We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Family Run Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am Markt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel am Markt to your Saves list
Hotel am Markt
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Markt 1, 17087 Altentreptow, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Altentreptow
Los Altos, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Family Run Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Five of us traveled to this part of former East Germany to explore our family roots. We chose Altentreptow as "genealogy exploration central" because of it's about midway location to the two areas we wanted to explore. We enjoyed the stay. Hotel Am Markt appears to be a family run inn. And I'm sure there is a story here relative to the owners and the GDR era. But our German is so collectively feeble, we failed to get that story. The rooms are clean and neat if not gorgeous. The staff/owners are extremely pleasant and helpful. Being sort of the "off" season, our host gave us the premium dinner table every night. My impression is that the owner is also the chef. He is a very good cook and we enjoyed the meals. He has a good enough command of English to assist in translating the German menu such that we were all pleased with our meal choices. The complimentary breakfasts served in a separate "breakfast" room were very good; superb breads and one of the best muesli's I've ever tasted. The town itself was interesting; a good introduction to Germany for some of my traveling companions. A little East German communist shabby and somewhat disheveled because some 40% of the population left for West Germany after the reunification, it was nevertheless fun and interesting to wander around and talk to some of the villagers and shop keepers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Google Translation
Thanks for the good review of our hotel.
Danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was in the centre of this otherwise uninspiring town. I have looked around first but this is the best you can get in Altentreptow.

The rooms are very nice, clean and quiet. Beware that there are smoker and non-smoker rooms so state your preference when booking or checking in.

The large TV had a good selection of channels.

On the ground floor is a restaurant/bar. Service is friendly.

Wifi internet did not work in my room but was OK in the bar. When they closed the bar and I was not finished with internet the Owner gave me the key to a spare room on my floor which was closer to the WiFi transmitter so I could finish there. What a service!

The breakfast buffet was OK and had a good selection of food.

Room Tip: Check for smoker or non-smoker rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Google Translation
Thanks for the good review of our hotel.
Danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Am Markt in Altentreptow for 6 nights. The rooms are large and modern with large bathrooms. The hotel is family owned and the owners seem to live on the premises. As a result, one could hardly ask for a better staff. They were extremely polite and helped with our so so German. The breakfasts were buffets with a nice selection to choose from. The room rates included breakfast and were very reasonable.

The hotel is small and was full most of the time we were there (they had a tour bus) and yet we experienced only one slight problem. On one day did they seemed to run low on hot water and one of us was forced to take a lukewarm shower.

The restaurant in the hotel is lovely and the food is wonderful. There is only one server per night and she took care of the bus load of people and us. She was quick, efficient and personable.

What more could one ask? I highly recommend the hotel and its restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelammarkt, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Google Translation
Thanks for the good review of our hotel.
Danke für die gute Bewertung unseres Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Markt

Address: Am Markt 1, 17087 Altentreptow, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Altentreptow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Altentreptow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel am Markt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper the palate of the benign civil Mecklenburg cuisine.In our stylish restaurant offers the specialties of the Mecklenburg Switzerland. Besides traditional dishes, we offer exquisite fish specialties from the many waters of the Mecklenburg Lake District and the nearby Baltic Sea coast.In our restaurant the guest is pampered with many culinary ideas. Local, vegetarian and fresh regional cuisine and fine drinks.Enjoy Mecklenburg hospitality!On request we are happy to fulfill desires that are not included in our map.From stylish menu to comfortable rustic meal you met our kitchen- Also for family gatherings -every culinary desire.We are happy to serve you in our restaurant and small snacks and delicious drinks. Enjoy the view of the historic market of Old Treptow.In addition to our restaurant, you have the opportunity to have in our ice cream parlor sit with a cool treats. We serve exclusively in-house ice creams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.