We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel with great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire van Eyck

Save Saved
You added Hampshire van Eyck to your Saves list
Hampshire van Eyck
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampshire van Eyck
Markt 48, Maaseik 3680, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Maaseik
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel with great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed for 1 night during a business trip to the Netherlands. The town is very close to the Dutch border and the hotel is located in the central square. There are lots of bars and restaurants and I imagine it would be a nice place to come in summer and enjoy a drink in the square. The hotel itself is very comfortable with large, modern bedrooms and clean and well appointed bathrooms with good quality towels and bathrobes. The room itself has everything you need - mini bar, tea and coffee facilities and good high speed free wifi. Only comment was that in such modern rooms it was strange not to see a flat screen tv. I guess these things take time to be replaced and didn't spoil my enjoyment at all. I ate dinner in the Bistro and it was very good - well cooked and reasonably priced. The bar has a good wine and beer selection. Main point for me was the excellent customer service. I returned from dinner to hear a strange buzzing sound in the bedroom. I discovered that it was the fuse box and clearly a fuse needed to be changed. Staff came up when called immediately and as they were not able to fix it at that point, moved me and all my belongings quickly to another room. Second room as a nice and well appointed as the first. Breakfast was good too with usual continental as well as cooked options served in a buffet style. The only criticism I would have is that breakfast started serving at 7am and I had to leave at 7:15 so it was rushed. This seems to be common in this area as hotel in southern holland seem to serve from 7am too. In all a very good hotel and one that I would recommend.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the lower floor could be noisy due to the courtyard style area that seems to host func...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
13
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modern, comfortable hotel, well suited to business travellers.
Large beds, sizeable, clean modern bathrooms and nice modern bathrooms
Food very acceptable but, as I recollect, a little pricey
Bar serves good beers
Parking outside the reception in market square (except market day)
Helpful and professional staff

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice hotel with very big rooms. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. I also made a dinner reservation and had an excellent dinner. breakfast was also very good. Location is very good on the marketplace in center and easy to reach with public transportation. Only negative point for me was that I also found the beds were too soft. Wireless internet worked well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A very modern hotel, very big rooms, luxurious bathroom, very friendly staff. Make sure to ask for a quiet room as there can be parties in the central hall. Only negative comment: the beds were very soft and instead of a double bed we found to (large) single beds that were not attached to each other: so it became a 'mind the gap' night ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed several times at Hotel van Eyck and are satisfied with the price/quality! On arrival the lady at the receptiondesk was very friendly. Our room was a very good size and clean and cosy ( modern design). If you like you can make a reservation for dinner also, we had an excellent dinner twice. The location is nice at the central square. Breakfast was fine, good choice also. They could improve the bathroom toiletries, such as roll and shampoo.

Room Tip: There are different sizes, just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Large. good-quality room. Friendly staff. Good choice of bars/restaurants in the vicinity. Quiet at night. Parking 5 minutes walk away (underground car park charged us 8 Euros per day, to find it follow signs to P3). Good breakfast (-1 point for offering pre-cooked boiled/scrambled eggs-either cook to order or do not bother at all). Gripe-I have stayed in 12 hotels this year and Van Eyck is the 1st one without free internet (18 Euros per day). BBC 1 and 2 available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire van Eyck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire van Eyck

Address: Markt 48, Maaseik 3680, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Maaseik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Maaseik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hampshire van Eyck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Van Eyck Belgium/Maaseik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire van Eyck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.