We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a good place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hardwick Park

Hardwick Park
Sedgefield TS21 2DN, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Sedgefield
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hardwick Park is a country park with a difference. Now a Visit England accredited attraction, it has survived since the 1750s when its then owner, John Burdon, created a sprawling ornamental park. Today, the remains of some of the original buildings he created can be seen throughout the park, which suggest the area has a richer story to tell. Hardwick Park is a great place to spend the day. Stroll through the park and admire the natural beauty of the lake, woodland and wildlife. The visitor centre also has excellent facilities including an interactive display, education room, cafe and toilets.Throughout the year there are a variety of events, activities, walks and workshops for all to enjoy.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“always a good place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

there is always something to do here from a gentle walk and feeding the ducks with little ones to longer walks if you use the park as a starting point

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Disabled access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lots of parking, facilities are restaurant which we didn't use but look nice, good standards in the toilets and staff were very friendly, outside there are many good paths which have lots of interesting things to see from them Sculptures and water birds. Interesting even from a wheelchair. Very open so can get a cold wind in autumn/winter so wrap up warm.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

You can spend all day here, they have a great outdoor play area and also fab indoor play areas for the kids. The displays are always lovely but today our food was cold - Yuk ! Known locally as Highly Priced ! so I have been told.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely clean park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing place to have a stroll with the dog (must be on a lead)
Lovely views and wildlife, a great place to take the camera

Never been in the coffee shop or visitors centre although appears to be very clean and more importantly OPEN everytime I've been! (an important factor that sadly many of the local parks with "facilities" fail to deliver on)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Walk in the rain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided the week after xmas we needed to stretch our legs, we vivited Hardwick Park, unfortunately when we arrived it was pouring down. However that did not stop us walking around the lake and it was lovely, kept very clean and tidy. We decided to visit the little coffee shop and were really pleased to see they were serving hot soup and sandwhiches. We both had soup which was sweet potato and butternut squash it was one of the best soups we had both had. We had sandwhich to go with it and again lovely, value for money was very good, will definitely be re-visiting very soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardwick Park also viewed

Hamsterley, County Durham
 

Been to Hardwick Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hardwick Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hardwick Park to your Saves list