We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schofields Bistro

Schofields Bistro
237 Main Street | Main & Market, Port Dover, Ontario N0A1N0, Canada
+1 519-583-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Port Dover
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Bistro, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since 2011, Schofields has offered Casual Gourmet with a Norfolk Flavour. A recently renovated historical space, art deco inspired with local art work, hardwood floors and a postcard view of downtown Port Dover bring a warm ambiance only matced by the warth of service.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The atmosphere was quite nice and open in this 40 seat restaurant. The service was great. The stuffed chicken was quite good. The prime rib was ordered medium well, but served rare. After sending it back, it was returned properly cooked, but a little on the chewy side. I've had better (the Keg), although the flavor of the au jus sauce was very good (a bit salty, witch I like). The carrot cake was among the best I've had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Upscale but very reasonably priced, good selection and fine wines and ales Friendly people and daily specials

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun place and fantastc food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our time at Schofields Bistro in Port Dover last night. Nice clean atmosphere with great bistro feel. Food was excellant and prices are very reasonable. Good selection of fine wines as well. It's our "place to go" in Port Dover.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprise Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recnetly had tickets to an event at The Lighthouse Theater in Port Dover and wanted to have a bite before the show...went online and found that Schofields Bistro was just steps away...not many reviews on the bistro but checked out their menu on line, sounded good so took a chance. Called to make reservations (kind of last minute) but they were able to accomodate. It isn't a huge place but the ambience is warm and inviting - exposed brick, refinished floors etc. Lots of pleasant staff to greet and seat. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable of the menu. Caesar salads were very good - not overly dressed or filled with oversized croutons...wine list is a little bit limited but the one we tried was fine ( Penfolds). Lamb came as ordered (we swapped out the mint jelly sauce for the peppercorn reduction) - the mint jelly came out and we had to ask to have the change made but it was done very quickly - same with the alfredo sauce. We had asked for one order with no sauce and it came with sacue but they quickly changed that too. Dessert menu was ok - apple pie was ok. The place quickly filled up with theater goers but again, there was sufficient staff to manage. We will definately be going back and have recommended it to others.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great flavours, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A group of us had an informal lunch meeting at Schofields Bistro and really enjoyed the food and the service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schofields Bistro also viewed

Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 
Port Dover, Norfolk County
Port Dover, Norfolk County
 

Been to Schofields Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schofields Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.