We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing escape from tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schofields Bistro

Schofields Bistro
237 Main Street | Main & Market, Port Dover, Ontario N0A1N0, Canada
+1 519-583-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Port Dover
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Bistro, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since 2011, Schofields has offered Casual Gourmet with a Norfolk Flavour. A recently renovated historical space, art deco inspired with local art work, hardwood floors and a postcard view of downtown Port Dover bring a warm ambiance only matced by the warth of service.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Refreshing escape from tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I know it's low season for Port Dover, but it's rare that you will find a restaurant that will work hard to accommodate a "drop in" party of 12.
We run a large mountain bike club in Ontario , and two weeks in a row the restaurant re-arranged itself, moved tables, made a banquet set up and made us feel as if we had reserved weeks In advance.
The lunch was delicious and what was most amazing is that the kitchen timed the service, so that we were all served at exactly at the same time. Friendly and just darned nice people with a very professional manager.
My only comment is that the wine list was very disappointing when you consider the area has some amazing boutique choices, however perhaps the Friday the 13 crowd ain't into wine. I hope to come back in the fall and taste some higher end local wines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Good Dining Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had dinner at this Bistro a week ago and again tonight. Our review reflects our experience both evenings. First of all the food – Appetisers: Caesar salad was excellent – great flavour and just the right amount of dressing. Jumbo Black Tiger Shrimp Cocktail also was excellent. Entrees: Prime Rib which was the special of the night was a disappointment. It was chewy – more like a steak but at least it was tasty. Pan Seared Salmon was excellent as was the Sautéed Shrimp. The Seafood Pasta with Shrimp, Scallops and Mussels wasn’t the best but considered above average. The food was well presented and the service excellent. Our server tonight (Sitka) was warm, gracious, and attentive ensuring that we were well looked after without being intrusive. However, the person ‘supervising’ her made us uncomfortable and that was very unfortunate, unnecessary and certainly intrusive from our perspective. The location, appearance and atmosphere were very pleasant but we did encounter a problem when the entrance door opened and let all the freezing cold air in. So, if you go in cold weather, be prepared. We recommend this restaurant and rate it above average especially for a community of this size.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The atmosphere was quite nice and open in this 40 seat restaurant. The service was great. The stuffed chicken was quite good. The prime rib was ordered medium well, but served rare. After sending it back, it was returned properly cooked, but a little on the chewy side. I've had better (the Keg), although the flavor of the au jus sauce was very good (a bit salty, witch I like). The carrot cake was among the best I've had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Upscale but very reasonably priced, good selection and fine wines and ales Friendly people and daily specials

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun place and fantastc food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our time at Schofields Bistro in Port Dover last night. Nice clean atmosphere with great bistro feel. Food was excellant and prices are very reasonable. Good selection of fine wines as well. It's our "place to go" in Port Dover.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schofields Bistro also viewed

Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 

Been to Schofields Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schofields Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.