We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poker run!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Current
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Save
You added Anchor Inn to your Saves list
1 Water Street, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Poker run!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in here today for a poker run on the motorcycles. We had approx 50 people, fast service and good atmosphere. We did not eat at all but the beer service was fast, lots of selection. Friendly service. I would go here again for sure

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We have motor-cyclists stay with us most night during the tourist season. It is always nice to see your group stop in and visit and we look forward to hosting you and your traveling companions again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The food is really good, especially the whitefish salad & burgers. The dessert was delicious and the staff extremly friendly. Unfortunately we were not satisfied with the room. It was not that the room was not clean or anything like that BUT the bar is just downstairs and EXTREMLY loud. On the website they say that some of the rooms are not good for "light sleepers" but believe me I am not a light sleeper and we are both young people who thought that the music wont disturb us but we both could not sleep until 2 am so if you want to avoid this make sure that you don't stay anywhere near the bar because " light sleeper" is DEFINATELY an understatement! Oh and WIFI does NOT work in the room( at least not on 2nd floor).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments are fair and balanced. We make an effort to tell all guests that on Friday and Saturday nights the bar is open until 200am and will disturb peoples sleep. Most of the year we simply don't rent the rooms on second floor above the bar. In the summer when we and everyone else is sold out, it is difficult to turn people away. Sorry about the internet. We have 2 routers and occasionally we have to re-boot the one that covers the second floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice home from home, went there last year and going back again this, paid for several nurses to stay there and they love it. Great Staff and hands-on management team. The only let down is no A/C but the do provide fans.

Good clean rooms and GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRreat resturant

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out In The Country
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Keeping in mind this is Manitoulan Island and not Manhattan Island, this small hotel is a very nice place to stay, in Little Current. True, there is no air conditioning but being close to the water, there are nice breezes and the in-room fan helps. I had no trouble sleeping.
The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It was like a small apartment with a full kitchen although none of the appliances were utilized. There is no elevator. To check in, you must go into the Bar so as long as you know this, it's no big deal.
There is a very good restaurant on site with a patio from which you can see the water.
Familiarize yourself with the hotel and call and ask questions as they are very helpful over the phone. By doing this, you will know what to expect and will not be surprised.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a historic property having been built in 1888. Kind of like being in a Philip Marlowe movie. Charming and mostly up to date. We had a 2 br "apartment" on the 3rd floor. The bathroom had been updated recently, and was very nice, as was the paint and flooring in the room. The furniture however was not goodwill quality! Near record heat made it tough with no A/C, but they did supply a fan plus the one we brought, so we did fine. Great bar, and we had a fine dinner on the deck overlooking the street. The location is great, right across from the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The only reason I gave them very good was because they didn't have air conditioning, but the rooms were clean, well taken care of and comfortable. I was a little concerned about noise on a weekend as they often have a dj or bands in, but we didn't hear anything out of the ordinary. The staff was absolutely amazing on both the hotel side and restaurant side. The servers were attentive, kind courteous and were all smiles, while the the management staff was top notch. Watching some of the "local" happenings and how they deal with problems (1 local bounced a cheque) was a good experience as they handled anything that came up with finesse and professionalism. I look forward to our return here this coming September and would like to thank the Anchor Inn for handling my group of 13 scuba divers with the greatest of ease. They even kept the kitchen open late for us in case we needed it, you can't beat service like that.

Matt Mandziuk/Dan's Dive Shop, Inc.
www.dansdiveshop.ca

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive choose 3rd floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello Matt and thank you for the kind review. It is always a pleasure to have you and your group in the Hotel. We tend to focus a lot on marine tourism during the tourist season, so it is nice to have a group of divers come up to explore the wrecks of the North Channel. We look forward to seeing you and your group in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

After reading some of the more unfavourable reviews, I feel compelled to add my 2 cents worth.
We stayed as a group in late June and experienced some great Manitoulin hospitality.
The rooms were clean and well appointed, the staff friendly and accommodating.
With a great location and ammenities like a bar and restaurant on the premises I can't think of a more congenial experience.
And lets not forget the more than reasonable room rates.
Some of the more recent comments in my opinion have been overly critical, comparing it to the baseline of a five star hotel.
It is a fine example of yesterdays charm in small town Ontario.
The complainers seemed to have missed the point and sadly the experience.
Thanks for making my trip an enjoyable one, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce and Kelly, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We think you summed up staying at our Hotel very well and it is appreciated. We agree, some people do arrive with undo expectations. We are an older( built in 1888) property that doesn't have air conditioning or an elevator, and never will. We feel that charging between $60 and $90 per night based on double occupancy in high season offers fair value. Trip Adviser is very useful planning tool that we use ourselves when we travel. Reviews are subjective and sometimes need to be taken in the proper context of the authors expectation. We think most people are reasonable and enjoy their stay, and that's the best we can hope for. Please say hello next time you are at the Hotel and again our sincere thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Address: 1 Water Street, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Little Current
Anchor Inn Little Current, Ontario - Manitoulin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.