We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bridge Inn, Ruswarp is 'on the up'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Inn

The Bridge Inn
High Street, Ruswarp, England
+44 1947 602780
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ruswarp
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lovely village pub with a warm welcome
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Bridge Inn, Ruswarp is 'on the up'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Bridge Inn, Ruswarp has managed to survive even if the decor hasn't changed over twenty years. At one time it was even empty on cattle market days. There have been lots of reasons over the years to avoid it, but under the new lessee it is worth a visit. His predecessor introduced a Sunday buffet, ending The Bridge's 'no food served' status.

We visited on a Friday night when it was full of weekenders and caravaners. A lady who described herself as a local stood back to allow me to be served by the overworked landlord. They had 'Old Peculiar' but not 'Timothy Taylors's. Something to do with the 'tie'.

The gent who ordered before me wanted a tab and to pay by credit card. The landlord was uncomfortable with this and I paid in cash for the drinks and in advance for the meal. (I remember being told in the Wheatsheaf, Hambleton, that I would have to pay cash if I ate outside but I could have credit if we ate in the bar. Seeing as I knew his mother, it was most unlikely that I would do a runner.)

The problem with demanding payment in advance and using MasterCard is when the kitchen announces that there is no steak pie left and the substitute curry is at a different price, which is exactly what happened at The Bridge.

I had a beautiful sirloin steak, presumably from Jacksons' the butcher up the hill where they queue down Ruswarp High Street on a Saturday morning. (Pies made by Henry Marshall's daughter.) It came medium rare as ordered and even if the onion rings were out of a packet, the steak surpassed anything from The Three Horseshoes or Starkey's'.

Give the Bridge a try and just one piece of advice. At busy times why not get the 'local' who stood back for visitors to help behind the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Meeting friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

nice country pub with a good choice of beers/ciders and fair menu. Food well cooked and plentiful from the menu. Bar b q a bit later in the evening and this didn't look the best, cheap burgers that were undercooked and grey, didn't taste one but glad I had eaten earlier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Ruswarp Hall and went into the pub awaiting 2pm check in for our bedrooms. A few local men , one with a dog, were at the bar, a couple of lady walkers having a bite to eat by a proper log fire on a damp , grey day. Quiet pub. We could see the steam train approaching Ruswarp stationfrom our window.
Decent varied menu for families. Food was good, crab sandwich really nice.
Outdoor seating at the back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the friendliest pub in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been visiting this little gem since January as we often stop in Ruswarp for weekends away,
The service is top notch and even when the place is busy the manager, manageress and staff always take the time to welcome you and always have a smile,
We have eaten there as a couple, sometimes with the dogs after a long walk, and sometimes with our 5 yr old, nothing has been too much trouble for the staff there,
The food is fresh and portion size is good value, we have never had cause for complaint on any aspect of the food or service.
They do a lightly lemony cheesecake which is delightful,
The Directors on handpull is very good and they also had a theaksones bitter ( lightfoot i think ) on,
They have 3 seperate rooms, one with an open log fire in winter so there is always room
Food is served all day from midday until 8 pm everyday except monday, i believe but i have entered their phone number beneath if anyone wants to ring and check.
I have recommended this pub to all my friends and it seems a shame that the new team have to fight the poor image of the place that the previous team gave it.. but they have done an exceptional job of turning the place around, even the new young waitress is so friendly and helpful.
This place is so good, we walked there from Hawsker via Whitby today with the dogs, for a beer, bite to eat and a natter.. If you are in the area, drop in, it is worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Only a drink but good nonetheless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Called in two nights. The first night we missed the food but decided to stay for few drinks while we waited for a taxi to Whitby that the landlady called for us. So impressed with the warm welcome we returned the following evening and spent the whole evening there. Again we missed their food which finishes at 8pm but the landlady rang the Stables restaurant for us which was full. So we stayed put and were supplied with a menu for a takeaway. Attention to detail in all aspects of service. Establishment under new management and what a great job they are doing. Might try third time lucky for a meal!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Aislaby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.