We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Hotel To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sedgefield, Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Only Hotel To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If your ever in this area this hotel is for you.Amazing staff,rooms and gardens.We are booking again in July and can not wait.Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.The rooms are spotless and have a iron,hair dryer, trouser press flat screen tv,safe and tea and coffee facilities.We left a mobile charger and i rang the hotel to see if it was found and next day free of charge the phone charger was sent back to us.The breakfast is amazing all local produce used ,i was that impressed by the meaty sausage and tasty black pudding i had on my breakfast i had to pay a visit to Bolams who supply The Hardwick.Only downfall is no smoke area or heater but its a dirty habit anyway

Room Tip: a deluxe room are the best and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review! I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay and look forward to seeing you again in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    151
    57
    33
    19
See reviews for
82
172
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eye
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Another very pleasant stay but this time with our seven year old granddaughter. We had such a good time and the staff as usual were brilliant ,especially with the young one. We were as usual delighted with the accommodation and our granddaughter was thrilled with the huge Victorian style bath. We were so comfortable we booked in for another night, which to the staff,was no trouble at all. It is our favourite place to stay in the North East.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice as they are all delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for posting such a great review. I am delighted that we maintained our " favourite hotel" status and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
( and please also thank your granddaughter for the lovely letter she sent to the staff; it is on the office wall for all to see! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The welcome and knowledge at reception was great. The room was beautifully comfortable and well presented. The double room was made up of two single beds pushed together - not something I find comfortable.

The food at breakfast was good (I stayed three nights), however all of the stainless steel, whether it be coffee pot or toaster did not appear to have been cleaned effectively.

In the grill the service was poor, very slow and the staff interacted minimally. I expect more from a restaurant linked to a 4* hotel.

Beautiful grounds and a grand building.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am sorry that the service was not up to our usual high standard on this occasion. We had a large residential conference in, plus a busy couple of nights during Valentines night(s).
I hope it has not deterred you from returning to the hotel and i look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the 8th Feb. we booked a table in the restaurant and a deluxe room, at £90 for b&b it wasn't unresonable, but when you see the fantastic rooms, wow.
Really lovely room, furnishings etc.but the bathroom? OMG his and hers washbasins , large walk in shower, loo and a huge double ended claw foot cast iron bath. well needless to say we spent the first hour in the bath.
The hotel is so well laid out, with the rooms at the opposite side of the hotel from the function rooms, which means a really peacful night.
Lovely bar, a little overpriced but to be expected. The restaurant in the cellars was cosy and rustic, the staff were attentive but not overpowering.The food was lovely, well presented and nice sized portions. Steve had chicken livers, I twice cooked souffle, for our mains Steve had rib eye cooked perfectly and I had the calves liver with cabbage, we didn't have any sides,the amount of food was just right for us.No sweets I'm afaid, with the complimentary bread and olives to start we were done. In all a wonderful night, thanks Steve x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We really appreciate you taking the time to post and delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having stayed here a few times now, I cannot recommend it highly enough! I've stayed in different rooms each time but all have been individually styled, very clean and well proportioned. Lovely large flat screen freeview tv's. the staff are always pleasant and helpful too. I've ate in both the bar and restaurant and really do not have a bad word to say about the place, free wi fi too which is an added bonus. Very picturesque location. Looking forward to my next stay already!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel just after Christmas. It was my 4th visit whilst in the area on business. Great location, fab bedrooms but this time the evening meal was a let down. On previous visits I had always had the jumbo prawns or the filet steak, both of which were expensive but excellent. For a change I went for the salmon starter and fillet of fish for main course (also expensive). Both were OK but the portions were so small it was embarrassing !! The side salad I had with the fish was maybe the smallest side salad ever dished up anywhere !!!!! Strangely the breakfast was excellent as always. I recommend the hotel and will be back but learnt my lesson food wise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your latest stay here at Hardwick Hall Hotel. I am delighted that you have become a regular guest and i am sorry that you found the dining experience a little disappointing on this occasion. Please ask for me personally during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location rooms as expected, Rib room dinner was fabulous, only complaint as last time - people stood at front door talking and smoking at 1am wakes you up if you are room 301, also smell of smoke filters in to room. Since the park has started charging for parking, walkers and dog owners appear to be parking in hotel which means patrons have to park at the rear and trail bags through hotel to reception, not ideal and needs to be addressed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

Address: Sedgefield, Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy to find and hard to leave! Just off the A1(M) yet nestling in the beautiful County Durham countryside and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park , a warm welcome always awaits visitors to Hardwick Hall Hotel. Exceptional standards in comfort and service are to be enjoyed at traditional North East value-for-money prices. With 51 individually decorated spacious luxury bedrooms, conference, wedding and banqueting suites, the provision of free WIFI, meetings rooms and the SUPERB Rib Room Steakhouse & Grill as well as other enticing dining options, Hardwick Hall Hotel is an excellent choice. So whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you might sense that parties and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. Home of the North East's premier corporate events: The Lobster Festival and The Oyster Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.