We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Bar and Grill

Smugglers Bar and Grill
Amroth SA67 8ND, Wales
01834 812100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Amroth
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: International, British, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ahoy there me ship mates!! There be pirates and smugglers in Amroth. Nic,Ed,Tom,Jack and the crew have taken over "he old cartwheel " and giving it a new identity. SMUGGLERS is a new themed family restaurant and PIRATE ADVENTURE PLAY AREA. We all look forward to a new challenge and exciting times ahead. We endeavour to create a friendly atmosphere with good quality food, which offers a warm welcome all year round. :)We have fantastic facilities as well as catering for the children with a fab menu we have a indoor play area for them. We have easy access for pushchairs, and wheelchairs. We have a disabled toilet with facilities for changing young children additionally. Parking facilities both In front and behind our sea front restaurant. We cater for all walks of life.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As far as my three year old son is concerned, the Pirate play area is reason enough to come here by itself. My wife and I enjoyed the food: very generous portions and well cooked. It's standard pub fare, but done well.
Staff were very friendly and efficient, even offering table service for drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked for a very busy Father's Day lunch and they still managed to find us a table near the play area as requested. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The food was delicious, my Mediterranean lasagne was divine. Both my children (4 and 1) loved the play area. My son loved the pirate mask that came with his meal. A must-visit whenever we're in the area!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family fun and food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are fans of the sister restaurant the Pirate ( love the meat feast pizza), but have fallen in love all over again with the smugglers restaurant. A fantastic place for families, great food, hospitality, drinks and a wonderful safe environment for children. If only more restaurants were like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Large portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Satisfactory food for a beachfront restaurant, serving large portions. The ribs were quite good, but the mussels were in a sauce that was lacking flavour.. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place for something to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

good food, friendly staff, a play area for young children
took a while to get food , but it was nicely cooked & well presented

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Bar and Grill also viewed

Amroth, Pembrokeshire
 
Amroth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Smugglers Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.