We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Boutique Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Embarcadero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Embarcadero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Embarcadero
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Zugazarte, 51, 48930 Getxo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Getxo
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Boutique Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I happen to be there for 3 nights with room overlooking the port. The hotel is located in a very nice part of town and about 20 minutes from Bilbao. Since I was there for business in the area, the location was perfect but if you plan to stroll more in Bilbao then I would consider another choice. The train connecting Bilbao-Getxo stops at 11:00pm, then you are forced to take a cab that will cost you 30-40 Euros.

The room was in the 3rd floor, well furnished and the mattress was excellent. The view of the port was a nice addition. Didn't have any problems with the AC. Bathroom has plenty of space. And not problems with noise either.

Hotel has free wi-fi, offers free coffee by the terrace. Breakfast was supposed to start at 07:30am and a couple of times I have to wait until they have everything ready. The assortment of food was very good and lots of fruit to choose from.

The staff was very professional and friendly. The bar area is nice, they offer some pintxos, but there are some other nicer restaurants in the area.

Overall, I have a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
34
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is in the beautiful area of Getxo Spain, right across from the water. If you want a relaxing, wonderful Basque experience that is eludes the unbearably hot Spanish summers of MAdrid or Southern Spain, this is your spot. Down the street from a number of beaches and near numerous vibrant and very chic towns, his hotel is a dream. The service is elegant without snobbiness, well exemplified by the entire staff, particularly by the consistent, amicable top-notch refinement of Taja and Juan Antonio. The food is excellent and there is an outstanding selection of wines. The terrace makes for a wonderful romantic evening. Very kid friendly and, judging from the number of local regulars in the bar and restaurant, there should be no question as to their longetivity in the area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Happening on this oasis , 20 minutes from Bilbao because it got 5 out of 5 from reviews on trip advisor. Expectations were high , but everything was brilliant .

The day starts with a really ample breakfast buffet with loads of local fruit and produce served by an array of people with smiles

the rooms are well appointed and wifi is free throughout the hotel

The reception area and bars have great views of the water

Getxo is a real oasis not yet overwhelmed by tourists , the locals are extremely friendly and always smiling

The 4 day stay was a really happy one,the hotel is a cross between a boutique hotel and a manor house with the best elements of both

Room Tip: All rooms are good but a seaside view is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel, probably lacks some details for the money required, really you pay the location and the spectacular views. Try to get a seaview room!!
Service is OK, cold but effective, room confortable with good bathroom, breakfast is ok, garage is worth (13€/day), a la carte restaurant is very good quality but expensive. Dinner is better (good quality, low price) at the bar.
Very good frontline seawalk, long and quiet, extensive on the left to Portugalete and its bridge and all along the river, and to the right to teh new Marinaand the beach. Perfect fro relax and tourism on foot.

Room Tip: ask for room #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

nice hotel in Getxo, north of Bilbao. We had 2 rooms - garden view and a Bay view. Both quite small. Garden view is actually a street view room - hotel is on the street with the relatively heavy traffic. So the garden view room is very noisy. IN the bay view room you do not hear the traffic which makes it far more comfortable.
ROOM
Noisy. Not just because of traffic (gerden view). Whatever happens on the corridor - you can hear it in your room. Same with respect to the neighbouring rooms. Almost no insulation. Rooms small but OK. Bay view room has a nice terrace and just wonderful view.
LOCATION
20 minutes by train to the downtown of Bilbao. Hotel located on the promenade which gives a possibility to have a long and very nice walk both directions. The restaurants are within 20 minutes walk. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant.
RECEPTION SERVICES
Perfect. Very professional services and offered by a very friendly staff.

Overall quite good experience. Upgrade your room to the Bay view as it really makes difference.

Room Tip: choose a bay view room - it cost more but this is really worth to pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hotel is located on the harbor north of central Bilbao in a resort community that was clearly developed in the late 19th early 20th century by wealthy folks who built grand villas along the embarcadero. The hotel is located in one of these villas, and while the renovation into a boutique hotel is a little too predicable of type, the building itself is wonderful. You can easily reach the center of Bilbao by 20 min. metro ride, and the sunsets here are worth the price of admission. If you are there for the Guggenheim and don’t have time to enjoy the more classic beach communities along the north shore, this is a fun place to stay in order to feel like you have done so. Our stay in April at the Hotel Embarcadero would have been perfect except for the lack of air-conditioning which, we were told, was undergoing an upgrade and not yet finished. The first warm spell hit the northern coast of Spain and while very pleasant outside, our room, No.11, (or was it 13?) on the corner over looking the patio and Embarcadero (pictured on the website with bay window) was blazing hot upon check in. I had requested this room because of its location and view and understood I was paying a premium for the water view. Well, all I paid for was torture! All the windows except one were sealed shut and this turned the room into a green house with no cross ventilation possible except leaving your room door open to the hall (which we did in desperation for most of the time we were in the room). The one door/window that opened to the outside, looked out over the dining patio, which meant constant noise from non-hotel guests drifting in off the Embarcadero to hang there in the pleasant weather frequently with loud children in tow. We begged to be moved but with no results. Finally, management provided a fan so that on our second night we could pull some cool air in – as, we explained to them, it was probably imprudent to leave our hallway door open as we slept. They seemed to get that! No discount or concession of any sort for the premium misery offered to us. Some apologies. Badly handled. I’d like to be able to make the perfect room recommendation, but those with terraces face the embarcadero and so there is little privacy and those on the street side have the traffic noise. This is probably all OK if you have air and can keep you window’s shut. If so, spring for a water view on the top floor.

Room Tip: Rooms with the harbor view, but high up for noise and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

We had stay there twice it is very nice but the price is too expensive for what they offer..same with the food far too overpriced

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Embarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embarcadero

Address: Avenida Zugazarte, 51, 48930 Getxo, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Getxo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Getxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Embarcadero 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Embarcadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Embarcadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.