We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly local pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Inn

The Bridge Inn
High Street, Ruswarp, England
+44 1947 602780
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ruswarp
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lovely village pub with a warm welcome
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Ruswarp Hall and went into the pub awaiting 2pm check in for our bedrooms. A few local men , one with a dog, were at the bar, a couple of lady walkers having a bite to eat by a proper log fire on a damp , grey day. Quiet pub. We could see the steam train approaching Ruswarp stationfrom our window.
Decent varied menu for families. Food was good, crab sandwich really nice.
Outdoor seating at the back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the friendliest pub in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been visiting this little gem since January as we often stop in Ruswarp for weekends away,
The service is top notch and even when the place is busy the manager, manageress and staff always take the time to welcome you and always have a smile,
We have eaten there as a couple, sometimes with the dogs after a long walk, and sometimes with our 5 yr old, nothing has been too much trouble for the staff there,
The food is fresh and portion size is good value, we have never had cause for complaint on any aspect of the food or service.
They do a lightly lemony cheesecake which is delightful,
The Directors on handpull is very good and they also had a theaksones bitter ( lightfoot i think ) on,
They have 3 seperate rooms, one with an open log fire in winter so there is always room
Food is served all day from midday until 8 pm everyday except monday, i believe but i have entered their phone number beneath if anyone wants to ring and check.
I have recommended this pub to all my friends and it seems a shame that the new team have to fight the poor image of the place that the previous team gave it.. but they have done an exceptional job of turning the place around, even the new young waitress is so friendly and helpful.
This place is so good, we walked there from Hawsker via Whitby today with the dogs, for a beer, bite to eat and a natter.. If you are in the area, drop in, it is worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Only a drink but good nonetheless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Called in two nights. The first night we missed the food but decided to stay for few drinks while we waited for a taxi to Whitby that the landlady called for us. So impressed with the warm welcome we returned the following evening and spent the whole evening there. Again we missed their food which finishes at 8pm but the landlady rang the Stables restaurant for us which was full. So we stayed put and were supplied with a menu for a takeaway. Attention to detail in all aspects of service. Establishment under new management and what a great job they are doing. Might try third time lucky for a meal!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great friendly pub, good food, a credit to the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staff were really lovely even after we rocked up with muddy walking boots and two backpacks - intended to stay for a couple of drinks after our walk but ended up having a meal (simple home cooked menu) and 3-4 pints and took part in the quiz with the locals - really nice country pub and nice friendly people - would not hesitate to return and probably will in the summer - just down the road from ruswarp hall hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What A Turnaround”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Under New Management the Banner says and by Eckers what a massive improvement on the last lot, an absolute delight to be there good beer,good Laugh cracking night,so give it a go folks you wont be disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.