails, and birds and distant church bells. We loved that the restaurant and bar were available virtually whenever we wanted. We loved that the kids could explore the property and surrounding land without any worries. We loved that the hotel was so willing and able to help with travel arrangements, hiking tips, cabs, everything. It was total and pure perfection. I felt like we experienced the real Madeira and we spent only half a day in Funchal. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I picked Atrio partly because we didn't want to be in Funchal and partly because the reviews on Trip Advisor were so good.

We weren't disappointed at all. The staff are all really friendly, the admoshpere is really relaxed and yet they run a tight ship - the perfect combination.

We were also big fans of the breakfasts - delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I booked the room at the Atrio after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. I knew it would be extraordinary but was not prepared for the absolute perfection that I experienced as I arrived at this exquisite place! Perfection down to every detail which I thoroughly appreciated. The candle light to the marvelous restaurant as well as the carefully designed rooms and the marvelous tubs with beautiful garden views. The Atrio is well managed and with a highly professional staff. The owners go beyond the call of duty. (A key and rental car with stick shift mishap is all I will admit to and the owner was so kind and helpful...) A review of perfection does not do this place justice, truly.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seewen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Madira is a lovely island typically with very good weather in July: warm and sunny. It is a great walking-activitiy-exploring holidays island. As well as having beach and boat fun possibilities

The Hotel Atrio is a very nice hotel, with friendly helpfull staff, set in an idilic garden setting of peaceful beauty. Highly recomended for people of all ages. It has a out door swimming pool and clean tidy bedrooms.

The food is excellent and it is hard to stop yourself eating in the hotel every night.

Overall the Hotel Atrio and Madeira is highly recomended.

Also see Charlie and Matt at Mad era bar for big game fishing in Calheta.
and Ribeira Brava Boat trips for whale and dolphin watching! Information available in the hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

This lovely, privately-owned small hotel, set in pleasant gardens with smart pool and shady courtyard area, has the ambiance of an old Madeiran manor house rather than a hotel.

The owners work very hard to please their guests and everything from the individual decoration of the eleven bedrooms, the beautifully maintained gardens, delicious home-cooked food and friendly, helpful staff, is spot-on.

The hotel is a little off the beaten track, around 30 minutes from Funchal. But for those visitors who like the simple things in life, good food, friendly hosts, homely surroundings, beautiful views, it's well worth the trip! We'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — Quiet, peaceful ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing. It suited me just fine.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estreito da Calheta
2.4 mi away
Saccharum Hotel Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hotel Calheta Beach
Hotel Calheta Beach
#4 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
6.8 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
#29 of 160 in Madeira
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrio

Address: Lombo dos Moinhos Acima, Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-217, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Estreito da Calheta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Estreito da Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrio 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrio is a small family run rural hotel located on the sunny south side of Madeira island. Wonderfully placed at the edge of a pine forest, nature lovers and walkers find the perfect alternative to the hustle and bustle of Funchal city. A sizable cultivated garden invites you to unwind and relax. Each of our 14 rooms are individually decorated and offer a terrace or balcony with a wonderful sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atrio Estreito Da Calheta
Atrio Madeira/Estreito Da Calheta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.