We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Definitely worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Bar and Grill

Smugglers Bar and Grill
Amroth SA67 8ND, Wales
01834 812100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Amroth
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: International, British, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ahoy there me ship mates!! There be pirates and smugglers in Amroth. Nic,Ed,Tom,Jack and the crew have taken over "he old cartwheel " and giving it a new identity. SMUGGLERS is a new themed family restaurant and PIRATE ADVENTURE PLAY AREA. We all look forward to a new challenge and exciting times ahead. We endeavour to create a friendly atmosphere with good quality food, which offers a warm welcome all year round. :)We have fantastic facilities as well as catering for the children with a fab menu we have a indoor play area for them. We have easy access for pushchairs, and wheelchairs. We have a disabled toilet with facilities for changing young children additionally. Parking facilities both In front and behind our sea front restaurant. We cater for all walks of life.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had the pleasure of visiting this lovely restaurant earlier on this month. We called here on the offchance as we were told that next door (temple bar inn) cooked lovely food. However when we arrived there was men who had taken drugs hanging around outside and decided to go to the smugglers instead. This was probably the best decision we made our whole holiday! The staff are extremely friendly, polite and hardworking! Especially the young waiter with dark hair! (I know how hard it is being a waitress myself) The place is extremely good value for money and the meals are huge! Will definitely be visiting here again. - the owners should be extremely proud of themselves and I expect this lovely restaurant is a gold mine giving the good value meals keeping customers going back! Thank you for making our holiday wonderful :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    46
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely quality food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an evening meal here whilst in Amroth and it was lovely. The chicken burger was fantastic and huge. We also had the best onion rings ever - and I don't normally like them, not at all greasy. Great friendly service with good vegetarian options available. Not at all rushed and with lovely panoramic sea views. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what a wait!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent the afternoon on the beach on a busy afternoon in August. There were a few tables free outside at the Smugglers so we felt we'd stay and have some dinner before the 20 minute walk back to the car. We ordered drinks and were told there would be a 45 minute wait for food as it was busy. We all ordered pretty quickly and were happy to wait the 45 minutes. 45 minutes came and went. After an hour and 15 minutes my husband asked at the bar who said food would be out soon, The children were having a great time in the play area so despite being hungry they were having fun. The food came pretty soon after out enquiry. The food was ok. However my daughter ordered spaghetti Bolognese and this was disgusting, It was definitely out of a tin, The childrens food menu wasn't great. There were quite a few empty tables here and there and despite having a few largish bookings it just wasn't busy enough to be literally turning customers away (by telling them it would be an hour an a half for food - which it was but we were told 45 minutes)! Whilst I appreciate their honesty to most it amazes me how these places survive at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EddieAmroth, Owner at Smugglers Bar and Grill, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy the full experience @ smugglers. The day in question was no doubt a hot beach day. On these days many people will arrive at a similar time coming from the beach hence only few spare tables even outside. The restaurant would have already been fully booked inside, hence some empty tables that would have been reserved for 7.00 -7.30 ish so I am unable to put people to eat on these tables just for 30 to 40 mins. You were informed of your wait although we seem to have overrun slightly. As the restaurant was fully booked these tables do have a preference. Good to see that your children had fun, but although we did our best to accommodate you on this lovely summers evening that extra wait seems to have spoilt the whole evening. As for the spaghetti bolognaises we make it with very little seasoning and its not out of a tin. Sometimes this lack of seasoning makes it bland but that is what most of our children prefer.
Many Thanks
Eddie Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sea view eatery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having visited at least a half a dozen times and sampled most of the menu, its great to be able to recommend this bar and grill for its consistently good food and friendly and attentive staff. Nicky is a blast and never fails to bring a smile to your face! Great place to enjoy your food and the wonderful sea views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't judge a pirate by his appearance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Whilst on holiday in Amroth, we were looking for a good hearty meal on our last night. We had driven past this restaurant a few times and had dismissed it as it appeared small and sort of simple looking. There seemed to be a bit of over-the-top decorations to overemphasise the pirate theme. However, after reading excellent reviews on trip advisor we decided to come aboard!
We entered and was pleasantly surprised at the decor and also the menu. We were shown promptly to a table (6of us). The kids went and played in the kids area at the back of the restaurant which was a pirate ship themed play area - very impressive.
We looked at the more than adequate menu and I ordered a 8oz sirloin steak costing £12.95 and paid extra £1.50 ish for creamy peppercorn sauce (which was a little too spicy for my liking).
The staff were very efficient and all seemed to enjoy working there. The one waiter remembered all of our orders without any notes.
We did not have to wait long for our bounty of a meal. The steak was lovely, it came with some of the most delicious chips I had ever tasted, home made onion rings and peas. There was enough to feed a rather hungry guy who had a big appetite.
The children's spaghetti Bolognese left a little to be desired. It was dry and stodgy. In fact the kids couldn't eat it.
Despite the fact we were sitting directly under two speakers, the music was not overpowering, in fact I think my grandmother would have known all the words. They like the song about the little white bull which was in an arena. I think it referred to a matador bull fight.
I would definitely visit this restaurant again and can't wait for next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Bar and Grill also viewed

Amroth, Pembrokeshire
Amroth, Pembrokeshire
 
Amroth, Pembrokeshire
Amroth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Smugglers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.