We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best place to stay on Manitoulin Island! Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Shores B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitowaning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Shores B&B
29 Purple Martin Lane | PO Box 53, Manitowaning, Ontario P0P 1N0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Manitowaning B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place to stay on Manitoulin Island! Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is by far the best B&B I've stayed in. This is really a gem! Your hosts, Charlene and Gord, make you immediately feel home and do their best to make your stay unforgettable. All guest rooms are so lovely decorated and very clean. The room was made up every day, and even the towels were changed daily. Regarding the rooms, my personal favourites are the Ships and the Music Room. Especially the Music Room is so spacious, quiet and bright, and offers a lot of privacy. The bed is huge and really comfortable, and the lake and garden view from the private balcony is awesome. We also enjoyed Charlene's delicious homecooked breakfast and very helpful advice on what to see and where to go on Manitoulin Island. She even had a little map for us where she highlighted all the interesting places, and also gave us an idea of how long it would take us. Charlene and Gord know a lot about the island's history and we had really interesting conversations. Sitting together with them at breakfast or in the evening was not like spending time with a host, but with friends!

We also liked the location of this B&B, as it is quite easy to find and a short drive to the ferry. There's plenty to do and see in the area, or you can use the B&Bs own kayaks, canoe or paddle boat. Gord will be happy to take you out on the lake! If you just want to enjoy the lake view from inside the house, watch the hummingbirds, or just relax and read a book, you can use the quiet sitting room and enjoy a cup of tea. Staying at the Willow Shores was a real treat for us, and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: all are quiet, but the Music Room is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We researched and contacted several BBs on Manitoulin Island and we were so glad we stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast in late August 2009. We would rate it as one of the best we have ever stayed in. The location overlooking a lake at the bottom of the garden, the warmth and friendliness of Gord and Charlene and the fabulous music room with view out to the lake made the stay unforgettable. Fond memories of an entertaining barbeque with the family down by the lake, using the provided telescope to look at the stars from the balcony and of course breakfast pancakes.
The village of Manitowaning is only a few minutes walk and is pleasant with a off the beaten track feel to it – which of course it is!
Manitoulin Island is really out in the wilds and requires a long drive to get there. We were staying in Huntsville which took 6 hours. Be prepared to travel miles on the island without seeing a soul. The one slight disappointment was often views were obscured by trees.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I recently spent most of a week in Manitowaning at the Willow Shores B an B. Not only was the food better than what can be found at the local restaurants, but hearing Gord and Charlene speak of the local history and culture over dinner or breakfast helped us to understand the area. I needed to urgently return back to the south, leaving the vehicle with the team I came up with. Charlene found a ride for me on very short notice, sent me off with a lunch, and even a hug when she could see my situation was getting to me. (don't tell Gord!) Special thanks to Bonnie and Brian for getting me on my way. I hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This was close to if not the finest of our vacation stays for comfort (had an incredible view from the Music room), convenience (close to attractions) and the food provided (the homemade muffins are delicious).

Our hosts Charlene & Gord make you feel right at home and we enjoyed the great conversations plus the help they provided while we toured the island during are 3 night stay.

We would highly recommend this B & B to all visitors coming to the island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

First off, let me start by saying, that I am not your typical B & B tourist! Generally, I prefer to stay in Hotels, however due to circumstances, ended up staying at this delightful property located on lovely Manitowaning Bay.
Well, let me tell you.... I cannot say enough good things about staying in this property.
First off, the hosts, Gord and Charlene were delightful folks, who maintain a very clean property, and on top of that, went the extra mile for us on several occassions without hesitation.
We were made to feel very welcome staying here, and they treated us like royalty.
Plus, Charlene was even kind enough to make Gluten Free Pancakes for my partner,
(we provided the mix) for breakfast. What hotel is going to do that?
Not to mention having a jar of Hawberry jam at the breakfast table, a deal closer for me.
On the property, great location, with a great view of the bay. They have a few rooms to choose from.
So, without any hesitation, I can recommend that should you travel to lovely Manitoulin Island, and I certainly hope you do, it's a delightful place to be, you can stay at this property with confidence, knowing that you will have a good night's rest.
PS the bonus of Free Long distance Calls in US and Canada, and wireless internet is a nice touch too!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Thank you Charlene and Gord for making us feel truly welcome and pampered. We enjoyed our four night stay early August tremendously. You have ensured the comfort of your guests with great attention to detail and amenities in the rooms and very comfortable beds. We stayed in both the Ships Room and Music Room due to availabilty. The different breakfasts every day were delicious and plentiful. The hosts really extended themselves to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, and provided assistance a number of times in ways not normally experienced in this type of setting. We hope to have the opportunity to return and highly recommend this B & B to all visitors to the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potters bar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This is the first review of this property but we enjoyed our stay so much felt that it was important to bring this property onto the Tripadvisor radar.
The bungalow is located in extensive grounds leading down to the lakeside. We had the Music room, with ensuite bathroom, and a small balcony looking down to the lake.The bedroom was large and well furnished and the double bed even had twin electric adjusters. The bedroom did not have a TV but there was a large TV in the lounge.
The hosts, Gord & Charlene, move out of the bungalow to sleep in a nearby trailer. However they are in the bungalow most of the time and guests are welcomed to be integrated into the family. We struggled to find a restaurant open on the Sunday evening and were invited to join the family for the evening bbq meal.
There is a good choice of breakfasts and scones/muffins are freshly baked each morning.
Free internet access and use of the telephone for Canadian and USA calls
Charlene also acted as the local unofficial tourist information officer and provided good ideas of what to see on Manitoulin Island.
On the lakeside there were also a pedalo and a variety of canoes that guests could use.
There is not much accomodation on Manitoulin Island but this property can be found through bbcanada.com/11162.html or by email to charandgord@hotmail.com
Would thoroughly recommend a stay at Willow Shores.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willow Shores B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Shores B&B

Address: 29 Purple Martin Lane | PO Box 53, Manitowaning, Ontario P0P 1N0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Manitowaning
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manitowaning
Also Known As:
Willow Shores B&B Manitowaning, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Shores B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Willow Shores B&B to your Saves list