We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent italian restaurant in ST-LAMBERT...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primi Piatti

Primi Piatti
47 rue green, Saint-Lambert, Quebec J4P 1S2, Canada
450-671-0080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent italian restaurant in ST-LAMBERT...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

For some reason, this restaurant is listed as being in Longueuil...but the reality is that it is on Green avenue, right in the heart of Saint-Lambert.
It offers excellent and elaborate, albeit somewhat pricey, italian meals and an interesting wine list which is also somewhat pricey. On the other hand, it also offers excellent pizzas at resonnable prices, so that you can enjoy a family dinner without breaking the bank. My wife and I have eaten several times over the years at Primi Piatti and we have never been dissapointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Italian food on the south shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Since I travel to Italy regularly, I rarely eat Italian food prepared in Canada because it often fails to deliver the quality I experienced.

What a delightful surprise to enjoy a meal out with a business colleague at Primi Piatti. The location is very well appointed. The atmosphere is quiet because sound is dampened by the decor. Service is both polite and efficient, without being pretentious or overbearing.

The food was wonderful - fresh pasta (the squash stuffed ravioli was almost as good as found in the north of Italy), the ragù was flavourful with a smooth blend of flavours making it ideal for cleanup with bread. The portions were generous, and we couldn't fit in a secondi (which makes sense given the name of the restaurant!).

The desserts were more Québecois than Italian, but that's a good thing considering that in Italy dessert is typically salad, fruit, and cheese :-)

The only unusual thing was the warm bread with butter. Don't get me wrong, it was great bread, it just wasn't what I expected since bread in Italy is typically used to "clean up the sauce" remaining on a plate rather than as an appetizer - so by the time one gets to "use" the bread, it wouldn't be warm.

Ultimately, the rating of the restaurant is based on this:
Will I go back? definitely
Will I recommend it to friends? without hesitation
Would I drive from the island of Montreal? yes

Other considerations (not germane to the rating)
Would I bring children? no
Would I bring a romantic date? absolutely

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My experience..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went last night with my husband. Loved the personalized service. We wanted to split our salad and pizzas and they actually did it for us. Brought the plates already with food splited. Nice touch! The wine is expensive. I had the Primmi Piatti pizza; very good. Hubby has the San Danielle, 20$ pizza, we found that they were not generous on toppings. Overall a nice experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“Uneven service should be smoothed out, but pretty good food overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was there in June, for a business dinner. Someone else paid, for a big group, so we had personalized service and I am sure it was $$.

I went there with my wife in July for the personal diner experience and was disappointed. Our waiter essentially abandoned us and took VERY GOOD CARE of a group on the outdoor patio. Never came back to check on us, how was the food, etc. We were served by THE BUSBOY. How do I know it was the busboy? The uniforms are different and he was cleaning up later. When the waiter came back, he had no idea what we had ordered (it was the table d'hote) and forgot the coffee, dessert, etc. He needed reminding.

The food itself was still good, although the seafood dish was uneven, so not as memorable as last time.

The trio of creme brulee was so-so. Bread at the beginning was cold and the butter was rock hard.

Overall, I would rate the personal dining experience as "OK", but they failed quite horribly for service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Primi Piatti Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I recently had dinner at Primi Piatti in St. Lambert and was presently surprised! I ordered the medallions of fois gras that were just delicious! My husband had a Cioppino of seafood that was also delicious. The wines are a little on the expensive side although the food makes up for it. I will definately return soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primi Piatti also viewed

 

Been to Primi Piatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primi Piatti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.