We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl's Dining Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pearl's Dining Room
1586 Main St, Masset, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 626-3223
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Masset
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Kind of sad little restaurant. Needs a bit of modernization. Otherwise okay food. A bit of eclectic menu choices.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pretty good Chinese food... I wanted some seafood, but there aren't to many restaurants in Masset. I was also there on a Sunday after toursit season, so that may be why choices were limited...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“So glad we tried one more time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We ate at "the other" Chinese restaurant first. Barely had the courage to come here. First thing I noticed - the locals eat here and everything I saw looked good. We had a beef and vegie hot pot (yummy) and a vegie chow mein. Plentiful, hot, the vegies just cooked enough (big points from me), the meat in the hot pot was cut thinly and flavored with fresh ginger. We even shared a chocolate sundae to mark our successful meal.

IMO this restaurant could hold its own in a town less cut off than Masset.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I dont know how to put it politely”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I does me grief anytime to write negative reviews. I was in Masset in May 2012. I have been to this restaurant before and had ok food. When we came at dinner time, we were the only ones there. The food was totally off the mark. It was so bad we did not eat it. I hope this was just a aberration. There are so many better reviews from this restaurant......but I depend a lot on what my fellow travellers have to say, so I am just passing it along and you can make your own decision.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haida Gwaii, Queen Charlotte Islands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chinese & Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Chinese Restaurant in Masset.
Great variety of chinese and western meals. Largest dining room in Masset

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's Dining Room also viewed

Masset, Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Masset, Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
 
Masset, Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Masset, Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
 

Been to Pearl's Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl's Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.