We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment - Ghost town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Stella del Mare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Stella del Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Stella del Mare
3.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Sardegna 15 | Località La Mazzanta, 57016 Vada, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Vada
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice apartment - Ghost town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived residence Stella Del Mare and where immediately impressed by the pool-area and the apartment. We had booked an apartment with 2 bedrooms.
First evening we went for a walk to see the area, and to get some dinner. We ended up eating at the "restaurant" at the hotel, because we could't find any other place to eat in Mazzanta.
The restaurant at the hotel is also more of a cafeteria than a good quality restaurant.
Next day we walked more and where able to find one OK looking restaurant close by the hotel, and a few not that good looking pizza places, 1 small supermarket and a supermarket/butcher. We found no other hotels, only holiday apartments.

Beach area is Good, but does also miss a good restaurant/eating place as an supplement to the cafeteria on site.

It seems that Mazzanta, where the hotel is located, is organized like a vacation town filled with holiday apartments where you need car to get to the good food stores and shopping facilities in the nearby towns Vada and Cecina, and where you are supposed to cook your own food in the apartment and not eat at restaurants.

If you comes by car, like to cook your own food or eat all meals at the same 2-3 poor looking restaurants/Pizzerias the whole holiday, don't need shopping possibilities nearby, and don't need to have an good working Internet available in the room/apartment Residence Stella Del Mare is a good resort with nice rooms and apartments, nice pool and good location close to the beach.
Be aware of the fact that the Internet works some times and sometimes not, and that the sound from the families in the apartments besides you is load and clear. If you have a noisy or quiet family close by can actually decide if your holiday will be good or poor.

If you don't like to live your holiday at the rom/apartment when your not at the beach/pool,
and don't like to have your children awake until 23.00 in the evening because of an extremely load "baby show" between 21.00 and 23.00, which also makes it impossible and not very interesting to use the big lovely balcony outside the apartment in the evenings :-(
And if you like to have several alternatives on restaurants, shops, food stores and other infrastructure nearby, included internet available when you want it to be available, don't choose Residence Stella Del Mare or any other place in Mazzanta.

Book a hotel in Cecina instead which is a lovely town with Beachfront hotels, restaurants and shopping, and a city center with even more possibilities for eating and shopping, less than 10 minutes driving south of Mazzanta. The beaches is also nicer in Cecina than in Mazzanta.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a wonderful Spring vacation here enjoying this beautiful part of Tuscany.
The apartment called Villette Tina was just perfect..clean,comfortable and just a few minutes walk to the beach. We love to bike and highly recommend this for cyclists. You can bike through the shaded pine forest from town to town and rest with a gelato or drink at one of the many restaurants and cafes along the big sandy beach.
And there are plenty of places to eat near Villette Tina. You can even takeout delicious pasta at very reasonable prices and eat on the terrace of the apartment.It couldn't have been any more convenient.
The apartments are under the administration of the Stella del Mare hotel and we can't say enough about their professionalism and courtesy.Just wonderful!
We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: We are just a couple but loved staying in a trilocale for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Residence Villette Tina, an apartment complex administered by the Stella del Mare staff. First of all, I would certainly recommend Villette Tina as a place for summer holiday. The apartment we stayed in was just ideal (new furnishing, very clean and tidy, all necessary kitchen equipment was in place). The apartment complex is very nice; we had a small garden in front of our apartment where our daughter could play during the day. The staff was great - we had a small problem which resolved immediately. The beach is approximately 3-4 min by walk - easy to handle even with small children.

Negatives: The apartment complex is closed to a small disco and lunapark with loud music in the evenings, but it was not annoying.

I WOULD LIKE TO THANK VILLETTE TINA AND STELLA DEL MARE STAFF FOR A VERY ENJOYBLE STAY.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We spent there with 15 cyclist friends, with wifes, coming from Chile, from May 1st until May 8 2012. It was my first time in Italy for doing cycling. The reception was perfect, the rooms are sharming and plenty of space and light, the management from Andrea was deeply friendly, the breakfasts, lunches, and dinners were really perfect. The waitress did a smiling and perfect job, everything was really beautiful. The building design and construction is absolutely representing the italian way, with toscana kind of colours. I would like to be there in Italy again. Fully recommendable to everyone that looks for a relaxed time near the mediterranean sea, and, last but not least, the price very convenient. Thank you Stella del Mare..!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed in a superior apartment, close to the central area of the complex. Fairly simple furnishing and decor, but not lacking anything important.

We generally cooked out own food, there are a couple of very handy and friendly stores (including a butcher) very close by that will provide plenty of supplies. There is also a great take-away pizzeria and pasta shop that provides pizza/pasta from 4Euro per dish.

The recently upgraded pool area is very nice with a separate kids pool, a giant waterfall and a interesting little 'cave' with all sorts of water features. The local beach is a few hundred metres walk away, very crowded but the water is warm, clear and still.

This is very much an Italian style holiday area, very little English spoken, all the better for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Very good location (5 min walk to seaside), quiet (far from the main road) except for evening kids' show, and shops, bars, restaurant, rosticceria within walking distance. Well accessible since the village lies only a few km s from the highway A12.
Several sightseeing opportunities closeby. Do not miss Volterra!
The staff is helpfull (reception staff is intl). Good service is offered for kids (speaking Italian) by the animation team (swimming, baby dance, sea side activities ...). My 4 year old child did not speak Italian and still he could enjoy some of it.
The restaurant is good, but make sure to make reservation in advance if you are not paid as full board. Take away is also possible.
The swimming pools and related services are also very good.
However the apartment we stayed in had some construction problems (the door of the balcony could not be opened wide enough to push out a pushchair ...). Otherwise it is well designed and furnished.
Re cleanliness the apartment was rather dirty. In theory you pay for end cleaning ... If you stay for long, invest in a mob!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This is a very nice - no frills apartment for families. There is very little English spoken here but we got through it ok. The major drawback is that they are in the process of remodeling and building a great new pool. I am sure it will be very nice when they get it all completed. It was a good location to be able to see Pisa, Cinque Terre, Cecina, wineries and Florence.

Oh and the beach was great and very colorful with the bright umbrellas and chairs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Stella del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Stella del Mare

Address: Sardegna 15 | Località La Mazzanta, 57016 Vada, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Vada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Vada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Residence Stella del Mare 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella del Mare is located between Vada and Cecina, in the centre of the Etruscan Coast (Tuscany). Rooms and apartments (from 2 to 6 people), reception, info point, restaurant/pizzeria, bar, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, children’s pool, miniclub and entertainment, lift, launderette, parking, beach service, lan Internet access in flats. An ideal starting point for unforgettable day-trips to the most interesting places in Tuscany: citites of art, medieval villages, spas, parks, wine-and-food tasting tours (including Sassicaia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Stella del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Stella del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.