We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okarito Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okarito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okarito Beach House
Save
You added Okarito Beach House to your Saves list
The Strand, Okarito, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Okarito B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just a wonderful place to spend a relaxing weekend. Very laid back atmosphere and beautiful facilities at Backpackers rates. Five minute walk to an array of Department of Conservation trails that take you to a lovely lagoon and wicked views of Mount Cook. The people who run the Hotel are obliging and we felt as though they were incredibly welcoming. I even forgot something there and the owner was kind enough to send it on!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed here from 22nd-25th March. We hadn't stayed at a Backpacking Hostel before and didn't know what to expect but we wanted to stay at Okarito and this came up on the Internet as about the only place to stay. What a revelation! It was quite brilliant. Right next to the beach and lagoon. Excellent cooking facilities. En-suite double room with patio doors leading to a small front patio. Very friendly family running the establishment and set in pleasant grounds. No shops so make sure you take any supplies with you that you will need or face a 1.5hr round trip to the nearest shop. It was great just to sit around with other guests and swap travel stories and information, watch the sun go down and drink a glass of wine/beer together in the evening. It's true there was no TV but we don't tend to go on holiday to watch TV so it wasn't a problem for us. There are some lovely walks from just outside the door and the boat trip on the lagoon (runs from the local cafe about 3 doors away) is highly recommended. We found the local people in Okarito particularly friendly and they would always stop for a chat, recommending things to do, etc. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

It was deserted when we arrived at about 5pm ( we had a booking). So went to the beach for a while and on our return the lady there had arrived and showed us our room.
The room was with 2 others in a building in the back of what was obviously a private residence which felt a little strange. The reception was their living room and there were kids toys and stuff all over the place including the gardens. Not a total eye sore but just a little odd.
The rooms themselves were nice and clean and had on suite bathrooms, all nice. The hostel kitchen was nice and clean and there was a wood burning stove and some couches. Comfy but no TV, or stereo( well ok and old cd/tape player with no cds and that did not have a aux jack for mp3 players) or any other information or posters etc that most hostels have.
Overall very nice but better to come and stay an extended time and plan to be self reliant for your activities and information. ( And dont come by yourself- no dorms and not many other guests to hang out with). Maybe it shouldn't be called a hostel more like shared kitchen batches.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We went on a trip with Active New Zealand and they took us to this little gem. It was really cute. Our group had the whole house to ourselves. We had such a great time. The food was great and the rooms were very comfortable. The town is adorable. We went kayaking and hiking. What a beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed in "The Hutel", a self-contained unit set off from the other units. The room had a couch, bed, kitchenette, table, small bathroom, and its own attached deck. The room itself was clean and comfortable, although there could have been more shelf space in the bathroom. Also, there were lots of windows to open for fresh breeze, although none of them had screens to keep the bugs out. There was a nice efficient space heater in case the room got cold. The common areas in the main lodge were nice--several couches around a fire place and a large restored Rimu table. The grounds of the property (and the town of Okarito itself with just 30+ people) were a bit ramshackle, but quite atmospheric. The Beach House is located within a few minutes walk of the local kayak place to go kayaking in the Okarito Lagoon as well as by the beach and turn-off for the Okarito Trig hike.

  • Liked — location, seclusion of
  • Disliked — nothing within town other than kayaking and hiking to do
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okarito Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okarito Beach House

Address: The Strand, Okarito, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Okarito
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Okarito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okarito Beach House is a real haven, away from the main tourist trail. It is situated within a stone’s throw of dramatic West Coast beaches, close to the glacier township of Franz Josef.We have two lodges available, each with three en suite double or twin rooms and one private self contained chalet. Linen and bathroom amenities are included and WIFI internet and laundry is available at an additional cost. There is no shop in the village so be sure to bring food so you can make use of our fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okarito Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.