We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay close to the ferry...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Shores B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitowaning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Shores B&B
29 Purple Martin Lane | PO Box 53, Manitowaning, Ontario P0P 1N0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Manitowaning B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay close to the ferry...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I took the late ferry from Tobermory over to South Mouth Bay. We arrived around 10pm. The 20 minute drive to Willow Shores Bed and Breakfast was well worth the stay. The room was well kept and a very good size. Our room had a king sized bed as well as a private bathroom and bar fridge. High-speed wireless Internet was also available. In the morning Gord and Charlene made an excellent breakfast and helped us to find some of the local attractions on Manitoulin Island. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Willow Shores while we were vacationing on Manitoulin Island. The home is very comfortable. We stayed in the Music Room. The king size bed was super comfortable, the bathtub is deep enough to soak in, and the landscaping and grounds are totally peaceful. You even have your own little kitten that comes to the balcony to say "hello". I'm glad we stayed in this nice large room, which also comes equipped with a fridge. Charleen was incredibly helpful, wrapping up my leftover breakfasts in a to go container, which we enjoyed for dinner later in our journey! How wonderful is that??? The breakfasts were delicious, especially the apple concoction with the oat meal. YUMMY! There are left over biscuits for the guests in the afternoon, as well as a variety of teas and coffees. We would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Olive, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Along with our best friends we enjoyed the gracious hospitality of Gord and Charlene for two nights. Their home is so very warm and the setting is wonderfully calming. Breakfast, especially the homemade marmelade, was awesome. Highly recommend when traveling to Manitoulin Island. Thanks Gord and Charlene!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

First I would like to thank Gord and Charlene for there warm friendly hospitality. This was our first B&B experience and didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly suprised with our rooms cleanliness, comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom that we extended our stay. Make sure to ask for Charlene's egg's benedict absolutely to die for!! We came on our Harley and were able to park it in their garage which was an added bonus. The location is central and is a good starting point to tour the island on a motorcycle. If the weather cooperated we would of stayed even longer. Kudos to Gord and Charlene for making our experience a happy one!! Cheers!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Liked every aspect of this B&B. Can't be beaten. The other reviews have covered it completely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Friendly hosts who went the extra mile and made your stay so special. The location was breathe taking, everywhere was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was to die for. I've never felt so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This really does feel like staying with someone, rather than just being given a room in somebody's home.

Charlene and Gord are lovely down to earth people who have decided to open up their home to others until they are ready to fully retire.

The décor may not be as chic as some, but is comfortable and clean with an enviable lakeside position. We had the large "Music Room" with its own decking area looking down towards the lake.

In the morning, you join your hosts and other guests around the table for “family” conversation and breakfast. If you're lucky, Charlene will send you on your way with some of her home baked muffins. She's up at 6:00am to make them!

If you want somewhere with a view, this is a good place to stay with genuinely nice people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willow Shores B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Shores B&B

Address: 29 Purple Martin Lane | PO Box 53, Manitowaning, Ontario P0P 1N0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Manitowaning
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manitowaning
Also Known As:
Willow Shores B&B Manitowaning, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Shores B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Willow Shores B&B to your Saves list