We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Accomodation lovely location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amroth Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amroth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amroth Castle
Amroth, Near Tenby, Amroth SA67 8NN, Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
£150 off room rate
leyland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shabby Accomodation lovely location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My 4.5 yar old loved staying in a castle and from a small childs eyes its was probably great. We stayed in the telpyn appartment and like the rest of the castle block it was in need of some attention and refurbishment or at least a lick of fresh paint to cover up damp spots. A good dusting to remove cobwebs wouldnt go amiss.
The biggest gripe is the ludicrously low water pressure that makes the shower quite redundant. When reported to the Manager the odd job/maintenance man was sent up and the apparent solution was to run the water in all the taps for 5 mins to "get the water up". Despite this solution we got wetter in the occasional rainshower. The maintenance man actually agreed that “it should be better than that”. I asked for my disatisfaction to be passed back to the manager but despite seeing him on numerous occassions I was never asked about it. In my opinion common courtesy let alone good customer care would have warranted an apology.
We asked for an iron and ironing board which came quickly but was spotted with midew and cobwebs.
We specifically asked if we were near the entertainment and were told no so were were supprised to see we were more or less above the bar, that said the acts that were on during our stay could not be heard from our room. The chiller units hum away through the night below the bedroom window. There is a dancing video game in the games room which was popular with the kids as they stomped on it until late in the night and this can be clearly heard in the bedroom. If youre a light sleeper you wont get much sleep.
Take your own pillows as the ones in the room appear to have provided a lot of service in their time. My little girl couldn’t sleep in her bunk bed because “the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable” and having spent all but one of our 5 nights stay in both of the bunks I have to agree with her.
There were solid wooden blinds hinged to the window frame which when I closed these the walls behind them were damp and mouldy. It was then that I noticed they had been previously been screwed in but unscrewed by previous occupants.
It’s a shame as a bit more attention to detail would remove the feeling that theplace is unloved and done on the cheap. The living kitchen/dinning area was nice and comfortable and if the rest of the building could match it we would consider going back.
There are a lot of static caravan owners that seem to go there regularly and I think the place is more geared up for looking after them,
I spoke to a couple of people staying in the cottages and they seem a better option.
Amroth and surrounding areas is lovely with nice beaches (Saundersfoot and Tenby I particular). If you have small children Folly Farm is a great day out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were a little dubious having read previous negative reviews. We shouldn't have worried!

First of all, the location is fantastic, and more than makes up for any problems you may have. We stayed in Mill Cottage, and could not have been happier - literally you walk up the drive, and you are at the sea. The beach is very clean, and the scenery fantastic.

The accommodation was extremely comfortable. I could be really picky and mention loads of little things, but that would detract from the overall feeling that this was an excellent holiday in a good location. (I will just mention however that the only thing we did complain about, the coffee machine not working, was not dealt with, and the promised replacement never appeared)If you are looking for perfect accommodation with everything in it's place then this is not for you. If however you are are looking a fantastic holiday, in a near perfect location, with nice, clean accommodation, then this is for you.

The final bonus - The New Inn pub at the end of the road - we ate and drank their nearly every day. Some of the best food and best real ale that you could wish for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

After my previous two holidays in Butlins with the family I couldn't of wished for a better holiday.

We had a Telpyn apartment in the castle. Amazing sea views and very modern without diminishing the quaintness and historical feel of the castle. It was just so relaxing. My kids have never been better behaved. The castle grounds were extremely safe for children and the swimming pool, play area, games room and activities were superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location was amazing, the beautiful beach was 10 yds from the front of the Castle though the tide came in very high, it was safe and patrolled by lifeguards.

The two pubs nearby, the Amroth Arms and especially the New Inn were excellent with good beer and good food, in the New Inn had the best Crab I have ever tasted.

I couldn't recommend this place higher. Well definitely be back, probably before the year is out but definitely next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The caravan was so much bigger than I expected. Very spacious. Site was lovely and had a nice little nature walk even though we didnt see any animals there was a lovely view at the top. Right on the beach front and close to shops. Best bit was the box of shortbread they gave. Cant wait to stay again!!!

Room Tip: Spacious caravan with 2 bed rooms. Large living area where 4 other people could easily sleep. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Holidayed at Amroth Castle for many years, way back when our three kids were young - they never wanted to go anywhere else.
Now we've just returned from our fifth consecutive year with our grandchildren, who love it as much as their mum and uncles did. We booked next year's two week stay before we left.
Site facilities are really good and there's a huge Blue Flag beach just across the road which provides very safe bathing. No animals or teenage groups allowed, it's an ideal place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We arrived in bad weather and i have to say on the trip down i was having second thoughts, but the site was fantastic, the staff friendly and the pool was open - a bonus to the family.
A beach right across the road which was dog free and amroth itself is very pretty and quaint.
The caravan was huge and beautifully manintained, we have only had experiences of commercial caravan parks and it even had freeview. The site is very peaceful and picturesque, the sound of the waves at night is just something else!
Staff are very knowledgable and very accomodating, shop has daily papers, but i would suggest a trip to the sainsburys in Tenby for food items, as the shop on the site and the one in Amroth has very little and they are expensive.
We are planning a return trip next year, hoping for the same caravan too.
Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We would highly reccomend Seaveiw Cottage at Amroth Castle!!

We were very worried at first when booking at Amroth Castle, there seemed to be lots of bad reviews on trip advisor!

I decided to give them a call and the lady on reception was lovely, she didnt try to deny any of the problems they had had in the past and explained about the big referbishment they had had in 2008 and was happy to answer all my questions.

We booked Seascape Cottage for a very good price. When we arrived we couldnt believe the location, it really was right next to the beach with lovely sea views, the rooms were clean and the cottage very spacious with a small well equiped kitchen, they hads lots of extras like a coffee machine, blender, etc. as well as the usual dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and a huge fridge freezer! The sitting room was upstairs with a lovely little balcony with a table and chairs, it was very large there was plenty of room for the 7 of us. The 3 bedrooms were clean and comfortable.

Amroth Castle Bar was very nice and friendly, the kids loved the games room even if it was a bit tatty and smelly! The outdoor pool was very basic but warm and clean, the slabs around it got very grubby though, but the kids never complained. They also have an fairly good play area lots of very well maintained green space to play/walk in and a nature walk with bbq areas provided and fab sea views!
You can sit ouside in the evening and the kids are very safe and have a huge area to play in.

There is woodland walk behind the house and a huge field the kids could play ball in right on the doorstep.

Amroth has a nice beach but access is a bit tricky over the stones, wouldnt be easy with little tots and def no buggys. It has two other pubs which serve food both very friendly. There is a little shop and cafe and thats about it! Its only 15 mins from Tenby and 24 minutes from the Ferry Port in Rosslare.

The only big negative was the very poor mobile phone reception but they had an internet cafe so that helped.

There is loads and loads to do very near by even if you get a rainy day, the kids said they would rather come back here than go back to Spain!

Room Tip: ring up and haggle a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amroth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amroth Castle

Address: Amroth, Near Tenby, Amroth SA67 8NN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Amroth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Amroth
Also Known As:
Amroth Castle Hotel Amroth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amroth Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amroth Castle to your Saves list